We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$100
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
US$117
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
1915 Hotel(Alajuela)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$238
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Monte Campana(Birri)(Great Value!)
US$52
US$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (756)
Filter reviews
756 results
Traveller rating
412
248
68
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
412
248
68
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan josecentral valleycosta ricapoas volcanocoffee plantscoffee trailsmall poolbalcony roomlast nightla paz waterfall gardenscity lightsbeautiful hotelfirst stopthe hotel offerscomplimentary breakfastclose to the airportgrounds are beautiful
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 756 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We were in Villa #1. Large, open villa with a balcony looking out over the mountain. We walked on the Coffee Trail one morning right out back of the villa. We had a delicious breakfast that was included with the room cost for the 4 of us! We also received a welcome cocktail. There was no kitchen in the villa but we had a small refrigerator and that's all we needed. The hotel provided free airport transportation too. We could not have been happier with this choice. We flew back to the USA the next day but wanted to stay longer.

Room Tip: We had Villa #1 which overlooked the roof of a few other villas, but we had no one on any side of us. It was fully detached.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenaVistaAlajuela, Propietario at Hotel Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for taking the trouble to review our hotel. Am pleased that you liked the services and the facilities the hotel offers. The free shuttle to and from thel hotel is a big advantage for guests. In addition to a convenient location near the air port, the hotel is also well positioned for trips to Guanacaste and the Osa Peninsula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We stopped here after a long flight from the UK and again 2 weeks later at the end of our incredible holiday in Costa Rica. This hotel has lovely colonial styling and is very quiet up in the hills above the coffee plantations. The beds are extremely comfortable and cosy so we all slept beautifully. The rooms are very clean and tastefully furnished. The staff are very accommodating and made us special requests for breakfast. There was a good choice of food also on the hotel dinner menu. There was a room with a computer for guests to check in and print off boarding passes. We enjoyed the small pool whilst we waited to be collected for our flight and with check out not until 12 we were able to enjoy a leisurely morning. This is a wonderful choice of hotel for a quiet and comfortable stay provided you are able to travel a little out of town.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Razia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenaVistaAlajuela, Propietario at Hotel Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Am happy that you visited our hotel. We enjoy having guests from the U.K, There are more of you now with the start of direct flights from London.

After a long flight the hotel is only minutes away from the airport for a tired traveler. The hotel provides free pre arranged transport to the hotel for guests until 11 p.m. We also offer a free shuttle back from 5 a.m. The hotel is away from the city. but is only 9 km. from the airport on top of a mountain. It enjoy views of three volcanoes, San José, city of Alajuela, and the central valley with thousands of lights at night. Thank you for writing, and we hope to see you again.

Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

What a wonderful place to spend our last night in Costa Rica!! Everything at the hotel was perfect. From the lovely villa, beautiful gardens, delicious food, breathtaking views, pleasant staff!! I would recommend this gem to anyone traveling in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenaVistaAlajuela, Owner at Hotel Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for telling us and others about your stay. Am happy that you enjoyed your last night in our hotel. We hope that if you come again, the hotel will be even better.

Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

This lovely hotel was very relaxing with beautiful gardens surrounding it and delicious food in the restaurant. The cheerful workers made me feel better about leaving Costa Rica. The manager was especially helpful and attentive and nothing was too much trouble for him. The pool( although small) is lovely with sun loungers and chairs scattered around. Overall, the hotel is a lovely restful hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank carpeholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenaVistaAlajuela, Owner at Hotel Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you for your nice commentary about our hotel and the manager. The wrokers like the manager. they like having guests, and put up with the owner so they are naturally friendly. You mentioned many things about the hotel, but two additional ones are the climate and the views. The hotel is at an altitude of about four thousand feet and enjoys a spring like climate, and it has marvelous views of the central valley, Alajuela, San José, the airport and three volcanoes. We hope to see you again.

Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

A great place to start and end our trip. Great staff, clean rooms, comfortable beds, exceptional food, and beautiful flowers, fauna, and views of the San Jose skyline. Looking forward to our return next year.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinggma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenaVistaAlajuela, Owner at Hotel Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for your excellent commentarly. We appreciate your taking time to write. We especially enjoy having repeat guests such as yourselves stay with us.

Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews