We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
148
53
8
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
53
8
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden chalets infinity pool second world war one night address and phone number private residence talented chef wet towels round trip in sri lanka secluded place mango tree stunning gardens lovely colonial cooking demonstration trained staff main building driver's accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2015

We just had one night at this hotel and it was a night to remember. Every thing about the hotel was great, the rooms, the toilets, the amenities, the pool, the food and of course the the staff...
The pool is truly an infinity pool with gorgeous views, it didn't have a heating facility but was warm enough the next day morning.
Lakshan and his staff made every attempt at making our stay memorable. We even had a cooking demonstration in their wood burning kitchen.
Great stuff!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nilmini d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2015

The MountBatten Bungalow is an absolutely charming place, beautiful site, very comfortable rooms, good cook and very nice staff. We had the chance to have an interesting show of traditional dances. A place that we can warmly recommend

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2015

We stayed at the Mountbatten Bungalow in Kandy in March, 2015. The employees and management are extremely friendly and attentive. (as we found to be the case in most of the hotels in which we stayed in Sri Lanka). Unfortunately, this is another hotel in Sri Lanka, which relies upon its historical pedigree instead of current service.

We stayed in the Blue Lilly Room, which, while spacious was in dire need of updating and refurbishing. The doors were old and locks appeared to date back prior to the Second World War. The lighting in the room was wholly inadequate for reading purposes and the small hot water heater in the bathroom was insufficient for 2 consecutive showers. There was no soundproofing and the every activity in the concrete floored halls echoed throughout the rooms and the hotel.

The hotel is isolated and as we were touring, who we choose to have our dinner at the hotel restaurant. The dinner choices were limited and we selected the seafood dinner, which consisted of calamari, prawns and a fish. The meal arrived over cooked. The calamari was like rubber and inedible while the prawns and fish were cooked to a cardboard consistency. We pointed out this shortcoming to the waiter and he promised us that they would do better the next night when the offering would consist of a traditional Sri Lankan meal. The next evening we were served a tepid meal of rice and Sri Lankan dishes which was best described as mediocre. We noticed that another couple’s dinner was served to their table well before they arrived.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Pietro65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015

The setting of the bungalow high in the Kandy hills is lovely and the infinity pool was wonderful. We had a beautiful room in the bungalow (red lotus I think) with a huge bathroom with freestanding shower and wonderful big bath. The candlelit dinner in the garden was good, though a little bit more light would have revealed what we were eating. The service was very eager but perhaps needs a touch of polish. We were pleased we'd picked this for our one night in Kandy. Make sure you stay in the bungalow itself rather than the new lodges if you're a history fan.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank RosieandRobH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

We stayed here for three nights, unplanned, due to an error in our booking for Villa Rosa. We were extremely pleased with this as our alternative accommodation. Although we didn't have a room in the main bungalow which has more atmosphere we really liked our wooden chalet in the grounds. We were the first people to stay in it as it had just been completed. It was extremely comfortable with a very large bed and a fantastic bathroom (with a bath!) with a lovely view across the valley. We ate in the dining room of the house each night because it is a bit of a drive down to Kandy (not long, just rather windy and with some pot holes), the food was good but not exceptional. It is a slight nuisance that there isn't a loo for the use of guests who aren't staying in the main house to use if they are having drinks in the lounge or dining in the restaurant, you have to trek back to your room in the grounds in the darkness! Service is generally very well intentioned but perhaps a little slow and not quite up to the standard it is aspiring to. One last thing make sure you take binoculars as the bird life around the hotel is amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JME1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews