We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure bliss and tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pure bliss and tranquility”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

From the moment we arrived we found ouselves entering pure bliss and tranquility. The reception area is vast and sets the tone for the hotel. We had a deluxe twin room and it was enormous - we had two huge beds and the bathroom was divine - all glass with beautiful amenities. The room overlooked the lake and was 1st rate in terms of comfort.

The breakfast is probably the best 5* breakfast I have ever had. There were so many different stations where everything was prepared to order from eggs to dragonfruit, pancakes to omelettes, fried breakfast to noodles and more! The position of the breakfast lounge is great because you can sit outside on the decking or the pontoon overlooking the lake and waterfall.

The beach bar is great and ideally located by the pool - it is a lovely spot for early evening cocktails. The pool is fine - nothing special - it's essentially one rectangular pool. I thought that it was slightly on the small side but it was clean and the perfect temperature to swim in. There were more than enough sun loungers to go round which was good. There were also some lovely lounge beds out on the grass which were lovely. The staff would regularly bring chilled water round to everyone which was good. The best spot is the sea though which is a 20 second walk through a few trees from the pool. The water was amazing to swim in and the beach extended for miles. You felt like you were in the middle of nowehere and the water was warm and calm when we were there.

It should be noted that this hotel is on a strip with about 5 other new 5* hotels but they are sufficiently spaced out that you don't even notice each other from the beach. This area was developed after the boxing day tsunami as I sadly discovered in the taxi when I commented that the lake we drove by on the way to the hotel was lovely and he replied with 'I'm not sure the locals would agree - there was a village there before the tsnuami and now it is a lake of excess water that didn't drain out to sea'. If you venture outside the hotel you will notice tsunami warning signs.

The coffee bar is just great - they did lovely little snacks and it was relaxed and cool in there - a great spot for simple lunch during the heat of the day. This was very casual and child friendly. The lounge bar up by reception was very chilled out with beautiful seats. We enjoyed post-dinner drinks there - the view out across the hotel (because it is higher up) at night with the moon and the stars and the lit-up landscaped gardens is lovely. Equally nice for a pre-dinner drink. We very much enjoyed the thai restaurant above the beach bar. The Loca Vore (where breakfast is served) is fairly mediocre and seemed a bit more 'package holiday style food'.

One of the great gems that we didn't really discover until the third day was the fact that there is a free shuttle service between the hotels along the strip in a golf buggy. This was great and from this point on we enjoyed a dinner each night at the different hotels which was great fun and there really were some beautiful restaurants so do make use of this. It was quite nice to go out actually even thought it was only 2-3 minutes in the cart which will drop and collect you from and to the door of your room in fact!

Nothing was too much for the staff who were incredibly helpful. We had a craving for chocolate ice-cream one evening with a DVD and although room service didn't have any the guy went to all lengths to find some - he ended up opening up the coffee shop and finding some there ... and then he presented it beautifully for us. On that point, the hotel has an extensive library of DVDs which we enjoyed in the evenings.

All in all, it was a great relaxing holiday and we will be going back.

N.b. there is no nightlife here so if you are wanting that head to Patong Beach.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SW1SEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,197
    527
    105
    30
    11
See reviews for
779
1,389
112
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

lets start with the problems, gym too small, no tennis, and for most days the beach was too rough to swim. also they could use more cool music. other than that, lots of good stuff, pool ,beach (on the swimmable days it was amazing, great waves) rooms, service, its new, local massage option (great, i hate it when hotels only offer the crazy expensive massage), and relatively few kids which was a bonus. we were a large group so it was fun. i think if they build a tennis court and fix the gym we would go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norbertghz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

There are things that should be improved to make us feel we want to come back here.

1. Shower booth was not clean. There are moulds. I had to ask the front desk to clean it. This is only one year property.

2. It is hard to communicate with front desk people in English. This hotel may not be targeting English speaking guest.... Sorry with Thai smile will not solve all the problems.

3. Transportation service can be improved. It is not easy to go anywhere.

Again, food is good. Especially, breakfast buffet is the best among resorts we visited in the past years.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Etobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed in a pool villa loved it
Room was greate but spent most of my time at the sand box
Only negative front off house staff not over friendly but all in all great place And the best breakfast ever

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 68dm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This hotel is just so gorgeous! It is set in the middle of nowhere and I was so relaxed by the end of the first day - let alone after our nine day holiday! If you are looking for nightlife then this part of Phuket isn't for you - but if you want to just chill out in luxury then you must stay here.

The rooms are clean and throughly modern, the restaurants on site are great (resort prices though so bear that in mind) and the pool is luxurious and the beach is one of the best in Phuket - and that came from a local we met on a day tour. The bar is just amazing - we relaxed on their gorgeous bed like chairs at night and watched the stars and listened to the acoustic guitar set from the lady who entertains three times a week.

The hotel provides a free tuk tuk service to turtle village which is worth a visit to have a different meal out away from the resort but still stay local.

At the pool, iced water is brought constantly, as is iced fruit and iced lollies - all complimentary.

We did a couple of day trips just so we saw Phuket and the hotel help organise everything - such as a shuttle bus to Phuket town for 500 baht each return. We also did a day trip by speed boat which we booked in Phuket town as the trips offered by the hotel are really expensive - we saved around £40 each by booking elsewhere.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room and it was great but the villas did look gorgeous too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
19.8 km away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
479 reviews
23.4 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
895 reviews
0.3 km away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
1.2 km away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
29.9 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 555, Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price range (per night): RM442 - RM1,446
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens, the chic boutique-like Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel, offers privacy and is only 15 minutes leisurely drive from Phuket International Airport. Our Phuket, Thailand resort's location is ideally adjacent to beautiful Sirinath Marine National Park, as well, providing the chance to completely enjoy the magic of our island. We offer 22 Pool Villas and 4 Ocean Front Pool Villas with private pool and large patio, 4 One Bedroom Suites and 150 Deluxe Rooms. Two outdoor swimming pools, Quan Spa with eight treatment rooms, 6 event venues, steam rooms, outdoor massage sala, fitness centre, bike rides, cooking school, diving lessons, Kid's world and children's pavilion with indoor recreation area and outdoor pool all delight travelers to Thailand. Golf is available nearby, and for your gastronomical journey, our hotel offers an all-day restaurant with fresh ingredients - our signature Loca Vore, Takieng - Thai Restaurant. We also provide The Lounge, Doppio for gourmet deli with coffee and tea leaf bar and Sand Box at Mai Khao beachfront serving international cuisine during the day and BBQ at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phuket Resort And Spa
Renaissance Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing