We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Blue Marlin Hotel(Scottburgh)
US$117
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa(Pennington)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Island Hotel(Isipingo)
US$65
US$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Splendid Inn Pinetown(Pinetown)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$48
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$33
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$86
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
13
18
17
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
18
17
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscutty sarkfriendly staffsouth coastgrand old ladybreakfast and dinnerfishdelicious foodkwazulu natalscottburghseabuffetchildscubatea
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2018

I wish I had googled it before going. We checked in Friday the 09 March and out the 12 MARCH. The staff is so rude and not well trained. They would sneak in on us. We were 1 person over, but then decided since I used to school there, I would just find alternative accommodation, we were harassed up until when we left. This lady wanted to charge us over booking fee of R500 for the one person per night, we settled it the first night and made alternative arrangements for the remainder of the stay, she was so insulting and rude saying if we did not pay the balance she would report us, why did she not threaten to report us initially if she was ethical? I think book if you are over 60 and older, They are not too friendly and I have been to a lot of resorts and they are not this bad. We were miserable for the rest of the weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Dimpho K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivianne S, Manager at Premier Resort Cutty Sark, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Sir. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Please could you send me your contact details so I can address the different issues you had with our hotel. I look forward to your response. Yours sincerely Vivianne Sneddon, Resident Manager, Premier Resort Cutty Sark Tel: 039-9761230

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

This hotel is in an extremely old and poor condition. The rooms are not cleaned. The carpets smell and are visibly stained. there are no aircons for the summer days and you cant open the windows due to monkeys. The staff are friendly but clueless. The first night we arrived, we were 1 of probably 3 sets of guests. They gave us a twin bed and when we asked to change to a double bed they asked us to pay an additional R300. the 2nd night we had a power failure,reception gave us candles but couldn't provide any matches to light the candles so it was pointless. the sea view from the rooms and awesome. you rather stay at the other hotel few meters down the road.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shamon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivianne S, Manager at Premier Resort Cutty Sark, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Shamon We apologise for the inconvenience and your experience at our hotel. We will certainly take the constructive criticism you have given us. The hotel will be going through an upgrade early next year and we certainly trust you will return to us then

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at this hotel in the past year and the worst stay. My room (no.7) was small and the bathroom area almost non existent. I will request one of the rooms on the north side next time.

The dinner was a total let down! 2 slices of pork roast, some peas and rice for R175.00!!! it is daylight robbery. The buffet is advertised as gourmet.... it hardly looked appertising, hardly a vast selection despite having fish and old lamb chops on display with day old gem squash.

The Premier Group has bought the hotel recently so I hope they improve the rooms and meal offerings.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Munchie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivianne S, Manager at Premier Resort Cutty Sark, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to inform us of your stay. The Premier group will certainly endeavour to make your stay a pleasant one on your return. We look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

I would to say thank you to the staff to make us fill at home.it was good experience.the staff was friendly. The room was clean the food was amazing, the granudilla cheese cake was outstanding. The bar man was friendly,even the F&b manager was friendly. We were there from on 6 October 9.thanx guys keep it up the good work.all from Obert Nkomo

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank obert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivianne S, Manager at Premier Resort Cutty Sark, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you Mr Nkomo for your valuable critic. We are so happy you had a good stay with us and we are looking forward to hosting you again in the new future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We were lucky to stay at the Cutty Sark while we were diving next door with ScubaXcursion. We got a ocean view ground floor room which meant we could have tea outside while looking over the water. It was nice to have a private back door to enter from after a nice swim at the beach (which is safe and free of rocks). The entire staff were friendly and accommodating. The place was clean. We had a great stay and were well rested. Thanks

Room Tip: ground floor
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivianne S, Manager at Premier Resort Cutty Sark, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Resort Cutty Sark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews