We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Relais Parco Fiorito(Piazzano)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Relais La Corte dei Papi(La Dogana)(Great Value!)
US$409
US$396
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$309
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Oasi Neumann(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

I Capricci di Merion(Tuoro sul Trasimeno)
US$180
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Santa Margherita(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villa Marsili(Cortona)
US$134
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel San Luca(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Reviews (826)
Filter reviews
826 results
Traveller rating
742
74
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
742
74
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooking classtuscan countrysidejunior suiteour honeymoonowners and staffbeautiful hotelour room was spaciousthe entire staffminute drivebeautiful groundswine tastingspent nightsbottle of proseccohunting lodgefour dayscypress treesyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 826 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Restored hunting lodge from the 1400s. Medici crest in the decor. Interesting story about the restoration. Interesting garden,pool in idyllic countryside close to hill town Cortona. Generous breakfast comes with the room. Attentive staff.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We spent the first part of our holiday in Tuscany/Umbria to the south of Lake Trasimeno and then moved on to the north of the lake to stay just outside Cortona at this really lovely hotel, right on the border between Tuscany and Umbria.

It is a very old Tuscan villa which, over recent years, has been painstakingly and lovingly restored, modernised and adapted, and turned into a beautiful hotel. It is a family business, and although the family members no longer permanently live on site, they are around most days to keep an eye on things, and to share their pleasure in their creation with friends and repeat guests.

We chose this hotel partly for the opportunity to take walks in the countryside from the door, and partly because of its beautiful location in a sheltered valley, surrounded by fields and trees. It is a very peaceful place as the hotel is reached by a very minor road, off the main road, and by made-up tracks through a long avenue of trees.

The villa has rooms and suites in the main building, but there are additional rooms and suites in the surrounding outbuildings, originally store rooms, stables, barns etc., which have been converted into en-suite bedrooms. We had elected for a Junior Garden Suite, and we were very pleased with our ground floor room which had a small, very sheltered garden, with a lawn and a terraced sitting area with chairs and a table.

We walked into our suite to find a lovely vase of flowers on a side table (the flowers lasted the duration of our six-night stay), a hamper of local fruits and chocolates, sparkling water, and a welcome note from the owners.

The room itself was very generously-sized, with comfortable chairs and a table, as well as a good-sized wardrobe: the furniture was very stylish and of excellent quality. In addition to the mini bar and fridge there was ample provision of bottles of local wine (at an extra charge), glasses, cups and saucers - and a Nespresso machine with plenty of coffee pods. We had no problem obtaining some hot milk, as required, for the coffee.

The en-suite facilities were very good, spacious and immaculate.

Air-conditioning was very efficient, and wifi was good. A further detail I particularly noted was that at least one of the electric wall sockets gave the opportunity to use one's own electric plugs - in our case the square pin plugs used in the UK - in addition to adaptors. Very thoughtful.

The first evening of our stay we attended a wine tasting in the cellar of the hotel. We had a most enjoyable session (chargeable) benefitting from the experience and knowledge of the visiting sommelier, giving us tastes of Brunello di Montalcino, Chianti, and Montepulciano; wines local to the region.

The meals at the Villa were delicious. Most of the dishes were created with locally sourced produce, and there was plenty in the way of locally grown vegetables and fruit, home baked breads, as well as salads, meats and cheeses. Breakfasts were a feast - with cakes and pastries as well as selections of meats and cheeses, fresh fruits, juices, and yoghurts.

The standard of service was excellent. The staff were friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. They were quick to get to know us, and where we liked to sit, and they looked after us very well.

Although in a valley, which was very peaceful and sheltered, one side of the Villa had a very open aspect, downhilll and towards the west, which gave us fabulous sunsets, and views across to Cortona, just a few miles away.

The Villa Piazzano is only a few minutes by car to Cortona; it is not too far to drive east to Gubbio, and further north to Michelangelo's birthplace; to the west there is Florence and Siena, so it is perfectly located for a peaceful rural holiday combined with sight-seeing of some of the greatest Tuscan and Umbrian towns and cultural treasures.

It was one of the very nicest places we have stayed in in Italy - over many years - and we look forward to returning for a second visit.

Room Tip: Our Junior Garden Suite was Fiore d'Angelo
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Makushla-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

This lovely Inn outside of Cortona was our favorite during our recent trip to Italy. My husband and I were treated so warmly. The room was lovely and the entire staff was terrific. I had been in touch with the Inn before our arrival, and they were always so helpful. Lorella was terrific. She escorted us to our beautiful room where we found a welcome basket filled with fresh fruit and special treats. After a long drive the evening we arrived, the staff at the Inn really made us feel at home. The property was also beautiful and well maintained. Their restaurant was closed the evening we arrived, but the kitchen provided us with a beautiful assortment of cheeses and meats. Stefano was our waiter that first evening and he was terrific, but all of the wait staff was wonderful during our stay. We were there only for three days, but if we return to Tuscany again, this is the place for us. I am recommending this place to all our friends and family. Very special place. We loved it!

Room Tip: Lovely room. Quiet and comfortable.
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We had a great experience. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. The amenities were luxurious. We were recommended to the Villa by the DelCastillo family. We will certainly go back again. Perhaps next time we will stay during the summer in order to enjoy the pool.
Thank you everyone.
The Dennis Famiky.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jicker2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We decided to stay in a different area of Tuscany and a sure glad we did. The Villa di Piazzano was fantastic. The location near Cortona is great and the service at the hotel was benissimo! The entire staff treated us so well, especially Lorella and Alice. Lorella scheduled a cooking class in Cortona for us with Chef Matteo at Riatorante Ambrosia that was phenomenal. The staff at the restaurant were also outstanding. They really take care of their customers and want to make each meal a great experience.
The rooms were beautifully done and decorated. We had a garden suite that was perfect.
This is the perfect place to base you trip from or just relax and use their beautiful pool and facilities.
While there make sure you have some time to throw a frisbee for Jack (their mascot). He is a great dog that will play all day with you if you let him.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews