We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
29
9
2
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
9
2
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for the 3D / 2N package. It was a great experience. The food was plentiful and good. Our guide for all the nature treks was fantastic, very personable and knowledgeable about all the life in the forest. We spotted a wild orangutan and gibbons in the forest with the help of our guide. Popular destination for serious bird watching. The rooms are simple but comfortable. It is very hot and humid so definitely recommend a room with air con. Free unlimited drinking water refills. Very limited wifi service so enjoy unplugging while having an authentic nature experience.

Date of stay: September 2019
1  Thank herbie_avl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borneo_Refugia, Marketing Officer at Kawag Nature Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2019

Hi Herbie

Thank you for choosing us.

We are glad to know that you had a great experience at Kawag Danum Rainforest Lodge. Thank you for taking a moment to recommend us to others. Your good ratings are greatly appreciated, and we hope you won’t hesitate to let us know if we can serve you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2019 via mobile

The complex is nice but with low maintenance, and the staff need some things to learn.
1) no briefing about the park, the forest and the animals.
2) no pictures of them at the wall...only two books
3) the guides are.not interconnected, to inform about animals location
4)the trek are.nice but the guide was tired and not really ecxting
5)the.room not cleaned everyday(she sad i mist ask for that)
6) no passion to share from them about the forest or animal

Finally its expensive 700 euros for a couple 2 nights for a low cost experience....(kinabatangan river is much much better with 300)

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2019

Unique wildlife spotting! Very intense program, guide super knowledgeable and committed to find and explain animals, great food, great vibes. If you love nature you will love it. Wish we could stay longer to understand animals even more!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alexandregd82
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 July 2019

The lodge was great, the Food very good, the guide excellent, wie saw a lot of very interessting animals and had a much better understandig what it means to live in the Rainforest Thank you for everything and for this great experiance. All the best.

Room tip: Every room is good
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Wilfried K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 June 2019

I loved my tie in Kawag Danum Rainforest Lodge.
It was the perfect balance between comfort and a real life on the ground rainforest experience. The staff were fabulous and my guide absolutely great.. Mr Snake expert!! Love your work!!
Food was good, hospitality first class. Im coming back when the Elephants are due!!

Room tip: prepare for a good nights sleep
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 855pamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews