We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel”
Review of Hotel Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Buena Vista
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pilas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We ended up at the hotel because of Hurricane Nate. They took such good care of us. The hotel is a beautiful place. The rooms are nice and we'll appointed. The hotel overlooks the mountains. If I were to go back, I would stay here again. Andres was incredible along with the rest of the staff. There are a few restaurants within walking distance given the lack of streetlights I would suggest renting a car at this location rather than walking.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank AriaLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenaVistaAlajuela, Owner at Hotel Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are happy that you stayed with us and reviewed our hotel. Will tell Andres you spoke well of him. There are street lights here, and there has never been a robbery of of a guest. That being said, if a guest doesn't have a car and wants to go to a diffeent restaurant, would recommend a cab. Remember enjoyed talking with you, and hope that you will visit Costa Rica and Hotel Buena Vista again.

Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

We were in Villa #1. Large, open villa with a balcony looking out over the mountain. We walked on the Coffee Trail one morning right out back of the villa. We had a delicious breakfast that was included with the room cost for the 4 of us! We also received a welcome cocktail. There was no kitchen in the villa but we had a small refrigerator and that's all we needed. The hotel provided free airport transportation too. We could not have been happier with this choice. We flew back to the USA the next day but wanted to stay longer.

Room Tip: We had Villa #1 which overlooked the roof of a few other villas, but we had no one on any side of us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenaVistaAlajuela, Propietario at Hotel Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the trouble to review our hotel. Am pleased that you liked the services and the facilities the hotel offers. The free shuttle to and from thel hotel is a big advantage for guests. In addition to a convenient location near the air port, the hotel is also well positioned for trips to Guanacaste and the Osa Peninsula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We stopped here after a long flight from the UK and again 2 weeks later at the end of our incredible holiday in Costa Rica. This hotel has lovely colonial styling and is very quiet up in the hills above the coffee plantations. The beds are extremely comfortable and cosy so we all slept beautifully. The rooms are very clean and tastefully furnished. The staff are very accommodating and made us special requests for breakfast. There was a good choice of food also on the hotel dinner menu. There was a room with a computer for guests to check in and print off boarding passes. We enjoyed the small pool whilst we waited to be collected for our flight and with check out not until 12 we were able to enjoy a leisurely morning. This is a wonderful choice of hotel for a quiet and comfortable stay provided you are able to travel a little out of town.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Razia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenaVistaAlajuela, Propietario at Hotel Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Am happy that you visited our hotel. We enjoy having guests from the U.K, There are more of you now with the start of direct flights from London.

After a long flight the hotel is only minutes away from the airport for a tired traveler. The hotel provides free pre arranged transport to the hotel for guests until 11 p.m. We also offer a free shuttle back from 5 a.m. The hotel is away from the city. but is only 9 km. from the airport on top of a mountain. It enjoy views of three volcanoes, San José, city of Alajuela, and the central valley with thousands of lights at night. Thank you for writing, and we hope to see you again.

Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

What a wonderful place to spend our last night in Costa Rica!! Everything at the hotel was perfect. From the lovely villa, beautiful gardens, delicious food, breathtaking views, pleasant staff!! I would recommend this gem to anyone traveling in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenaVistaAlajuela, Owner at Hotel Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for telling us and others about your stay. Am happy that you enjoyed your last night in our hotel. We hope that if you come again, the hotel will be even better.

Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

This lovely hotel was very relaxing with beautiful gardens surrounding it and delicious food in the restaurant. The cheerful workers made me feel better about leaving Costa Rica. The manager was especially helpful and attentive and nothing was too much trouble for him. The pool( although small) is lovely with sun loungers and chairs scattered around. Overall, the hotel is a lovely restful hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank carpeholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenaVistaAlajuela, Owner at Hotel Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you for your nice commentary about our hotel and the manager. The wrokers like the manager. they like having guests, and put up with the owner so they are naturally friendly. You mentioned many things about the hotel, but two additional ones are the climate and the views. The hotel is at an altitude of about four thousand feet and enjoys a spring like climate, and it has marvelous views of the central valley, Alajuela, San José, the airport and three volcanoes. We hope to see you again.

Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilas
1.4 km away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
880 reviews
8.8 km away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
679 reviews
6.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
131 reviews
1.1 km away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 27 in Alajuela
367 reviews
6.2 km away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista

Address: | 9 km north from Juan Santa María International Airport, road to National Park Póas Volcano, Pilas, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela > Pilas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pilas
Price Range: RM524 - RM1,020 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comment ofter heard in this hotel is, "We feel like we are at home." This is exactly the impression the management and staff of the Buena Vista strive to create. We are high on the summit of a mountain with a climate of eternal spring yet only fifteen minutes drive from the International Airport below. We will pick you up there and show you the wonders of this exotic country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing