We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
LeMeridien.com
US$66
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$66
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/09/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$65
View deal
Expedia.comUS$66
Hotels.comUS$66
ZenHotels.comUS$78
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,043)
Filter reviews
4,043 results
Traveller rating
2,469
1,058
292
131
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,469
1,058
292
131
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach baby elephant driving range huge pool thai restaurant tennis courts hotel guests table tennis kids club f b pool view phi phi phuket pools baht archery squash
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,144 - 2,149 of 4,043 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The hotel lobby is a typical tropical beach-front open plan lobby but feels a bit run down upon entry and you certainly get plenty of time to review it as the check-in process takes quite some time. The rooms are all a fair walk away from the lobby and the lifts take forever.
The rooms however have been renovated recently and are a very welcome change from the surroundings you walk through to get to them.
Breakfast buffet is pretty standard fare but let down by their croissants/pastries ... would have expected better from Le Meridien! Lunch & Dinner buffets are also acceptable but never really great, and the desserts are better just avoided.
Service is fine, but not the sort of fawning attention one gets in Thailand luxury resorts.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flashpacker_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear "Flashpacker_Dubai"

Thank you for taking time to post your comments following your recent stay at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort. We regret to learn that your stay with us was not entirely satisfactory. Thank you for sharing your approval of the newly renovated rooms. It is indeed gratifying to receive such feedback after 70% of the total rooms have been renovated and refurbished. Allow me to mention that we are upgrading some more rooms and facilities at the resort in 2013. We do hope you'll reconsider and will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Phuket. We will certainly appreciate the opportunity to regain your confidence in us.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stayed here for the first time and everything was of a standard you would expect!! Check in was fine if a little slow then the long walk to your room!! This was amazing that you walk do far to the lifts then back track once you have reached the floor you are staying on. There must be some logic but it certainly escaped me. Breakfast was standard fare but acceptable and I took my friends to Portafino one night and that was very good!!
I warn you do not eat the pizza. I departed 6 days ago and I am still sick. I have the worst food poisoning you can imagine!!! So be warned!!!

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve803
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Dear "Steve803"

We are sorry to learn that you were unwell and that you believe the cause was the pizza you had at the resort. This information is new to us, particularly when we serve approximately 100 pizzas each day and have not received any similar complaints.

Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort adheres to strict international food-handling standards. In fact, the resort holds a current HACCP Certification(Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point) issued by an independent Australian food safety audit company that attests we have a comprehensive, documented food safety management system in place.

We do want to look into this matter further and if you choose to provide us with details of your stay through jehan.suanico@lemeridien.com then we can review which food items you consumed at the resort and elsewhere, as we would if such a report was made during your stay with us.

We hope you are now fully recovered.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed here for ten days in 2 interconnecting rooms as a family of five.

Having stayed in a lesser quality resort beforehand we really noticed the difference on arrival that we were at an impressive facility. Staff were friendly, presentation standards were high. We just felt we are at somewhere special. Did it deliver? In part yes, in part no.

The setting is spectacular with a great private beach (with waves) and the big pool is the best I have ever seen. Lots of surrounding greenery lets you know you are in the tropics and it is very quiet.

My son and I loved the sport area - mini golf, basketball, archery, driving range, table tennis.

The pool was so big that you felt you had a lot of space lying on the chairs around it. The beach chairs were a little cluttered but this in part reflected the condition of the sea with less beach to work with.

The grand old buildings are really nice and clearly require lots of attention maintenance wise as we all do as we get older. This is clearly a challenge for the resort and I dont think they are top of it. We had to move rooms because there was an odour in the room we were first placed in. By the end of the stay in the second room the same odour was emerging there as well. There is a ventilation/drainage issue in these renovated rooms. It also looks like the finishing of the bathrooms could have been a bit better.

That said, the shower was amazing!

The breakfast buffet was fine as were two dinner buffets we had. They have some light entertainment with a band and cabaret at the nightly buffets. I think they fall down badly with the quality of the food & entertainment and would rate this around 3 star which doesn't sit well within a five star setting. Even the room service was pretty bland with the children receiving a bunch of pretty bland chips and grey chicken nuggets.

We were hoping for a bit of french flair in a country renowned for its cuisine but just did not get it.

It is also ridiculously expensive. You can have a better meal in Patong for a family of five for the price of one buffet at the Meridien. Prices of everything in the resort are at least 3 to 5 times what you pay in Patong. These multiples were just unacceptable to us on principle alone.

There is a mini-market near the front gate where you can buy refreshments at a lower price but even that is still more expensive than "normal" price.

I suspect that the resort plays on the ignorance of guests a bit. The transport situation is almost comical in this regard. There is a shuttle offered by the hotel to Patong which costs 180 baht return per person or 900 for our whole family. You can get a hotel taxi for 600 baht return for the whole family or there is a taxi company (men in green shirts) who will take you in to Patong for 200 baht and you haggle for a tuk tuk on return for the same price. Depending on which way you go - you can pay 400 to 900 baht for the same service!

Be careful with your children accessing the internet within your room as this costs a minimum 150 baht whereas there is a free central access point in the lounge. Again a trap for new players!

We had it worked out a few days in. Taxi to Patong each night for a great, affordable meal and a bit of shopping/people watching. There are also supermarkets in there where you can stock up at a good price.

The Meridien just did not do enough to justify the high cost of their food & beverages. I think there is a real opportunity for them to create something special at the resort but it just isn't there at the moment. If you cant provide it I think it is unfair to make it so hard for your guests to find it elsewhere as they do with the transport.

The staff at the resort were generally very friendly. We had only one poor experience at a nightly buffet with a staff member who wouldn't refill a supposingly bottomless water glass. Again complimentary water is provided in the room but if you want it at dinner you have to pay up big time. Trapped again!

As long as you dont expect perfection at the resort and provided you are willing to work a little to discover external eating options then you will have a really good time. Overall we did!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank freshlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear "freshlover"

Thank you for writing a detailed review of your recent stay with us on. We are glad to know that you and your family had an enjoyable stay and that you were pleased with the location of the resort especially surrounded by lush tropical greenery next to the secluded beach. We are also delighted to hear that you and your son had fun with the Sports and Recreation activities available at the resort.

We have taken note of your issue with regards to the room allocated for you and please be assured that this has been shared with the concerned managers, particularly with the Chief Engineer, Director of Rooms Division and Executive Assistant Manager to ensure that similar situations do not re-occur. There is of course no excuse on our part for the inconveniences you had experienced, which is not at all a true reflection of the usual service and standards at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort. It is never our intention to give inconveniences to our guests in any way and once again, our sincere apologies. We have also taken note of your various other comments relating to our service delivery as well as with the facilities at the resort and we would like to assure you that these are positively taken on board and shared with the team for necessary action. We sincerely hope that you will choose to stay with us again and that your experience on this occasion will not deter you from returning back to Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Went to Le Meridien Phuket with 2 other families, all of us had kids ranging from age 1 to 6 (6 kids in total to be exact!)
The hotel: Its good, but not great. There are a lot of facilities advertised in this hotel, albeit they are there, they are bit old and run down. The best thing about this hotel is the size of its surrounding grounds and its private beach. The beach is surprisingly good, with very clear water compared to other beaches in Phuket. Although waves are quite strong.

The food: Good, but like any buffets.....eat there enough times....the taste of the food hits your brain before it hits your tongue.

But the thai restaurant was really good and highly recommended, threw a birthday dinner for my wife on our final night....the birthday cake served was really something special!

Our booking included a free massage for a couple PER DAY. Hence, the best thing we did as a group was to take turns taking care of the kids and going for our massages. Contrary to expectations, we didn't go in as couples, but as groups of guys and girls.

After 4 consecutive nights of massages and eating buffet meals, we could hardly feel our muscles and we could start to imagine how a Wagyu cattle would feel like before it hits the dinner table.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNYCBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear "MNYCBL"



Thank you for staying with us and writing a review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your spa experience, our 40-acre amidst lush tropical greenery location, the secluded beach and our associates’ effort to make your wife's birthday extra special at Wang Warin Thai Restaurant. I regret that we were unable to completely meet your expectations on some aspects of your stay but do hope that you had an overall enjoyable stay. We are committed to continually improve our services and facilities and we do have a comprehensive refurbishment programme that started in 2010 and set to expand further next year. We do hope that you and your family would return to Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort on your next trip to Phuket.


Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This hotel has a pretty good location i must say, it is located a mere ten mins away from the infamous Patong area, about 150-200 baht taxi ride, do not take the taxi that is arranged by the hotel, it charges 300 baht, way ripped off. However, the hotel pick up from airport is pretty pricey, 1300 baht but very comfortable ride and it helps you to avoid the chaotic you will have to experience getting one by the airport yourself.

Facilities in the hotel are splendid. It offers huge swimming pools, private clean beach, wide variety of dining options, the gym is equipped with a variety of equipment and it even have different classes for you to attend everyday. I have been to the step aerobics and I have to say it is pretty good.

The spa is above average, service is good, clean but not cheap.

Room wise, we stayed in a deluxe pool view refurbished room. Basic amenities were present, cleanliness so-so, i was just pretty annoyed by the ants that around. I once left some food for 15mins unattended, the army of ants appeared from nowhere. That's a issue for me. But, great
views from room, very appreciative of the balcony. Room is spacious. Comfortable, definitely not fantastic.

All in all, a 5 star property, not so. 5 star pricing, definitely. Given the wide selection of hotels that are offered in Phuket, I doubt I will be coming back to this property.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaxLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Dear "MaxLiz"

Thank you very much for your review regarding your stay at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort. We do regret to learn that some aspects of your stay did not entirely satisfy. We hope you’ll eventually choose to stay with us again. We will certainly appreciate and make the most of the opportunity to regain your confidence in us by providing you with a more enjoyable experience.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews