We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but expensive”

Curry in Bali - Indian Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 45 Restaurants in Ungasan
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Description: Curry In Bali offers authentic Indian cuisine in a modern and stylish setting. The menu is designed to give the customers a unique experience in Indian traditional foods with presentation and quality. We source our ingredients to give the unique taste to our dishes to achieve high quality of food to our customers. The inviting atmosphere and friendly service offers a truly unique and an unforgettable dining experience.
Restaurant details
Description: Curry In Bali offers authentic Indian cuisine in a modern and stylish setting. The menu is designed to give the customers a unique experience in Indian traditional foods with presentation and quality. We source our ingredients to give the unique taste to our dishes to achieve high quality of food to our customers. The inviting atmosphere and friendly service offers a truly unique and an unforgettable dining experience.
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We went there because we saw the € sign on tripadvisor and this is defintively not true. For a small portion of chicken tikka masala you pay 90000 idr without rice.
If you want to have a good indian food without looking too much in the price it's a good restaurant.
It's located on a very loud street that you can see and hear when you sit outside.

Thank GregorMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
curryinbali, General Manager at Curry in Bali - Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear GregorMuc
Thank you for your review. The cost of running a good Indian restaurant in Bali is very high. We have all Indian Chefs and the spices are imported from India, hence the cost. However, we are very competitive with similar Indian restaurants in Bali.
The location is on a busy road, however, you have a choice to dine indoors as well wich is not noisy.
Appreciate your review. Thank you
Kind regards
George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Oh wow! What a good find (thanks Trip Advisor). We had the lamb curry, lamb briani, red fish curry (spicy). They were all delightful. Love the spicy pickle on the side... it was worth driving all the way there. We still sat outside despite the noise coming from the traffic. The great food made up for it. The owner/cook has a demonstrated love for the food he prepares and for his culture, it shows in the quality of the food. Much recommended and will be going back.

1  Thank Dįånę A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
curryinbali, TEAM CIB at Curry in Bali - Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Hi Dįånę A
It was indeed a pleasure to host you guys. We enjoyed your company. Yes, India is rich in culture and food. We have bought the same to Bali with a passion and love for our food. Thank you for your comments and appreciate it.
Kind regards
George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Its such a happiness to find this litttle gem in Bali.. the taste is authentic.. we ordered butter chicken, palak paneer, lamb briyani and cheese naan.. and we are so full.. portions are sufficient.. will definitely return here again real soon..

2  Thank Ratna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
curryinbali, Owner at Curry in Bali - Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Hi Ratna S

Many thanks for your visit and review. Appreciate it.
Have a great holiday in Bali and see you back, soon.
Have fun! Cheers
George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Found this Indian place on cheap eats - was surprised to find that all meals were close to 90k excl tax, and didn't include rice or naan. A feed for one would cost excess 150k - far cry from the realms of cheap eats. Was gutted, as food did look good but we were not prepared to spend that amount on food...

Thank atboslem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
curryinbali, Owner at Curry in Bali - Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Hi Atboslem
Thank you for your visit and comments.
As I understand, a restaurant is rated by the diners on Trip Advisor and they do have a question, 'Is this restaurant - Cheap - Moderate - Expensive?' And the $ sign will change depending on the comments. There hardly anything that we can do about it.
You could take the all inclusive - Deal of the day Offer (all in under Rp. 99K)
Appreciate your review. Have a nice day!
Cheers
George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

A group of us arrived excited to try these curries as it was fairly high on cheap eats.
We are all backpackers who are traveling for 3 months and more so cheap eats on trip advisor is our go to.
We were disappointed to find that these curries are not at all consider a cheap eat. Curries start at 90,000 and then rice is another 25-35,000 and naan another 30,000, plus a 15% tax on top. If we were to order 2 curries, 2 rice and 2 naans we would be paying close to $40NZ which is our daily budget in Bali not for one night.
As you can guess we left without ordering a thing.

I'm sure the curries are great, I just wonder who placed this restaurant under cheap eats because it needs to be moved to the next bracket and then there would be no disappointment at the prices.

Thank becaw2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
curryinbali, Owner at Curry in Bali - Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Hello becaw2015

Thank you for your visit and comments. Who placed this restaurant under cheap eats? - Good question. It's the diners that vote for the price tag as well as the quality of food. So, clearly, there is nothing that we could do. Ours is a fairly new restaurant and the reviews by the diners change the restaurant to Cheap, medium, Expensive brackets.
And, we do have exciting 'special offers' that are less expensive.
Appreciate your review. Happy holidays.
George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Curry in Bali - Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Seminyak, Kuta District
 

Been to Curry in Bali - Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing