We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mvphotog
sydney

Quiet oasis amongst a busy tourist village

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Sept 2012
My partner and I stayed here in Feb 2012, 2011 and 2010, this was our 3rd trip in a row staying at the same resort, we really did love the place, we stayed in the same villa all three times #532 close to the pool and entrance but secluded from other guests.

There isn't much to fault with this resort, however our major beef was service and lack of it sometimes, on our first and second stays it wasn't as noticeable however they recently renovated and with that came staff changes, they lost some of their great staff who spoke English well enough to understand you, it became frustrating when you would ask for something as simple as a glass with ice and they did not understand, this is the main reason we have decided to change our accommodation for our next visit. Having said that there is nothing else wrong, the location is perfect, not in the heart of karon and set back off the street a little so it is peacefully quiet. Not busy even when busy, we stay for three weeks and in that entire time the most people in the pool would be about 5, that's it, the guests seem to be over 35 so the drinking culture isn't seen, I would not hesitate to recommend this resort, in fact I did and a friend stayed while we where there and also loved it.

It is close to some great little thai run family restaurants like Ann's who also do dry cleaning, 5min walk to the beach and 10min walk in to the main streets of Karon.

Do yourself a favour and check it out its definitely worth a stay.
Date of stay: February 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 922
  • Tripadvisor
    RM 860
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    RM 860
0.3 km from The Village Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 352
RM 314
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    RM 352
  • Trip.com
3.9 km from The Village Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Splash Pad at the Best Family Resort in Phuket
RM 543
  • Booking.com
    RM 542
  • travelup.com
    RM 530
  • Expedia.com
    RM 543
3.1 km from The Village Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 1,261
RM 1,127
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,129
  • Tripadvisor
    RM 1,129
  • Priceline
2.5 km from The Village Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Booking.com
    RM 632
  • Lol.travel
    RM 618
  • Expedia.com
    RM 843
0.6 km from The Village Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Official Hotel
    RM 586
  • Agoda.com
    RM 417
  • Expedia.com
    RM 555
1.0 km from The Village Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Agoda.com
    RM 2,617
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
5.6 km from The Village Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    RM 1,158
  • StayForLong
5.3 km from The Village Resort and Spa
Pool
Beachfront
View more hotels in Karon
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
266
129
46
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
266
129
46
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden villa swim up bar karon beach huge bathroom mattress topper sitting area min walk lovely pool pool access room phuket baht
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 475 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My husband and I stayed 6 nights late July/early Aug 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I researched thoroughly on TA so thought I should give back too. This was our first trip to Thailand.

We were in a garden bungalow which had a separate bedroom with own air-conditioner, the bed is a true king (unlike Europe) but being on a raised platform getting in and out is not the easiest thing to do.
There is a separate spacious bathroomm with bath (not used) and generous shower, including plenty of room to hand clothes/togs to dry etc, and a seperate walk-in robe space (incl safe). The living area had plenty of seating (if not the most confortable), a small fridge, tv and ac. Plenty of space to spread out and very quiet to relax. The pool is lovely and my husband loved the swim-up bar. The photos on the site and here do not do it justice. There is plenty of trees to give cover and help keep the temperature down (necessary!).

The staff were great and very attentive. We had breakfast every morning which was very good (eggs cooked to order, toast, bacon, local dishes, fresh fruit etc) and was very relaxing. The restuarant for dinner (only had a couple of nights) was ok but there are better options in the town areas. We were able to book activities through the front desk which was very good and we had pre-arranged an airport pickup which was handy as our flight was delayed and they were there even at 1am! I would recommend booking the shuttle back to airport too as we had trouble getting one (believe it or not) to take that far as it was a religious day. BHT1000 to the airport is the going rate. Tuk tuks to Patong, Kata etc are handy (200-400 baht) and the local bus (60 baht) is perfect over the hill to Phuket town centre.
The hotel is not so handy for the beach, Karon is probably a 5-7 minute flat (but hot) walk away but at this time of year the sea was fairly rough so we didn't swim there. Mostly went to visit shops or get a massage etc...

There aren't too many bungalows so it doesn't get too loud/noisy and is just very relaxing.
I visited the spa and it was good, though I think for the price I would just visit the massage shops down town several times!
Overall my expectations of The Village were exceeded and it is the perfect place for small family, couples and friends. It is very good value for money too.

Room tip: I can't see what value you are getting with a pool bungalow as they seem to be the same just with a shallow part of the pool outside your front door so stick with the garden and spend your money on extra nights.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeamByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Serene ambiance , beautiful gardens , relaxed atmosphere great food friendly staff .
We loved our stay here . These are great villas It's a really intimate little place 5 mins walk to beach, bars etc Comfy bed . We weren't that keen on karon itself But this place is a little oasis . I highly recommend it

Room tip: Pool villas arent really worth the extra money as the pools outside them are so shallow
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavLyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We were upgraded from the front village due to renovations. The resort definately was as we expected with very helpfull friendly staff, the spa had great massages and was a fantastic price for the experience. The only small downside as stated is that you have to pay for the wifi and if I was being really picky the breakfast didnt have a great deal of variety but in saying that they are catering for a small amount of people due to the size of the resort. The villas were fantastic well presented and comfortable and the resort is only a short ride to either Karon or Phuket. I would definately stay here again if looking for a quiet and relaxing vibe.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPKTMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed at The Village Resort and Spa after much research and contemplation as we had never been to Phuket (or anywhere near it) before. I was extremely pleased with the resort and staff. The only down side to the resort is that wifi is not free. It is available for a small fee. The villas were well appointed and either had a great view of the beautifully maintained grounds or, even better, a private swim-up free form pool that meanders and connects to the main pool area with a sunken bar and plenty of room. Unfortunately, it was raining during our trip but the sun lounging decks looked very comfortable and spacious.

One of the best parts about the resort was the staff. They were very helpful and most could at least understand us in english. If not, they would grab someone who did. The spa was great. More expensive than the notoriously cheap places you can find around town but very nice, professional, and relaxing. They even gave us each a 50% off coupon when we arrived.

We enjoyed the private balconies with a table and two chairs, perfect for reading and relaxing come rain or shine. The beach was a short five minute walk away. Karon city was also five minutes (walking) away. Kata beach was a short tuk-tuk ride away as was Patong. I particularly liked being just outside the hustle and bustle of the city itself. The compound was very safe, an absolutely oasis.

I highly recommend The Village Resort & Spa.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShaneT670
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Great resort to spend your holiday, super wide rooms with super garden view.
The disadvantages were the rooms dont have free WI-FI internet and lack of variety of food in the breakfast. But still Super hotel!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joeyrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews