We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Blanca R
Worse than a highway motel and a Boy Scout Camp together.
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Mar 2020
Our very own mistake was to accept staying here as an alternative to the Borneo Rainforest Lodge (which is actually amazing!!) as there was no availability there.

The facilities are poor, worn out, quirky and cheap. The rooms are comprised of cheap furniture, with a single bulb pending from the ceiling as all the light, a mouldy bathroom with less than unappealing brown towels one would never get into voluntarily (pictures attached). The decor is composed of paper tissues cardboard boxes, spare toilet rolls and plastic hangers in the open wardrobe (more pictures enclosed).

The restaurant terrace has several wooden sofas (more than uncomfortable) and some tables with plastic bottles a metallic water fountain as all decoration.

Seriously, it takes nothing to cheer up those rooms and con una space, plant a little bit more of vegetation between restaurant and rooms (we could see our beds from the restaurant and so could any other guest), dig a pool so people have something else to do than staying at their bedrooms with the air con on - if you get lucky and you get a room with air con, which you’re not guaranteed and believe me, you’re gonna need it.

We lasted the several hours our tour operator needed to change us to an amazing resort we finally stayed at.

The staff though were more than friendly, wanting to please us all the time and going above and beyond assisting us in getting in touch with our tour operator for the change.

Would never recommend unless you’re a Boy Scout.
Date of stay: March 2020
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
RM 160
  • Trip.com
    RM 128
  • Vio.com
    RM 119
  • Lol.travel
38.4 km from Kawag Nature Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 163
RM 155
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
35.9 km from Kawag Nature Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 138
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    RM 92
  • Trip.com
39.5 km from Kawag Nature Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Superior King
Tripadvisor
RM 86
RM 83
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
40.1 km from Kawag Nature Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double Room (Two singles)
Booking.com
    39.3 km from Kawag Nature Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    fresh !
    Priceline
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Agoda.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      RM 134
    39.6 km from Kawag Nature Lodge
    quite spacious
    Priceline
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Agoda.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      RM 124
    • Trip.com
    39.6 km from Kawag Nature Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Priceline
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Agoda.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      RM 167
    • Vio.com
    39.4 km from Kawag Nature Lodge
    Priceline
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Agoda.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      RM 129
    • Trip.com
    View more hotels in Lahad Datu
    Reviews (46)
    Filter reviews
    46 results
    Traveller rating
    29
    9
    2
    3
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    29
    9
    2
    3
    3
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 46 reviews
    Reviewed 11 March 2020 via mobile

    The Kawag Danum Rainforest Lodge is the cheaper option versus the Borneo Rainforest Lodge, however you wouldn’t know it. The service by Alex and his staff is 5 star. I would highly recommend staying here and wish I’d stayed longer than 2 nights.

    Date of stay: March 2020
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    1  Thank James H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 15 February 2020

    The staff here did absolutely everything they could to ensure we had a great time - including giving us an individually prepared breakfast at the top of the observation tower. The food was good - better than we had had at other lodges - but rather large portions. Our guide, Rom, was incredibly knowledgeable and went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and informed. We could not fault the staff or the location in anything, the only negative was that the rooms are in need of renovation and perhaps this is something the new management, which has only been there a month, will be addressing in due course

    Room tip: Deluxe means with air con and it’s good and worth it!
    Date of stay: February 2020
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Barbara L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 20 January 2020

    We had an all-too-brief two days here and should have spent several more. The lodge is lovely and the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Our safaris were really successful in finding lots of wildlife, both expected and completely new.

    Date of stay: January 2020
    2  Thank I6619FSandrewh
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 December 2019

    We intended to be in the Danum Valley, however Kawag is actually on Kawag River, not exactly on the primary forests of Danum Valley as in Danum Valley Research Centre or Borneo Rainforest Lodge. However it is still nice and has many of the attractions. The hotel must put mosquito nets on the windows and balcony door.

    Date of stay: November 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    3  Thank kacinkurrasi
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 6 November 2019

    I booked a tour with Borneo Refugia and stayed at Kawag for one night. I could not be happier. The experience of trekking in the jungle was amazing, and our guide Rob was so nice and knowledgable. We didn't see orangutans, unfortunately, but we saw other wildlife such as gibbons, red leaf monkeys, Wild pigs and wild cats, and leartn a lot about the rainforest. The accommodation was new and very comfortable. The staff were helpful and nice, and the food was yummy.
    Overall, excellent experience, I totally recommend it!

    Date of stay: November 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank Curiosity397248
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews