We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace, tranquility, service and hospitality at its best !!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We stayed at the Anatara Layan resort for a week during the first week of August. We travelled with 2 kids one of which was a toddler. Since we were travelling with a toddler, we were very picky of the place to stay and after looking at several options we decided on Anatara Layan. We had a lot of expectations from the place and we were pleasantly surprised as it scored a perfect 10 for all our requirements.
The location of the resort is excellent if you wanna be far from the city life and buzzing night life. This is a place for those seeking peace and tranquility. They have a private beach and plenty of water sports like kayaking, wind surfing, sailing etc. Two outdoor pools and a breeze bar by the main pool side. We could also use their bicycles to tour the nearby roads and scenery.
We stayed at the deluxe Layan suites as we didn’t want to risk the pool villas with a toddler. The Layan suite was spacious clean and comfortable over the hill and a big balcony overlooking the sea. This severed as our favorite dinner location.
We were pampered by epitome of service and hospitability which stood out as the best seller of the resort. This is by far the best service I have experienced among all the places that I have travelled as a frequent business traveler.
We arrived early morning at 8am and had booked for airport pickup. The airport pickup was a bit expensive which is expected out of a 5 star resort. From the airport itself we were overwhelmed by the quality service. At check-in, we were seated comfortably on a sofa with a scented wet towel and welcome drink while they did all the check in formalities. We were also offered an early check in which was big relief after an overnight travel with kids. Even though our room was up the hill, a golf cart was always available at our service to take us to our room and back round the clock. They offer bottled water complimentary and our room was stocked with 8 bottles of water. We were even told we could ask for more if we finished these…which was great. There was complementary tea and coffee as well in the room.We were offered a cute little baby cot for the toddler and a child bed for the 5 year old. We also found a full baby gift set with baby oil, lotion, bath and powder….which was another appreciable gesture. The rooms were cleaned to perfection and the bath rooms were huge and sparkling. There was a big water dispenser by the pool and we were also served cold water at our beach beds which was very refreshing after a swim.
The food was great and we were spoiled for choice at the breakfast. The live cooking station, variety of fresh fruit, a small Indian corner, traditional Thai buffet to name just a few gave a perfect start for the day. The Italian and the Thai restaurant were also excellent for lunch and dinner.
They have a kids club to keep the kids busy while we needed some time to ourselves. My son loved the kids club and enjoyed playing with the toys and activities.
For those who fancy more dining options, they have a free shuttle to nearby market area which have several dining options and supermarket.
We had a midnight flight and since we had not booked a late check-out, we couldn’t get to keep our room. However we were offered a check out at 2pm but we were offered sufficient space at the library lounge to rest with water and coffee. We were also offered shower and steam facility at the spa while we waited for our flight. This made our long wait quite comfortable as they had books and board games for the kids which kept us busy.
I did read some reviews about food being expensive, but I didn’t find it more expensive than any other 5 star hotels that I have dined in. 5 star dining doesn’t come cheap and I don’t find anything unusual about the pricing of Anatara.
The staff were very friendly and we were even allowed to discuss and prepare our baby food with the chef in the kitchen which was amazing.
Alti and Kana at the reception were very helpful and guided us for the best boat tours to the nearby islands. The tours were booked by them and we were picked up and dropped off at the resort by the tour operator which was convenient for a bit for sightseeing.
Nana at the breakfast was my son’s favorite and he even missed her while she had her day off. Rachen and his team ensured that we always had the golf cart at our service.
Special thanks to Alti, Kana , Nana , Rachen and the manager Yuki for making us feel like a family. We had a magnificent holiday and would definitely choose Anatara if we were to visit Phuket again.

Pradeep.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pradeep M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuki Y, Resort Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear Mr Pradeep M,

We all miss you and your family!
We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to describe in such great details of your recent stay and share the tip with those who have yet to decide where to stay in Phuket.

I am humbled to read your observations and it is indeed an honor to receive the encouraging compliments from a frequent traveler like you, which will be shared with Alti, Kana, Na, Rachan and the rest of our team members who deserve all the credit for their dedications.

It was our great pleasure to have you and your family with us. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you plan for coming 'Home' in Phuket, we cannot wait to see both of you, Shivank and Nevaan soon again.

With my warmest regards,
Yuki Yamano, Resort Manager
yyamano@anantara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 74 of 847 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for seclusion, look no further than Anantara's Layan Resort. The Private Pool Villa was spectacular and private.

The beach is more of an inlet as opposed to ocean front. The tide rises and falls. At times it looks 'swampy'.

Sadly, dining is restricted to the resort. You are far from any dining options and you would need a cab to go anywhere other than the lobby.

Breakfast is decent for a hotel buffet. The food is usually cold by the time you get to your seat as the AC is blasting.

Drinks in the Breezes bar are poorly made and extremely overpriced. Overpriced is the theme for all your dining options here. For 2 burgers, fries, and 2 soft drinks (because the cocktails were so not worth the extra money) 1580 TBH.

We also dined at Sala Layan we had the steak and seafood. Decent quality but again over priced. Also, service was very poor.

The onsite Thai restaurant was a fine dining experience. Great food and service with the expected large pricetag.

The front desk staff were very accommodating and arrange any excursions with a complimentary boxed breakfast.

I would recommend this resort for a short stay (3 days max) as it is far from everything. We ended up checking out and moving more central to have things to do.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank BillyTaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuki Y, Resort Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear BillyTaha,

Thank you for taking your time to write your stay review.

I am sorry to hear that the value of the food and drink were perceived low, we will discuss further with the Food & Beverage Director to enhance the value. It is always disappointing to read when a client did not enjoy our services to the fullest and leaves dissatisfied, but on the other hand I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback and the encouraging comment on the reception team for us to get better moving forward.

If there is another opportunity to have you back with us in Phuket, I will be more than happy to assist you with arranging your returning stay to regain your confidence in our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back to Anantara Layan in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you and kind regards,
Yuki Yamano, Resort Manager
yyamano@anantara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Excellent hotel for couples, families and a group of friends. Great service and good food. The staff is very friendly and the chef is a great man interested in the hotel guests and where they come from. Relax by the pool or at the beautiful beach. Enjoy the free activities and dine at the amazing Thai food restaurant. Don't forget to see the villas

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Khaled A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuki Y, Resort Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Khaled A,

Greetings from Anantara Layan. Thank you so much for taking the time to share the tips on how to enjoy the resort life and for recommending our resort to those who have yet to know us.
It was our great pleasure to have you with us and have met you personally at the Residence Cocktail Party where i trust you enjoyed the view and some drinks.
Please feel free to contact me directly if when you plan for another holidays in Phuket, we already look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Thank you and kind regards,
Yuki Yamano, Resort Manager
yyamano@anantara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We just returned from a week-long vacation to Layan Anantara and our stay could not have been better! The beach is wonderful, in a small protected bay, and the rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Tehre is a separate adult pool next to the spa, which is great for relaxing, away from the kids. Close to the beach of BangTao and the airport, I would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PhantomTraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuki Y, Resort Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear PhantomTraveler79,

Greetings from the Anantara Layan and thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are delighted to read that your week-long stay with us was at your satisfactory, and thank you so much for your great tips of how to enjoy the romantic getaway at our resort.

It was a pleasure to have you with us. Please feel free to contact me directly if you plan for another relaxing stay in Phuket, we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Yuki Yamano, Resort Manager
yyamano@anantara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Dono where to begin ..from the moment we arrived it's been a amazing experience staying at anantara ..the staff are wonderful..awesome breakfast..beautiful beach..lovely rooms and interiors..yet to try the spa today ..would definitely come back here..and we had a 9 month old ..they were so thoughtful to keep a baby kit with bath n lotion in our room n they also helped us in the kitchen to prepare the baby food ..last day at anantara..wil definitely miss being here ..

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Dr aparna i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuki Y, Resort Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Dr apama i,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we all miss you and your family!
It is very encouraging for us to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services we offer here and our great pleasure to have you all with us.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future, please feel free to contact me directly when you plan for the next trip.

Our warmest regards,
Yuki Yamano, Resort Manager
yyamano@anantara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
13.4 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.4 km away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#4 of 36 in Choeng Thale
835 reviews
16.1 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
10.4 km away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
0.9 km away
Trisara
Trisara
#1 of 36 in Choeng Thale
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Layan Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Layan Phuket Resort

Address: 168, Moo 6, Soi Layan 4, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range: RM 569 - RM 6,882 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Layan Phuket Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a truly unique tropical hideaway, set prominently on the white sands of Layan beach. This quiet bay with crystal clear waters remains a hidden gem away from the developing beaches of Phuket. A wide range of accommodation options suit your every need; step off your private deck onto the warm sands, or take in a stunning sea view from the hillside. Swim in pristine waters and observe the vibrant sea life below the surface, or explore nearby attractions and nature, learning about local island life. Situated on Layan beach, one of Phuket's most picturesque bays, the resort enjoys a prime location away from busy island life, yet is still conveniently connected to a host of attractions. Just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport, on the islands west coast, excursions to the Andaman's famed sights are readily available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Anantara Layan Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bundarika Villas And Suites, Phuket
Bundarika Villas & Suites, Phuket Hotel Layan Beach
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing