We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Craigo60
Horsley, Australia

Visit Number 5 and still going strong

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Oct 2012
The perfect place to relax, away from the hussle and bussle of Patong, with a short stroll to the main streets of Karon, and a hop, skip and a jump to the beach; what more can you ask for when trying to unwind. This was our 5th stay at this location, with the resort recently undergoing a bit of a make over, all for the better I believe. As always the staff have been friendly and helpful as much as possible, yes there is always to trahslation issues but a bit of patience will pay off in the long run.

This resort is ideal for couples and those wishing to be away from ankle biters, it caters mainly for adults though you will sometimes get a child of 12 or above staying with parents. The resorts is made up of approx. 34 bungalows each with a sitting/lounge room with day bed, a walk in robe, enormous bathroom with separate shower and enormous bath, and a king size bed in its own room with a very Asian feel, this is probably my biggest issue with the resort as I find the bed really hard; some people like this.
The recent renovation has seen new board walks installed and a lot of the undergrowth removed, a much more appealling aspect now, note boardwalks can be a little slippery when wet.
Happy Hour is exactly that 1 hour, but I still find the beers prices a bit extreme, cocktail pricing is OK.
The pool is the only other issue I have at the resort, it could do with a vacuum a little more often, and being allowed to swim before 10am and after 7pm so long as you are quiet shouldn't be a problem.
There are many great eating establishments close by in Karon, a couple to mention are: Karon Steakhouse for when you are getting a little tired of Thai food, The Red Onion, great Thai food but get there before the crowd, across the road from the Red Onion you will find Talay and Kai Restaurants both provide good value for money food, and both offer fresh seafood that can be cooked as you desire.
I will be returning at my next opportunity and will hopefully be taking close friends and hopefully meeting those friends I have made from this recent journey.
A word of warning, when seeking out establishments to launder your clothes, DON'T use Ann's laundry service adjacent to the Front Village, stuffed up a number of our clothes some of which cannot be recovered, they also ruined friends clothes who we had met on this trip.
Date of stay: October 2012
Room Tip: All rooms are good, it is hard to say what would distinguish one against the other. My only...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 452
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    RM 427
  • Expedia.com
    RM 364
  • Vio.com
    RM 433
0.3 km from The Village Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 333
  • Priceline
    RM 308
  • Agoda.com
    RM 289
  • Official Hotel
    RM 391
1.0 km from The Village Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 532
Go to your Happy Price
  • Official Site
    RM 601
  • Agoda.com
    RM 456
  • Booking.com
    RM 489
0.6 km from The Village Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 313
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 368
  • Agoda.com
    RM 285
  • Vio.com
    RM 316
2.0 km from The Village Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Chanalai Hillside Resort, Karon Beach
RM 95
RM 78
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    RM 79
  • Expedia.com
    RM 95
  • Vio.com
    RM 83
0.2 km from The Village Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Splash Pad at the Best Family Resort in Phuket
RM 440
  • Booking.com
    RM 440
  • travelup.com
    RM 425
  • Priceline
    RM 440
3.1 km from The Village Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 225
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    RM 222
  • Vio.com
    RM 211
  • Expedia.com
    RM 256
4.6 km from The Village Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 305
  • Priceline
    RM 488
  • Hotels.com
    RM 301
  • Expedia.com
    RM 309
3.9 km from The Village Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 605
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 576
  • Agoda.com
    RM 541
  • Hotels.com
    RM 640
5.3 km from The Village Resort and Spa
Pool
Beachfront
View more hotels in Karon
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveller rating
264
129
46
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
264
129
46
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden villa swim up bar karon beach huge bathroom mattress topper sitting area min walk lovely pool pool access room phuket baht
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 473 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I'll start this off by saying i've travelled all around the world and i am usually somewhat skeptical when i read reviews, i understand where i am and my expectations are appropriate for the region I am in.
I write this sitting poolside with an empty beer. Service has been somewhat neglective; having to consistently go to find someone to bring me a drink isn't what I would consider 4 star resort material. We've been in Phuket now for two weeks; this being our second stop and being somewhat disappointing. It is the low season so I understand that staffing may be lower than normal. When we do get service the staff are very friendly; however ordering room service in the evening and having the plates still sitting on the deck at 11:00AM the next morning is perplexing to me. they are quick to identify and make repairs as needed ( our AC unit in the bedroom was blowing very old air the first night no matter what temp we set it to), the next morning when we returned they were already working on it without us saying anything. We did manage to get a last minute deal; however had I paid the asking price I would be very dissapointed. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable......and I've slept in many hotel beds!!!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This is my favourite hotel in Phuket. It is luxurious, friendly and almost perfect. There are a series of bungalows, some with a private pool. There is also a central pool with a bar and an on sight restaurant.

The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. Nothing is too much trouble and they always go the exta mile to make you feel special. They even leave a friendly message written in flower petals on your bed when you arrive.

The bunglaows are all similar with an outside sitting area then into a living room, dressing room, luxury bathroom (with a huge sunken bath and walk in shower) and then up some steps into the bedroom.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough...I have been back several times and have never been disappointed.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My partner and I stayed here in Feb 2012, 2011 and 2010, this was our 3rd trip in a row staying at the same resort, we really did love the place, we stayed in the same villa all three times #532 close to the pool and entrance but secluded from other guests.

There isn't much to fault with this resort, however our major beef was service and lack of it sometimes, on our first and second stays it wasn't as noticeable however they recently renovated and with that came staff changes, they lost some of their great staff who spoke English well enough to understand you, it became frustrating when you would ask for something as simple as a glass with ice and they did not understand, this is the main reason we have decided to change our accommodation for our next visit. Having said that there is nothing else wrong, the location is perfect, not in the heart of karon and set back off the street a little so it is peacefully quiet. Not busy even when busy, we stay for three weeks and in that entire time the most people in the pool would be about 5, that's it, the guests seem to be over 35 so the drinking culture isn't seen, I would not hesitate to recommend this resort, in fact I did and a friend stayed while we where there and also loved it.

It is close to some great little thai run family restaurants like Ann's who also do dry cleaning, 5min walk to the beach and 10min walk in to the main streets of Karon.

Do yourself a favour and check it out its definitely worth a stay.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mvphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My husband and I stayed 6 nights late July/early Aug 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I researched thoroughly on TA so thought I should give back too. This was our first trip to Thailand.

We were in a garden bungalow which had a separate bedroom with own air-conditioner, the bed is a true king (unlike Europe) but being on a raised platform getting in and out is not the easiest thing to do.
There is a separate spacious bathroomm with bath (not used) and generous shower, including plenty of room to hand clothes/togs to dry etc, and a seperate walk-in robe space (incl safe). The living area had plenty of seating (if not the most confortable), a small fridge, tv and ac. Plenty of space to spread out and very quiet to relax. The pool is lovely and my husband loved the swim-up bar. The photos on the site and here do not do it justice. There is plenty of trees to give cover and help keep the temperature down (necessary!).

The staff were great and very attentive. We had breakfast every morning which was very good (eggs cooked to order, toast, bacon, local dishes, fresh fruit etc) and was very relaxing. The restuarant for dinner (only had a couple of nights) was ok but there are better options in the town areas. We were able to book activities through the front desk which was very good and we had pre-arranged an airport pickup which was handy as our flight was delayed and they were there even at 1am! I would recommend booking the shuttle back to airport too as we had trouble getting one (believe it or not) to take that far as it was a religious day. BHT1000 to the airport is the going rate. Tuk tuks to Patong, Kata etc are handy (200-400 baht) and the local bus (60 baht) is perfect over the hill to Phuket town centre.
The hotel is not so handy for the beach, Karon is probably a 5-7 minute flat (but hot) walk away but at this time of year the sea was fairly rough so we didn't swim there. Mostly went to visit shops or get a massage etc...

There aren't too many bungalows so it doesn't get too loud/noisy and is just very relaxing.
I visited the spa and it was good, though I think for the price I would just visit the massage shops down town several times!
Overall my expectations of The Village were exceeded and it is the perfect place for small family, couples and friends. It is very good value for money too.

Room tip: I can't see what value you are getting with a pool bungalow as they seem to be the same just with a shallow part of the pool outside your front door so stick with the garden and spend your money on extra nights.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeamByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Serene ambiance , beautiful gardens , relaxed atmosphere great food friendly staff .
We loved our stay here . These are great villas It's a really intimate little place 5 mins walk to beach, bars etc Comfy bed . We weren't that keen on karon itself But this place is a little oasis . I highly recommend it

Room tip: Pool villas arent really worth the extra money as the pools outside them are so shallow
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavLyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews