We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$338
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
David's Home(An Thoi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
346
58
16
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
58
16
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsphu quocnight marketspecial thanksbike ridesunique designrain showerrum barwear and tearbreakfast buffetwhite sand beachf bfitness centermain restaurantpaddle boardsalice in wonderlandamazing hotelguest services
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2018

I really don't understand the negative reviews here for JW Marriott Phu Quoc. Our experience was top notch (I am usually a complainer). From Front Office (Special thanks to Ms. Hannah for her excellent service) to general service throughout the resort, everywhere everyone does their best for you. The room we got was wonderful: Ocean front with private garden and direct access to the powdery white sand beach, clear water to swim in. All other reviews have been absolutely right about the amazing architect, interior design and all. I find this very fascinating. Totally fell in love with the great details. Spa was very good. Facilities are great. Breakfast was wonderful. We didn't dare to eat lunch/ dinner due to bad reviews but after we bought the resort voucher (which gives you 15% extra if you buy voucher of ~USD450), we had tried the beach front BBQ bar/ resto named Red Rum and the food was great, the ambience was so lovely, candle light dinner setup under palm trees, 10m from the water, on the white sand. What more could you dream of? Varun, the F&B director surely was very attentive to guests and always there to be sure everything was in order, from morning to late evening. I can't fault anything during our stay there. We highly recommend and would like to hearty thank all the staffs of Marriott Phu Quoc and surely we are coming back again and again.
Tip: If you want to venture some local amazingly fresh, delicious and totally inexpensive seafood, providing you are not a hygiene freak, you could try it just about 2km from the resort. Go out 1.3km the front big entrance at the big round-about on main public road, turn left. From this point its about 700m more. You will find very bustling, filled of local people- restaurants serving alive seafood like squid, prawns, scallops, swimming crabs... all Oh-so good and cheap. The setting might set you back but if you could go over that, the food is truly fresh and they mainly just steam with ginger or BBQ on charcoal so you aren't at risk of being sick. Restaurants to name a few are: Nga Lam, Loc Coc 7. Those 2 places were so packed and they only open for dinner from 5pm to 8pm. Enjoy Marriott, enjoy Phu Quoc :-)

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laperle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

My husband and I stayed at the JW Marriott in Phu Quoc for 7 nights in March. We had a wonderful stay in one of the pool and beach access rooms. This hotel has several pools, a beautiful beach, a couple of different dining options, a large gym, a beautiful spa, and more! The resort is about 30 minutes drive away from the city so we were pleased that they had arranged some activities for guests during the day. Most of them are complimentary and a few of them had an extra fees that were reasonable. We joined the bike ride to the Bee farm as well as the stand-up paddle board yoga. Side note, if you are unable to bike to the Bee farm I would still highly recommend visiting it! The rest of the time we lounged by the pool, swam in the sea, relaxed in our beautiful room, and enjoyed the magnificent sunsets! Our favorite highlight of our time at the JW Phu Quoc was getting massages at the spa! First, the receptionist, Alice, was so welcoming and helpful. Next, our massage therapists Manh and Giang were among the best we have ever had! This says a lot because at home my husband and I get massages frequently. The massage room had the perfect ambiance, the oils they use are high quality, and the foot scrub at the beginning was the perfect extra touch. If you do nothing else visit the spa and pamper yourself!! You will not regret it! The two things I would like to point out to potential guests are that the location offers solitude and decompression but, as mentioned, it is away from everything else. Second, if you are a gold or platinum member this resort offers 20% off your meals however it does not offer complimentary breakfast. The food at the resort is a bit pricey so if you are not prepared for this it can be an unpleasant surprise. Overall, a great visit to the Marriott Phu Quoc. Raza, the manager, and his team do a wonderful job going above and beyond for their guests.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyCollins, General Manager at JW Marriott Phu Quoc Emerald Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Danielle S,

Thank you for sharing your experiences in the resort and especially Manh, Giang, and Raza. We are very proud of the spa team and will recognize them further as a result of your comments. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Ty Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Just spent 7 nights at this hotel and very high expectations given the TA reviews. Some parts of our stay lived up to expectations, others did not.

One of the key attractions for us to stay at the hotel was the activities offered, such as yoga and cycling etc. We were very disappointed that all of the activities we wanted to do were all fully booked, this is despite trying to book them the same day we arrived. If this is one of the draws for your stay, be mindful that most activities only have room for between 6-8 people. Given the hotel has over 200 rooms, the likelihood is is you will not be able to do the activities you want.

The customer service is inconsistent. Most staff were excellent and attentive, however there is a lack of general attention to detail. We noticed rubbish under a sun lounger, which was there for 3 days, food spillage near restaurants that wasn’t cleaned up for our entire stay. One evening we went the bar for a drink and were told to take a seat and menus would be brought. We had to ask for the menu 3 times, once we finally got the menu nobody came to take our order, 40 minutes after arriving at the bar we left without purchasing a drink as the customer service was that bad. Restaurant service was variable, sometimes ok others really poor, waiting for ages or main courses arriving when you hadn’t finished your starter, also incorrect food brought out once. Address these minor issues and it will go a long way to competing with other 5 star resorts.

The hotel itself was themed from start to finish, which was interesting and quirky, however it really didn’t give you any flavour whatsoever of Vietnam. The hotel wouldn’t look out of place on Las Vegas strip.

The food was mediocre for lunch and dinner, expensive by Vietnam standards but good value for a Marriott Resort. Disappointed that there was not more local cuisine on offer. Breakfast was of an excellent standard and variety. Before we arrived for our stay we received an email to say that due to Elite status breakfast would be included at no cost. Whilst checking in we were told breakfast wasn’t included for Elite members, however you could purchase it with 50% discount. That made breakfast really good value, so no complaints, however misleading emails shouldn’t be sent to customers.

The pools at the hotel were great, the beach lovely...due to the constant cleaning by staff. Gym was excellent. Spa superb. Bedroom spacious and well appointed, bathroom clean and spacious.

Overall, would recommend this hotel for a “get away from it all” break but not for a Vietnam experience. Wouldn’t return personally but did enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stalig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyCollins, General Manager at JW Marriott Phu Quoc Emerald Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Stalig,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experiences in the resort. We value your feedback and will look specifically at the concerns which you have raised. I apologize that you were not able to enjoy the activities as you had hoped and I am delighted to tell you we are taking action to increase the number and frequency of our activities which are offered due to strong positive feedback. Finally, if you could share with us the email in which it states that breakfast would be included at no cost, we would be grateful and will follow-up to avoid any confusion or clearly ensure that we are not misleading in any way. We understand that you have many options for great resorts and we appreciate that you chose to stay with us and share your views.

Sincerely,

Ty Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

My boyfriend and I booked our stay here at this property for 5 nights and to my surprise, I wasn't expecting such a low-quality service is being provided from Marriott. We have always been a very loyal customer to Marriott and we have stayed with Marriott for uncountable times. As a loyal customer, we know Marriott hotels always have a very good and high standard customer service. But, not in this particular property.

First of all, the property is very bad maintained considering that the property was just built in 2016. Bricks are falling apart everywhere along the walkways, the shell-like swimming pool and etc.

You will also see scraps everywhere around the "WetMonkey" area, "Zoology" area. Under the staircases and etc.

Comparing to the best Marriott beach hotel I've stayed, employees at Marriott Khao Lak are way more attentive and friendly. Also, I would like to emphasize that employees here are not strict regarding the rules provided by the hotel. Eg: employees don't take any action or try to speak up to other users when the adult's pool is strictly for adults only.

For all the restaurants we have been in this property, it was the most dreadful time of my life. Waiting for a waiter to take an order has never been that long anywhere else in the world. The lack of attentiveness of the service attendance has seriously gone to the next level. Not to mention that they got my order wrong for a few times but I didn't bother to send it back because I knew it's going to take another hour to get it right.

Now to the beach. It's nice to see the cleaning staffs constantly cleaning the beach and that's the best part of the beach. Also, the hotel provides free watersport equipment for everyone. But the down part was the obviously insufficient beach umbrellas all around the beach chair. Comparing to Marriott at Khao Lak, Thailand, this property is far beyond good.

If anyone of you is considering to spend a fortune here, I would suggest you wait until the management is mastered.

Room Tip: High floor, sea view
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 728rachealw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAZA M, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott Phu Quoc Emerald Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Dear 728rachealw

At the onset I would sincerely like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your recent visit. Our management team would like to discuss this matter further with you. May I request you if you may contact me directly at raza.muqri@marriott.com to initiate further correspondence.

Regards,
Raza Muqri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

JW Marriott Phu Quoc Emerald Bay是非常值得推薦的酒店,我們5天的假期有非常美好的回憶,我們會再次造訪。我們這次的房間非常舒適且清早起床便可以看到沙灘。早餐非常豐盛,有越式、日式與法式餐點,可以一網打盡。孩子可以去小朋友的俱樂部,老師都非常熱情有愛心,是真心喜歡與孩童遊玩並準備許多的活動,如T恤著色或是魔術秀,讓小朋友絕不會無聊。我們的孩子每天都吵著要去報到,家長也不用擔心小朋友會看太多電視。
沙灘非常美麗,泳池也靠近沙灘可以享受沙灘美景,這時再加點一杯雞尾酒配上陽光是非常棒的體驗。如果有幸有參與到每週五晚上飯店舉辦的夜市活動,可以享受道地越式小吃。我們假期的最後一日升等至套房,我們印象深刻而且令我們有非常好的回憶。對我們來說,該飯店所有的體驗都是絕佳,惟一的遺憾是時間太短,難怪餐廳就叫做“Tempus Fugit”(意為時光飛逝)。


We stayed in here for 5 days and we have wonderful memories in this vocation. We will return to visit here again in the future.
Our room is comfortable and has beautiful beach view when we wake up in the morning. The breakfast is colorful with Vietnamese style, Japanese style and French style. You can have these flavors in one time.
You can let your children in kids-club, the staff there will full with passion, I think they really like children and enjoy to play with them, on your children and will prepare lots of activities, such as T-shirt painting, Magic show for children. Our children asking to return there every day we stayed. The parents no need to worry they will feel boring or they will watch too much TV.
The beach is beautiful and the pools near with the beach so you can enjoy the beach view in the pool. You may have cocktail with sunlight, it will be the wonderful experience for you.
If you were lucky, you may attend the night market which host by hotel on Friday night, you can enjoy traditional Vietnamese foods.
We stay in the suite last day. This is so impressive for us and we have beautiful memories on it.
Everything for us here is excellent and only regret is time too short to us, no wonder the restaurant is named “Tempus Fugit,” means time flies in English.

Room Tip: Beautiful Beach and Wonderful Experience
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews