We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great little escape”
other travellers have booked this property
Saleh's Safari Camp, in the heart of Wadi Rum, at the foot of Jebel Khazali, wadirumtous start here!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Saleh's Safari Camp, in the heart of Wadi Rum, at the foot of Jebel Khazali, wadirumtous start here!
in the heart of the Wadi Rum protected area family meals, outdoors, round the camp-fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
121 reviews
Saleh's Safari Camp, in the heart of Wadi Rum, at the foot of Jebel Khazali, wadirumtous start here!
in the heart of the Wadi Rum protected area
family meals, outdoors, round the camp-fire
trekking and camel-riding are easy options from the camp
the setting is as natural and tranquil and protected as you can imagine
the bedouin symbol of hospitality is the coffee pot
We have just (late 2013) installed new showers and wash basins, at the desert camp
Wadi Rum is famous for its spectacular rock bridges
there's 4x4 transport from the camp in Rum village to the camp in the heart of the desert
Lawrence's spring where he washed and rested after the capture of Aqaba
And we're keen to introduce new ideas, when they can blend in without doing damage!!
Saleh Musa, his wife and family run the bedouin tent like a special guest house, plus they run tours
to the south of Rum, on the Saudi border is Jordan's highest mountain
preparing for a day's safari -- safe adventure for all ages
we have developed a unique 'behind the veil' tour for women only, to learn bedouin skills
a branch of the Hijaz railway runs close to Wadi Rum, cutting through virgin desert
climb up then roll down the blood orange sand-dunes of Rum
ancient inscriptions in many caves and canyons, believed to date from the Nabateans who build Petra
imagine waking up to this view
or settling down to sleep after the perfect, peaceful sunset
and, most important!!, two new, European-style loo/WC/toilet/lavatory, in a nearby stone building
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Wadi Rum Village, Wadi Rum, Al Aqabah Governorate

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 121 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
h y
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great little escape”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Saleh and his brother Atik helped us make the most of our short time in Wadi Rum. In just one day we were climbing through canyons, visiting the famous Lawrence Spring, climbing sand dunes and sand stone bridges, sand boarding, watching the sunset, laughing telling stories around the campfire and playing with some camels. The food they prepared was really tasty and the camp was comfortable and picturesque. Of course Saleh and his family were perfectly welcoming and made our visit a unique and memorable experience beyond just the majestic scenery. We have already made recommendations to our friends and can't wait to visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thetruthb...
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“3 hour jeep safari and Bedouin lunch with a short camel ride for the kids”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Saleh is well know in the village and has one of the better houses in the Rum Village, and speaks reasonable English. Everyone seems to know him, and it's just a case of trusting the locals and they will take you to his house (at the front edge of the village) if you aren't sure! Yes, you park inside his house compound in the shade. He has help with his emails from a Dutch friend, and the messages aren't always answered most accurately, but GO WITH IT, he's good and great value for a family.
We had an excellent 3 hour jeep tour, always a step ahead of the crowds, and enough time to see all the main sites, climb onto the rock bridges, grab a sandboard, and walk through a short canyon trail. We had a choice of lunch (hot or cold, we just said what food we liked) that his wife prepared and we ate with some Saudi friends of his who had just turned up for an impromptu visit. All in all an excellent few hours for JOD 90 all in for the four of us.
We wish we had had the time to stay overnight in a camp, so can't comment on that part of the full experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan60859
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Touring Wadi Rum with Saleh's team has a perfect personal touch!”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had hoped to stay at Saleh's camp overnite but illness forced us to limit our Wadi Rum visit to a day trip. We were not disappointed!! On the contrary. Saleh, Alia, his wife, and his nephew, Musa, welcomed us warmly with tea and conversation at their family home even though we had had to cancel the overnite at very short notice. We loved Musa's sense of humor and the leisurely pace that he realized we preferred. We saw amazing vistas, walked through a spectacular canyon, climbed a red sand dune and lingered over a perfect picnic lunch that Alia had packed with our new diet restrictions in mind. Musa built a fire on a ledge overlooking the desert,made tea and offered to warm the flatbread for our sandwiches. We were in Wadi Rum heaven thanks to this delightful family. When we can return to Wadi Rum, Saleh will be the one we call! If you have not checked out his website--do so. The very special care and honesty you see there is the way he and his team really are.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsoin
Vancouver
2 reviews
“Pure Martian experience!!!”
Reviewed 26 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had a wonderful time with Saleh and family. He and his brother took us to all the nooks and corners of Wadi Rum. Zarp cooked by Aliya, Saleh's wife, was the highlight of our stay!! If you are looking forward to experiencing authentic Bedouin Wadi Rum, Saleh is your man.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan D
2 reviews
“Most Incredible Bedouin Experience in Wadi Rum”
Reviewed 7 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Without a doubt, one of the best experiences I have ever had. First, the day tour was just pure awesomeness. But more importantly, Saleh and his family welcomed us into their camp and made our experience extremely personal. My mother and I spent a lot of time with his family, continuously learning about Bedouin life and experiencing it with Saleh. His wife, Alia, made us the best meal I had in Jordan - makluba, a traditional Jordanian dish. We sat around the fire with Saleh, Alia, his mother and his son, just chatting and experiencing how a family in Rum lives. You can only get an experience like this in very few places in the world. As Saleh said, many camps in Wadi Rum do not give you the real experience. Saleh's camp certainly does.
For adventurous activities, during the day, Saleh took us on a very personal jeep tour of Wadi Rum for about 6 hours, showing us all the cool sites and giving us time to take a small hike, climb up rocks, and SANDBOARD DOWN A SAND MOUNTAIN. We had lunch right in the middle of the desert and Saleh even taught me how to drive stick for the first time. We also road camels from Rum village into the desert.
For meals, we had only the best traditional food for dinner and breakfast. Saleh and Alia are incredible cooks.
As Saleh said, we are now part of his family and I would recommend his camp to anyone looking for the experience of a lifetime.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$38
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing