We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
29
9
2
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
9
2
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews observe nature unique wildlife wild orangutan rooms are clean danum valley observation tower red leaf monkeys rom leeches animals forestry program jungle guide river drive accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2020 via mobile

The Kawag Danum Rainforest Lodge is the cheaper option versus the Borneo Rainforest Lodge, however you wouldn’t know it. The service by Alex and his staff is 5 star. I would highly recommend staying here and wish I’d stayed longer than 2 nights.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank JamesH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2020

The staff here did absolutely everything they could to ensure we had a great time - including giving us an individually prepared breakfast at the top of the observation tower. The food was good - better than we had had at other lodges - but rather large portions. Our guide, Rom, was incredibly knowledgeable and went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and informed. We could not fault the staff or the location in anything, the only negative was that the rooms are in need of renovation and perhaps this is something the new management, which has only been there a month, will be addressing in due course

Room tip: Deluxe means with air con and it’s good and worth it!
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2020

We had an all-too-brief two days here and should have spent several more. The lodge is lovely and the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Our safaris were really successful in finding lots of wildlife, both expected and completely new.

Date of stay: January 2020
1  Thank I6619FSandrewh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2019

We intended to be in the Danum Valley, however Kawag is actually on Kawag River, not exactly on the primary forests of Danum Valley as in Danum Valley Research Centre or Borneo Rainforest Lodge. However it is still nice and has many of the attractions. The hotel must put mosquito nets on the windows and balcony door.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank kacinkurrasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2019

I booked a tour with Borneo Refugia and stayed at Kawag for one night. I could not be happier. The experience of trekking in the jungle was amazing, and our guide Rob was so nice and knowledgable. We didn't see orangutans, unfortunately, but we saw other wildlife such as gibbons, red leaf monkeys, Wild pigs and wild cats, and leartn a lot about the rainforest. The accommodation was new and very comfortable. The staff were helpful and nice, and the food was yummy.
Overall, excellent experience, I totally recommend it!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Curiosity397248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews