We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Costa Rica Meadery
from US$25.00
More Info
from US$13.00
More Info
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
17
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2020

To start, we showed up without reservations, keep that in mind when reading this review. We got to the Meadery around 1130. As we walked in, we received a warm welcome and asked about a tour/tasting. We were informed by the owner that there wasn't any availability for the day, but if we wanted to tour the gardens ourselves for a bit, they would attempt to make time for a personal tasting session at the restaurant bar. We toured the beautiful gardens, taking in the beautiful views as well as enticing aromas of the numerous plants, trees, and herbs. Upon returning to the Meadery we were told that a tasting session was possible and we walked, with the owner, up the the restaurant.. A beautiful building atop a hill with a fantastic view overlooking San Jose. We couldn't ask for better scenery to take in while we began the tasting. Keep in mind that the restaurant and Meadery are separate entities. The restaurant graciously allowed us to sit at the bar and enjoy the tasting, unscheduled. We started the tasting with 2 delicious beers, both of which were expertly crafted on site and we wish we could have enjoyed an entire bottle of each! Following that were the meads, which we found to be even more delicious and were met with informative conversation regarding the entire process from harvesting the ingredients through the entire brewing process. Upon finishing the tasting we received a brief tour of the orchards; where the ingredients are grown and harvested, tasting a few of the fresh ingredients as we walked and discussed more of the process for making the meads we had just tasted. Again, this was all unscheduled and the owners made room for us during their busy day. We couldn't be happier with our experience and, when we return to Costa Rica, this will be a stop for us once again.

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank ESMcCabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelwlindeman, Owner at Costa Rica Meadery, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2020

It was a pleasure meeting both of you. I'm glad you enjoyed your mead and beer tasting at Costa Rica Meadery! Good luck with your own mead adventures in Alaska. When you return, bring some bottles of your fermentations and we can do an exchange!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2020

Here is a place you can let your mind free not far away from the city. Is either good for a quick visit or spending time tasting alcohol beverages. Really enjoy the service since you get to know the passion from the very own entrepreneurs.

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank andrdbeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020 via mobile

Amazing experience that was the highlight of my time in Costa Rica. Couldn't recommend more coming to see the farm and the meadery!

Thank 805henrym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navigate32041491685, Owner at Costa Rica Meadery, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

It was great to meet you. Glad you had a memorable experience at Costa Rica Meadery. Looking forward to your next visit. -- Micahel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020

There's no words to describe how intense, magic and interesting can be the visit to this place. I have took many pictures but none show how good feels this place.

Date of experience: February 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank solsanchezg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2020

We tasted 6 meads- all different and all great! And each beverage had a story behind it. Alejandra and Michael are passionate about their work and it shows in their products. All ingredients are locally sourced- something that is not common in Costa Rica. This was a fun way to learn about (and taste) mead and fermentation. We left with 24 bottles of different meads and lots of ideas about how to pair them with other foods and beverages. Highly recommended for visitors to Costa Rica and local residents.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank 446thomasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navigate32041491685, Owner at Costa Rica Meadery, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2020

I am glad you enjoyed your mead tasting with us! We had a great time with your group and we hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews