We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mario C
Cecina, Italy
1715
LODGE? IS A BASIC HOTEL FAR FROM DANUM
Reviewed 18 Aug 2019via mobile
The complex is nice but with low maintenance, and the staff need some things to learn.
1) no briefing about the park, the forest and the animals.
2) no pictures of them at the wall...only two books
3) the guides are.not interconnected, to inform about animals location
4)the trek are.nice but the guide was tired and not really ecxting
5)the.room not cleaned everyday(she sad i mist ask for that🙄)
6) no passion to share from them about the forest or animal

Finally its expensive 700 euros for a couple 2 nights for a low cost experience....(kinabatangan river is much much better with 300)
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Trip.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
38.4 km from Kawag Nature Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double Room (Two singles)
Booking.com
    39.3 km from Kawag Nature Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    35.9 km from Kawag Nature Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    Rm 65
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • Trip.com
    • eDreams
    39.7 km from Kawag Nature Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Tabin Lodge
    eDreams
      39.8 km from Kawag Nature Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Restaurant
      Superior King
      Expedia.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      • Priceline
      • eDreams
      40.1 km from Kawag Nature Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      fresh !
      Priceline
      • Agoda.com
      • ZenHotels.com
      39.6 km from Kawag Nature Lodge
      Booking.com
        39.5 km from Kawag Nature Lodge
        Expedia.com
        Get rewarded with One Key
        • Hotels.com
        • Booking.com
        • Lol.travel
        107.8 km from Kawag Nature Lodge
        Restaurant
        Bar/Lounge
        Standard Twin room
        Trip.com
          39.5 km from Kawag Nature Lodge
          Free Wifi
          Free parking
          View more hotels in Lahad Datu
          Reviews (46)
          Filter reviews
          46 results
          Traveller rating
          29
          9
          2
          3
          3
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          LanguageAll languages
          More languages
          Traveller rating
          29
          9
          2
          3
          3
          See what travellers are saying:
          Selected filters
          Filter
          Updating list...
          10 - 15 of 46 reviews
          Reviewed 22 July 2019

          Unique wildlife spotting! Very intense program, guide super knowledgeable and committed to find and explain animals, great food, great vibes. If you love nature you will love it. Wish we could stay longer to understand animals even more!

          Date of stay: July 2019
          Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          1  Thank Alexandregd82
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          Reviewed 3 July 2019

          The lodge was great, the Food very good, the guide excellent, wie saw a lot of very interessting animals and had a much better understandig what it means to live in the Rainforest Thank you for everything and for this great experiance. All the best.

          Room tip: Every room is good
          Date of stay: June 2019
          Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          Review collected in partnership with this hotel
          2  Thank Wilfried K
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          Reviewed 11 June 2019

          I loved my tie in Kawag Danum Rainforest Lodge.
          It was the perfect balance between comfort and a real life on the ground rainforest experience. The staff were fabulous and my guide absolutely great.. Mr Snake expert!! Love your work!!
          Food was good, hospitality first class. Im coming back when the Elephants are due!!

          Room tip: prepare for a good nights sleep
          Date of stay: May 2019
          Trip type: Travelled solo
          Review collected in partnership with this hotel
          Thank 855pamg
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          Reviewed 13 May 2019

          We had the best 3 days staying here, trekking each day through jungle seeing a wide range of amazing species, including an enormous herd of elephants. Delicious food, helpful friendly staff, cool lodge.

          Room tip: Rooms quite basic but comfy
          Date of stay: February 2019
          Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          Review collected in partnership with this hotel
          Thank Foxlea
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          Reviewed 7 May 2019

          The food, staff and guides were all excellent. The transport to and from the resort was also good and the drivers very careful on the unsealed road to the resort. The dining area was nicely set out and the gardens and look-out tower a great asset. The rooms were a little tired and need a re-fit but the balconies overlooking the jungle were good. Overall definitely not a luxury resort but nonetheless comfortable. There were very few people staying at the resort when we were there - only one other couple most of the time. The guided walks and safaris were interesting.

          Date of stay: March 2019
          Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          Review collected in partnership with this hotel
          Thank RoyFarthing
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          View more reviews