We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Second Time Round”
Review of The Walden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Walden Suites
Ranked #5 of 12 Fresnaye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at The Walden Suites in 2015 and were looking forward to our return visit.
However an immediate disappointment was to find out when arriving at the hotel that there was a large condominium construction taking place directly across the street. I do appreciate that construction does take place and is a necessary evil - but there had been no indication at all during the booking process about this fact.
Noise started at 8am and continued through to about 5pm - just as well we spend a fair bit of time away from the place.
The hotel is looking just a tad tired - the faulty sun lounger was still there from two years ago!
The staff were, as always, most friendly and helpful and compensated a little for our overall disappointment.
Well situated and with a lot to offer as a boutique B&B, , I think just a little more attention to detail might help the WS reclaim its previous high standing.

Room Tip: stay away from rooms close to the road whilst building work continues
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fonzpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eberhart B, Owner at The Walden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Unfortunately you'll find this noisy construction sites in all Cape Town areas. Last season it hit us but now its nearly over.
The broken sun lounger is not the same as 2 years ago, ha ha, it's another one and this is now under repair. It needs some time because the parts are comming from MBM/Germany.
(they closed their shop in Cape Town a few years ago)
Hope you'll have a relaxed time in our well decorated Guesthouse next time when you are comming (same as in 2015).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2017

Wonderful B&B... the location was very good and the staff were amazing.. I found the rate of the rooms expensive. The bedrooms and bathrooms are spotlessly clean but definitely not 5 star!!!
Expensive
Rooms lovely but
Would rate as 3,5 or 4 star not 5

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank L9984APlarryc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

All the details that matter: great beds, friendly and efficient staff, delicious breakfast. Room well appointed, high ceilings, full of character. Good linen, choice of pillows. Good shower pressure (no bath). My room had no view but overlooked pool. WiFi so-so. On street free parking. Walk steeply down 5 minutes to Sea Point central (corollary is steeply back up and 10 mins, so easy on the wine). All in all an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A4466REgeorgel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Staff very sweet and helpful, warm and welcoming. Had a lovely time trying to learn a bit of Koto.
First room was spacious and clean but too hot for us with the early morning sun rising on that side. Mountain view wasnt bad but we absolutely loved the last four days when we upgraded to a room with oceanview. Just beautiful and again, spacious and clean. Staff were the sweetest to jelp us out with things like we were allowed to make use of private bathroom because our flight was leaving very late and we'd already checked out of our room. Our only advise would be to install airco in the rooms, also we'd have liked to be informed that builders opposite the hotel would start working again after summers holiday. Other than that we would strongly recommend renting a room here! The hotel is close to busstation, shops, restaurants, the ocean. Still it is located in a (normally) quiet area which is nice.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NJwarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

Mu husband and I only stayed for two nights, but we really enjoyed our stay at the Walden Suites.

The rooms are very well-appointed and the marble bathrooms are fantastic. Although we didn't go for a swim, the pool area looks fantastic. The towels are soft and handsoap/shampoo/moisturiser is provided in refillable pump bottles.

The staff were all very helpful during our stay, providing suggestions for cafe locations.

The breakfasts were delicious and the chef making the omelettes did a brilliant job!

It's within walking distance/short driving distance of a number of cafes, supermarkets, etc.

Although parking is advertised, it wasn't available when we stayed as the accommodation was fully booked. Nevertheless, our car was safe which was the main concern. Laundry can be done for a fee. At the time of our stay (Dec 2016) there was construction directly across the road. This prevented any lazy sleep-ins, but didn't disturb us otherwise (not that we were there during the day).

We'd definitely recommend Walden Suites!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ABee82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fresnaye
0.5 km away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
1,129 reviews
0.2 km away
O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
The Clarendon Fresnaye
The Clarendon Fresnaye
#3 of 12 in Fresnaye
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Grande Kloof Boutique Hotel
0.6 km away
Sundown Manor
Sundown Manor
#1 of 12 in Fresnaye
260 reviews
0.8 km away
Maartens Guesthouse
Maartens Guesthouse
#2 of 12 in Fresnaye
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walden Suites

Address: 12 Bellwood Road, Fresnaye 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Fresnaye
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fresnaye
Price Range: RM392 - RM878 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Walden Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Walden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing