We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wanted to love this place”

L'Auberge du Pont du Diable
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: If you happen to visit Franche-Comté, come and have a drink in the bistrot with the locals, a glass of Jura wine or a local beer!In the reastaurant, you will be able to try our « assiette locale » trout filet in a "savagnin" sauce, "croûte aux champignons" or from time to time, a pizza, cooked in the wood-fired oven. All is concocted using a maximum of local and/or organic produce.Check our website for opening times. In general, we are open, from Friday, Saturday and Sunday, for lunch and dinner, all year round. However, we open almost every day during the holidays.
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

It’s so beautifully laid out inside. We went at a cold time of year so I cannot comment on outside seating. Indoors it’s perfect. Casual and cosy. Our main course took 1hr30 to come out (after our entree of charcuterie) and it was a simple rare cooked bavette steak. We had almost finished our bottle of wine before the steaks cooked simply (but overdone and under rested) with a side of potato and salad arrived. All would have been fine if :
1. There had been a grain or 2 of salt on anything.
2. We weren’t the first to arrive and very very last served with food.
3. AND Finally there was dessert.
I hate to post negative reviews. All I hope is that Claire and Pierre take a tiny note. Respond to this and say it was an off night. But dessert was inedible. I was looking forward to a yummy classic home cooked treat. What was served was an anomaly.

1  Thank MataiDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Pierre B, Gérant at L'Auberge du Pont du Diable, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your comments. We always welcome feedback. We are glad you like the decor. That's the way the Auberge has always been: simple, authentic, with posters promoting local produce and landmarks, old furniture, found in charity shops, especially after the fire in 2009, as I explained to you.

You arrived at 6: 50 pm. Your order was placed at 7:10pm. You left, at 8:36pm precisely, according to our till and your receipt, so it is impossible that you main course arrived with you at 8:40pm. Your "planche charcuterie" arrived a few minutes after you ordered, and I must say, you did have, as all customers do, have an "amuse-bouche" before the planche, of a local rare-cheese, "sera", served with walnut oïl from our own production. This was probably served at 7.15 pm, just before the "planche", which was served perhaps at 7:25pm.Unfortunately, as Easter is one of the busiest weekends of the year, (I must add that I was working alone with Jean-Pierre, the chef, with around 15 customers!)I don't have the exact time that your main course was served, but considering that your starter was served at 7: 15/7:20 approx., when I had specified by email that we don't normally open until 7pm, as do all French restaurants, i'm not sure that a starter and main meal in 1 hour and 30 minutes in a rural, relaxed restaurant is particularly long.I'm sorry that you felt this way. I did at various moments throughout the meal ask if everything was ok, in English, a rare occurrence in local restaurants, and, I do hope that you were put at ease in our relaxed atmosphere. At no point did you point out any problems. The only problem you pointed out was the dessert which was too sweet. This was perhaps a question of taste, as I have served 36 slices of this homemade, hazelnut and chocolate tart this weekend. 35 people, apart from yourself,commented on the quality of the chocolate and hand-shelled local hazelnuts, and the original nature of the dessert..I would like to point out that I also had apple and raspberry crumble, with cream from the local dairy and cream and white chocolate pots with the first "Carpentras" strawberries on the dessert menu, as well as farm-made, local ice-creams and yoghurt.As for the steak, it is perhaps, cultural. I have had a few customers who have specifically asked for a steak, cooked in a particular way for English speaking cutomers. This is not a problem as we glady do this. even, if after serving the beef, it is not cooked to your satsifaction, we will redo the dish for you. As an English lady in France, I fully understand this problem. When you describe the beef as a "simple rare cooked bavette steak", I am very pleased. This is our aim at the auberge "local cuisine, simplicity, authenticity". A local, well seared, rare steak, a rare pehenomen in most local restaurants here.I think the problem here is perhaps a question of taste. Although I regret that you didn't point out any problems during the meal, for which we would have done our utmost to find a solution, I think perhaps, the Auberge simply wasn't quite as "sophisticated" as you had hoped. We work with local farmers and producers, as specified on our website and menu,whose products are cooked simply, without much seasoning, to really apreciate the taste. Salt and pepper are always available and was on your table.From that, to say that the dessert was an "anomaly" and to judge our restaurant as "poor", I think is a bit excessive. I wish you the best of luck in finding a restaurant to your taste in the local area. Otherwise, we are always happy to give recommendations for colleagues, who correrspond perhaps better to your taste in Arbois, Salins, Port Lesney etc...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017

Staying locally we came across this Auberge by chance and what a find.
The hosts were incredibly welcoming and the food was all locally sourced and exquisitely presented.
The use of walnut oil was a really pleasant surprise, and the limited menu works as the food is presented really well and is good value.
We would always return if back in this area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 September 2017

Thanks so much for your super comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Pierre B, Propriétaire at L'Auberge du Pont du Diable, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Auberge du Pont du Diable also viewed

Nans-sous-Sainte-Anne, Doubs
Salins-les-Bains, Jura
 
Nans-sous-Sainte-Anne, Doubs
Salins-les-Bains, Jura
 

Been to L'Auberge du Pont du Diable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing