We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, handy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
Ranked #81 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great views, handy location”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment (northside). The furniture is a little dated (doesn't look like the photos on the Centara website), but for the price we paid, I think it's fitting and really didn't affect our stay. We booked through the Centara website and got a huge discount. There isn't a restaurant at the hotel, however there are 4 restaurants just outside the front gate and many many more just around the corner. The beach is less than 100 metres and the views over the sea and out the back are fantastic. The staff are really friendly, especially with the kids. They'd say hello to them by name every time we came in and out. There's a lovely pool area with complimentary towels (which you are allowed to bring to the beach as well). Daily housekeeping and bottles of water as well as a welcome basket on arrival. Locks on the balcony doors are low so our 2 yr old could open them which was a worry, however we moved furniture to cover the door and kept the seethrough curtains closed on the back.

Room Tip: Southside would be quieter, however northside noise isn't that bad - may be woprse on lower floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank R00nd0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    59
    26
    4
    7
See reviews for
79
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wide Bay
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

If you are tired of small hotel rooms, this may be just what you are looking for. The apartments are large and the balcony overlooks the beach. This place is not on the beach but only a few hundred metres away. The apartment is nice, but a little tired and there are no restaurants on site. Centara have recently taken over management of this apartment block so I would imagine that they will get a facelift in the near future.
We really enjoyed having an apartment instead of a small room.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJT57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poros, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

My husband & I stayed here for 6 weeks and I was recuperating from an illness,so I was looking forward to a restful time. I was more ill from stress following the holiday than before I arrived. We had booked the suite the previous March and paid a deposit using a bank transfer, as requested. We arrived at 10.30pm on the 23rd December to find the reception closed and the whole area in darkness. My husband had to walk around the building looking for a member of staff. The only person he could find was an electrician, who could not speak English. After trying to explain that we had a booking & indicating that he please telephone the manager, he called a woman & handed the 'phone to us. She told us she had no booking recorded for us & that it was not her problem, we would have to find somewhere else. After a heated conversation, during which the woman (who said she was the manager) refused to meet us at the apartments, she reluctantly agreed for the electrician to let us have a room for the night, but told us we would have to move the next day. You can imagine our distress at the thought of having to find alternative accommodation one day before Christmas.
The following morning, after I had shown her all our correspondence (which she copied from my computer) she did allow us to stay but said we would have to change rooms 3 times in the 6 weeks. We had booked a room on a high floor but finished up on a low floor.
In the first room the wardrobe rail was broken so we couldn't hang our clothes. The safe would not work & we wasted the first morning of our holiday waiting for someone to repair it. In the bathroom there were wires over the sink where there should have been a light. We asked for this to be fixed as there was only one low energy lamp in the bedroom (no ceiling lights at all). It took 3 weeks for them to fix it!
There was no hot water in the bathroom sink at any time.
The cooker hood was running when we arrived and we couldn't switch it off. It ran constantly for a month, despite being reported & continually asking for it to be looked at.
The security bar on the main door was missing & although we asked for it to be replaced, it was never done. Consequently the maid, could (& did) just walk into the room. There were no 'Do not Disturb' hanging signs in the room.
On the morning of the 26th December the electricity went off. We informed reception & we waited an hour for it to be fixed. We went out & on our return in the afternoon we had no electricity again. Over the next 4 days we lost the electricity 8 times for at least 2 hours each time. On one occasion it was off all night & we could contact nobody even though there was supposed to be an electrician on call. You can imagine our distress being in total darkness & with no air conditioning.
On the 22nd January 2011 we moved rooms again & thought our troubles were over. The following is what happened next:-

My husband went to shower but there was no hot water. On reporting it to reception it took 3 days and numerous requests before it was fixed. The bathroom floor was left wet so we mopped it up & went out to dinner. When we came back the bathroom was flooded. As usual reception was closed & we couldn't contact an engineer, so to use the loo we had to wade through the water.
The electronic safe didn't work in this room either so we had to wait while the maid found a key for it.
There were no batteries in the TV remote & even after telling the maid these were never provided.
There was a microwave oven in the kitchen & when I went to use it I found there was a 3 pin plug on the microwave but only 2 pin sockets in the kitchen!!!!!
About a week later the shower stopped working again for a whole day.
We were so upset about all this it was suggested we see the area manager who was apparently in Phuket & an appointment was made for 1.00pm the next day.
We confirmed this with the receptionist in the morning & at 12.50am we went down to see her. We waited until 1.15pm & were then told the lady was a very busy person & had been called away. The manageress at the Waterfront had been with the area manager all morning so must have known that our appointment was cancelled but nobody had the courtesy to let us know. This was another morning wasted.
The only compensation they were prepared to offer was a free dinner at the Ratri Restaurant, which belongs to the group. This we declined as it was the 2 days before we were leaving & we'd already made arrangements, plus the fact we felt this was an insult after what we had endured.

We have since written to the Vice President, Ms Jitrinee Vitchudhakorn, who eventually offered us a free weeks stay at the apartments in the low season. This is not acceptable & totally unrealistic as it would cost us 700 euros each to fly to Phuket. She must be fully aware that we couldn't accept this. I have been trying to resolve this matter for 10 months now but Ms Jitrinee has not responded to my emails since the one offering the free week. She will not provide their Bangkok Head Office address or telephone number.

Our holiday was totally ruined by this Company and we were glad to leave.


For safety reasons, apart from anything else, it's disgusting that reception closes at 6.00pm & there is nobody on the premises except for a security guard & a handyman, who speak no English, until 9.00am the next morning.

Unless things have changed dramatically I would not recommend The Waterfront to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid Rooms 3a and 5a
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Stayed at this place in septemeber, brilliant location as it's the tallest hotel in Karon beach that means amazing views. Around the location is other top class hotels but as I said why would you want a small room when you can have a whole suite. When I went I was lucky enough to be upgraded to 2 double bedrooms. I even had 4 balconies with different views. Most hotels will say beach view but coz they are not that high up the views would be a side glance of the beach. I guarantee if you were to stay here this would be the best part of the holiday as it was for mine! I don't get why there's bad reviews, I mean I was just there...... Guess some people don't make the most of what they have!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jayeshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

This apartment block is now under management by Centara and we got their opening special, so we got a 2 bedroom apartment for a fantastic price!! We were very impressed. Our apartment was huge! Big balcony. Gorgeous ocean views. Marble interior throughout. Two bathrooms. Big comfy beds with big pillows. One flat screen TV in lounge. One tv in main bedroom. You can hire a dvd player for 50 baht a day, and dvds are aplenty up the street for about a dollar each. Apartment serviced daily. We did have trouble with our airconditioners "tripping" off, but they would come to reset them immediately and I'm sure they would have fixed the problem by now. Great location, just a short stroll to the main street of Karon, where there are some great restaurants. Awesome staff, especially Joe, he was great with our children. Great pool, very deep.

Room Tip: Ask for one as high up as possible for the great views. If you want quiet, the rooms would be quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sonja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 km away
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
#107 of 132 in Karon
47 reviews
0.7 km away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 km away
In on the Beach
In on the Beach
#99 of 132 in Karon
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#93 of 132 in Karon
258 reviews
0.1 km away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
0.1 km away
Ramada Phuket Southsea
Ramada Phuket Southsea
#103 of 132 in Karon
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara

Property: Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
Address: 224/21 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Muang, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly The Waterfront Suites)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#54 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price range (per night): RM255 - RM686
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Karon Beach, this iconic 21 storey Sino-Portuguese serviced apartment building offers modern living with space and comfort, along with quality facilities including a large swimming pool, tennis and squash courts, library with internet access, billiard and table tennis tables; all only 100 metres from the white sands of the spectacular Karon Beach. Offering 39 well-appointed one bedroom and two bedroom suites equipped with kitchen and separate lounge, Waterfront Suites Phuket delivers excellent value for money whilst providing a quality holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Fastbooking so you can book your Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Suites Hotel Karon
Central Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Suites Phuket By Centara Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing