We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,033)
Filter reviews
1,033 results
Traveller rating
412
317
191
81
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
412
317
191
81
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river new forest henry adams wing the pub car park lovely location main building full english steak master builder eggs benedict evening meal classic room short break luxury room bar area motor museum
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 1,033 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2017

We have just come back from a 3 night stay at the Master Builders. This was our second stay at the hotel because we love the tucked-away location, and the beautiful views right on the doorstep. The ambience of the hotel is really unique with a beautiful lounge area and a quirky little pub/bar attached. The staff are always really helpful and friendly and the food at the restaurant is very pleasant.

We decided to upgrade to a luxury room on a Winter Warmer deal (having stayed in the newer Henry Adams suite last time) but other than a lovely view and an atmospheric decor we didn't find this to be very good value for money. We stayed in the Hussar room which was incredibly dark even with all the lights on (we had to go to reception and ask for more lights to be put in our room) and had to carry the floor lamp around the room to see better which is pretty ridiculous in hindsight! The room is also directly above the bar, and even though there were no functions on during our stay, the ambient music that is played from 7am still sends the base through the floor which woke us each morning. The bathroom was incredibly small, and the shower very, very noisy. The floorboards in the room about were really noisy too so be prepare for that to keep you awake too. Definitely not a luxury room in our opinion, despite the description. If we stay again, then we will stick with the less expensive rooms - we would rather have a comfortable stay than a beautiful view.

The restaurant in the hotel is good - we had a nice meal on the first night, but I wouldn't say it was as good as on our first stay 2 years ago. We also tried the food in the Yachtsman's bar which was pleasant albeit from a very limited menu. However there is something really lovely about not having to venture out in the dark, staying in the warm hotel and then simply retiring to the lounge for a sit by the fire. We did have a meal out on one of the evenings which was by far the best meal that we had during our stay and this was at Monty's in nearby Beaulieu which I'd definitely recommend.

Overall, this is a beautiful, quirky hotel and we had a nice stay but we didn't feel that we got very good value for money in the more expensive rooms which made it a bit frustrating and disappointing. We might try a different hotel next time, or if we do stay here, we'll stay in the Henry Adams wing.

Room Tip: Choose from the rooms in the Henry Adams wing - carpark view only but more comfortable and spacious
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara B, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Tessa

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to read your findings from one of our luxury rooms. Since being in contact with you via email we have been up to all the rooms in the main house and have completed a snag / refurbishment list which we have started work on already, and will be completed in the New Year.

I do hope that you might consider giving us another try in the future.

Kara Birrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Loved this place, plenty of character, stylish comfy room with some great touches.

Had a nice meal in the bar and some drinks all at at fair price,

Breakfast was so good, all staff friendly, will be looking to book again..

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara B, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Adam

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I do hope that we might have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kara Birrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

We had planned to visit this area for a while but decided to take a drive out one summers evening. The hotel is very tucked away it took some finding but we found it and were pleasantly surprised. The views are stunning it is such a peaceful place steeped in history. We stopped by for a drink and snack and soaked up the atmosphere. A must visit if you are in or around beaulieu

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara B, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Vicky

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on your recent visit.

I'm really pleased that you managed to find us and enjoyed your drink in our beautiful surroundings.

I do hope that we might have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kara Birrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Recently had a last minute stay at The Master Builders. Slightly hidden away from the usual tourist hot spots in a quieter part of the New Forest but still the perfect location for sight seeing and situated in the beautiful surroundings of Bucklers Hard on the Beaulieu Estate.

Our room was in the new part of the hotel and was more than we could have wished for. Beautifully decorated, stylish and comfortable room with a lovely rain shower in the en suite and a selection of complimentary teas and coffees and an espresso machine, TV and Bose wireless speakers! We only stayed one night but wish we could have stayed longer.

We did have time to have dinner in the restaurant which was fantastic quality with great local seafood and game on offer.

Also a great selection for breakfast and with beautiful views over the Beaulieu River its the perfect start to the morning.

Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara B, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear Alex and Katie

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, I do hope that we might have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Kara Birrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed in the new rooms, lovely warm rooms, great shower, brill coffee and tea in the room. Breakfast was perfect everything you could want great muffins washed down with a glass of Bubbly. With a lovely view. A must to visit.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ugbug10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara B, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I do hope that we might have the chance to welcome you back for another cheeky weekend away in the future.

Kara Birrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews