We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$179
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/07/21
Hotels.com
US$179
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/07/21
Agoda.com
US$226
US$170
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/07/21
Booking.comUS$189
PricelineUS$211
ZenHotels.comUS$226
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
164
47
7
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
164
47
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews feta cheese swimming pool hiking trails sundowner drive self catering farm animals relaxed days breakfast and dinner spent nights monica monika farmhouse bungalow homecooked stoep kudus oasis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2020

We can highly recommend this very beautiful place.Monica and Johann are very professional and inviting and made us feel at home from the beginning.The rooms are cozy and private, with every detail beautifully organised. .The food was homecooked and fantastic!!. We strongly recommend this lodge and would definitely come here again.Thank you so much, Hanlie and Erwin with kids
Ps. Homemade Feta cheese was finished in 1 week :-)

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hanlie2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeLe1975, Owner at Etusis Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2020

Dear Hanlie and Erwin,

thanks so much for your big appreciation! It means a lot to us! (And yes, Monica’s homemade feta is really great ;-))

We would love to welcome you again!

Kindest regards

Per

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2019

On our drive from Karibib to Etusis we did not know what to expect, but did we get the surprise of our life. Stunningly beautiful lodge in the middle of the desert with fantastic chalets and everything you can think of. Great and well maintained swimming pool, fantastic home cooked meals served on the great stoep. Johan and Monica are the most amazing hosts and will go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. Johan is very knowledgeable about the animal and birdlife and could direct us the the best places to look for the specials. The best was the great hiking trails around the marble koppie and to the waterfall. We were very disappointed that we could spent only two days and will go back anytime to spent more time at this wonderful place.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeLe1975, Owner at Etusis Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2019

Wow!!! What a fantastic and so friendly review! We are so glad you enjoyed it! We will be more than happy to welcome you back!

Kindest regards and a great year 2020!

Per

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2019 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Etusis in a Bungalow.
The lodge is easily reachable from Karibib and well signed so you find your way.
Monica and Johann are running the lodge very professional. The team is perfectly organised in all matters.
The breakfast and dinner and also the high tea are fabulous. Silvanus and the cooking team are more than talented and food is delicious and creative in every way. Milk products are locally produced and more than delicious.
The rooms are very nice and private, spotless clean and in a very good condition. Housekeeping is doing a great job too!
There is nothing that is old or not well maintained.
The pool area is relaxing and very beautiful to hang around. Pool towels are provided in the rooms.
One evening we did a sundowner drive with Johann and we had the chance to see a lot of the area and the huge property. Johann has so much knowledge and such a passion about nature and the farm. It is simply great to chat with him and I learnt a lot on the drive.
The other morning we made a horse trip (as non riders) to the waterfall. This was highly professional and we never felt uncomfortable or unsafe. The horses, Titus und the Trainee helped to make the ride unforgettable and magically.
You can hike on very well maintained hiking trails around the lodge. Magnificent!
You feel welcome everywhere at the farm and if you love animals you will highly enjoy the rock dassies, kudus, zebras, mongooses,... passing the lodge and water hole.
The farm animals (horses, cattle, sheep) are in a perfect shape. Kiera which is one of the loveliest dogs I ever met and the cats help to feel never lonely when you miss your furfriends at home.
We can highly recommend this very well run lodge.
Thanks so much for the very nice stay. We will be back some day.
Angelika & Reinhold

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank heikob397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeLe1975, Owner at Etusis Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2019

Dear Angelika and Reinhold,

What a wonderful review as an early Christmas gift. We will do our best to keep our standards and would love to welcome you back one day!

Have wonderful holidays!


Per

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2019

Spent 2 nights in the self catering Farmhouse with family (4 adults 2 children.
Very relaxing and all amenities were available. Good walks on both days and some wildlife spotted locally. Monica and Johan are running the lodge and they spent much time chatting and passing on local information.
Although we looked after ourselves with braais and potjies, we were able to use the lodge for drinks and coffee and cakes.
We did stay there last year and enjoyed the full DBB experience also.

Room tip: Farmhouse can sleep about 7 or 8, so good for larger families.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KC S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeLe1975, Inhaber at Etusis Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2019

Thank you very much. We are glad you enjoyed the feeling “of the old farmer” at the farmhouse!

Kindest regards

Per

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2019 via mobile

We actually just booked this lodge to have a night's rest between the long drive from Otavi to Swakopmund. But when we arrived we were really astonished by the beauty of this lodge and the landscape where it is situated. The room we spent the night in was very comfortable, clean and tidy and had a wifi connection in front of the room (almost all other lodges only had wifi within the reception area). The only thing that was a bit negative, was the fact that water tasted a bit different and it takes some time to get used to it. Other than that there are a few activities like horse riding or hiking which are possible. The owners are very friendly and the food was outstanding. The pool is also very nice, with the possibility to play table tennis as well. Altogether we were positively surprised by this lodge and a bit sad we couldn't stay any longer. I strongly recommend this lodge and would definetly come here again.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Philly92x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeLe1975, Inhaber at Etusis Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2019

Thank you so much for your recommendation! We are happy that we could be a positive surprise for you!

Regarding your remark towards the water: our water is coming from a subterranean fountain within the marble mountains. Therefore, it has a high concentration of minerals. Some of our guests love it, others take some time to get acquainted.

It is a wonderful compliment that you consider us for your next trip!

Kindest regards

Per

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews