We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb in Every way!”
Review of The Slate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Slate
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nai Yang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2017

This place simply has it all. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left (2wks) we couldn't of asked for more. The hotel has to be seen to be believed with its large site backing on to the wonderful beach, to the rooms and fantastic facilities and most of all the staff who really go out of their way to ensure that everything is catered for during your stay. Some reviews I read prior to the on site restaurants and food being expensive? I say get a life your'e on holiday! The quality and service of the food was superb from around the pool to the on site restaurants at any time of the day. Breakfast is superb and I defy anyone not to find something to their liking.
The rooms are top class and cleaned superbly and a spruce up at the turn down service - you couldnt ask for more. On site facilities from the pools to the sports bar and restaurants are excellent. Lastly I have to mention the catering, cleaning, waiter/waitress staff to the concierge staff - you all were fantastic and a credit not only to the hotel but to yourselves and you all collectively made our stay a memorable one. We will be back!! Family of 3 from Northern Ireland.

Room Tip: You need to go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Williams122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulJordaan, General Manager at The Slate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Williams122

A grateful thank you for your lovely feedback – we are delighted to know that we met your expectations in every aspect. We are very proud of our food and beverage offerings through out the resort and certainly glad you enjoyed it.

Your comments have been shared amongst our team and is motivating us all to keep up the highest standards of service.

We hope we may have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Paul Jordaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 63 of 3,701 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

We were looking for a hotel in phuket for one week after travelling around for 2 weeks in thailand. So we decided to go for the hotel the Slate. At the arrivel we noticed that there was not a lot of activity going on in the lobby. However one of the employees took us to the room an they look stunning. Absolutly perfect. This would be a great stay at the hotel...
After a quick shower we visited the restaurant the Tin Mine. My son ordered a pizza and my daughter spagetti with meatballs. I took a risotto and my wife a salmon filet. The pizza and meatballs tasted like nothing. The risotto was okay and the salmon came without any sidedish. With this pricevalue??? It is not for me to worry about money, but this is outrageous! The employees hardly speak English and the food is terrible. What can you do wrong with pizza, meatballs and salmon? Nothing you think...
we decided not to eat here again.
Next day we went for the breakfast and i took an omelete. Again not good, the lady behind the counter did not understand that i wanted it well cooked before eating. No way she got this. I tried this 7 days every day and they really don't understand what you mean. Except the lovely miss Aun and miss Sue they are doing a good job. This miss Aun is much better then doing restaurant. She knows how to handle the guests. Next evening we visited the black ginger thai restaurant, same delivery as the tin mine. The restaurant at the pool is the only restaurant you can eat some regular dishes for lunch.
I have a recommendation for the manager of this hotel. Please visit your neighbours the marriot and see how they work, nice clean resort, well trained good speaking english employees and best restaurants and fair prices.
As we have experience for more then 20 years in hospitality hotel management we suspect this hotel is driven by investors and making money. However less is more. If you serve good quality food and beverages at reasonable prices the hotel could also make a good profit and the restaurants and bars would be full with guests and maybe visisted by outsiders. Nice looking place without soul.
Do your homework next time i stay in the marriot.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulJordaan, General Manager at The Slate, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, as The Slate is a family owned hotel, our guest feedback is very important to us to improve our product and services so all our guests who choose to stay with us leave with a memorable experience. It is a disappointment for us to know our tailor made bespoke service was not reflected during your time with us.
We are very thankful you visited most of our food and beverage offering and made time for the Black ginger experience although this time did not reach your expectation. We have taken your feedback to our chef and will see how we can improve for the future.
I will pass your kind words to Khun Aun, Khun Sue and the pool restaurant. Thank you very much for staying with us and hopefully we will have the opportunity in the future to impress you with our improvements.

Warmest Regards,
Paul Jordaan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

I recently went for my second stay at The Slate. The first was with a group of girl friends and this time was as a couple. Both stays here were absolutely brilliant which shows how versatile this resort is. I would say it is equally suitable for a group of friends as for a couple. Both times I stayed in the Pearl Bed Suite which was huge and had a spacious balcony with outdoor bath. The bed was also massive and super comfy. There is a nice beach outside the resort that you can take a stroll down or go for a swim.

The highlights for me were the 2 adult pools (one with swim-up bar) and Black Ginger restaurant (a must do). It is clever the way they cater well for both couples and families equally. The facilities are excellent with plenty of games, tennis, yoga and a good gym. The sports bar has table tennis, snooker and pool.

The staff were superb - friendly, helpful, professional and all spoke very good english. Overall a really good resort and in my opinion excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulJordaan, General Manager at The Slate, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Joanna M,

A grateful thank you for your lovely feedback – we are delighted to know that we met your expectations in every aspect-thrilled to learn our guests visits us again and again.
Your comments have been shared amongst our team and is motivating us all to keep up the highest standards of service.
We hope we may have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Paul Jordaan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

We've been always been staying at the Slate as a couple (previously known as Indigo Pearl) whenever we visit Phuket. This is the first time we came with a baby and our experience is still great (though we are confined to only pool 1; pools 2 and 3 are adults only pool). We stayed in the d'buk suite and the extra daybed is great for us to chill and have a drink while baby sleeps on the main bed in the other part of the room.

Special mention to sous chef Piak, she was so kind to remake dishes (most dishes are already prepared and marinated) on the menu so as to suit my gluten free dietary restrictions. She truly went the extra (extra!) mile to make my experience an awesome one. The wait staff at Tin mine, as well as Marge at reception, made us felt really welcome. Some of the wait staff can actually remember us, even when we didnt visit for the last two years as i was pregnant! It felt like coming home!

We love the gluten free counter at breakfast buffet, and fresh fruit juices. These are nice additions to the already scrumptious spread.

The shore thing at the beach front was actually very quiet. The place was no manned in the day time (we didnt visit at night). But that didnt quite bother us as the resort was big and beautiful enough to keep us entertained for our 5 days stay there.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Ehuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulJordaan, General Manager at The Slate, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Ehuan,

It is fantastic to read that our guests revisit us year after year and congratulations on the new member of the family.
Thank you very much for noticing our bespoke service and I will sure pass your comments to Chef Piak and Marge at the reception.
I hope you will visit us again when you are next in Phuket so we can welcome you back to your second home.

Until next year!

Warmest regards,
Paul Jordaan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

I had my honeymoon stay booked at the Slate for over a year after choosing it for it's unique design. We had the most amazing 4 nights as part of our multi centre honeymoon. The hotel was extremely quiet whilst we were there. We ate at Black Ginger and only a few tables were taken. at the Tin Mine for dinner another night only a few other tables being used. The food was amazing at both. We upgraded to a pool suite and was a wonderful room with outside bath alongside the pool, although too shady to sunbathe. the bathroom was very well appointed and there was a walk in closet.

With regards to the local area, there is nothing there. a few small restaurants on the beach which were all pretty empty so a better idea to only stay at the Slate if you're happy to enjoy the hotel rather than going out.

The only couple of small points for improvement to this already fantastic hotel- the cocktails were very expensive, around £9 GBP each outside of happy hour which felt a lot. Also, considering the hotel appeared so empty at this time and we had already paid to upgrade 2 levels up a honeymoon upgrade wouldve been wonderful. We did enjoy the bottle of wine, flowers and fruit though.

thanks to the Slate for a wonderful stay

Lynsey and Dave Mendonca

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynseyRou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulJordaan, General Manager at The Slate, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear LynseyRou,

Congratulations on your wedding.
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Slate Phuket for one of the most memorable trips of lifetime!
We are so happy that you had an amazing 4 nights with us and taken advantage of our great food offerings.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor and see you again next time!
Warmest Regards,
Paul Jordaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nai Yang
7.7 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
7.9 km away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
3.6 km away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
933 reviews
1.3 km away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
22.3 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 329 in Patong
6,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slate

Address: Nai Yang Beach & National Park | 116 Moo 1 Sakhu, Thalang, Phuket, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Indigo Pearl)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Sakhu > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nai Yang
#2 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range: RM647 - RM2,938 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slate 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in its own private paradise adjacent to unspoiled Nai Yang Beach and Phuket Airport. A Bill Bensley design masterpiece and a member of Design Hotels, The Slate manifests an avant-garde expression of Phuket heritage, its rich culture and traditions with bold design and fearless imagination. A place where family legacy meets raw design, industrial beauty interrupts with unexpected elements. The all-suite property offers 177 accommodation choices, 7 luxuriously designed Pool Villas, 8 restaurants and bars, 3 outdoor pools, beach club, art gallery, fitness studio, tennis courts, 'Tin Box' kids club, award-winning Coqoon Spa, conference facilities and Thai cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Slate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Pearl Nai Yang
Indigo Pearl Phuket
The Slate Phuket/Nai Yang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing