We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
227
61
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
61
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno hot waterthe rivertatai waterfalllocal communityfood is excellentbug sprayresident naturalistpacked lunchphnom penhfree kayaksrooms are basicnight walkan adventurea short boat ridehighly recommend this placemake you feel at homeabsolutely loved our stay
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We stayed here with our 11 year old children and we absolutely loved it. The hospitality was wonderful and we felt so welcome. It was one of our favourite places to stay during 2 months in SE Asia. We stayed 3 nights and could have stayed longer. This area of Cambodia is gorgeous, and the lodge is equally delightful and very well run.
To really enjoy it you need to get out see the jungle and the river. We kayaked down the river and around Mangroves, walked, and swam by the waterfall. The guides, Perom and Gee were fantastic. Our children also adored, Nico, the pet dog who came on a walk with us. The lodge also offers massages etc but we ran out of time to enjoy these.
The food was excellent, plentiful and varied. The menus are set but there was a variety of dishes and all were delicious.
Our room was very comfortable and although there is no AC (it is an eco lodge, so fair enough) we slept well as the fans were effective. This isn't a air-conditioned box so be prepared for visiting lizards etc but nothing troubling and all the beds have mosquito nets.
This is a unique place - don't expect a "one size fits all" resort, but if you want somewhere special, in an amazing location, with great hospitality, it is perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trees73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We arrived in a rainstorm complete with thunder and lightening. The staff somehow managed to transport us and our luggage to the lodge and keep us dry. We settled into our large comfortable cabin complete with sitting area and verandah with chairs and hammock then back along the walkways for tea,fruit and cake. We spent 3 nights here and one day walked to the waterfall with Pirom and Nico and swam and climbed and sat under the smaller cascades. We were picked up by boat in time for lunch at Rainbow Lodge. The afternoon was spent in a double kayak from RL. Next day was amazing spent with Gee the naturalist exploring the mangrove
Forest by kayak and walks. Gee seems to know everything from the root systems to identifying the insects ,birds, butterflies and plants / fascinating. The food was superb. Elliott impressive with the personal attention he gives. We were also lucky to be staying at the same time as Janet the founder so heard the narrative of the struggles to make this all happen. Finally there is all the work in the local community supported and done by Rainbow Lodge

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

We booked four nights here and it was great after we arrived. The minibus on the way was harrowing as they all are in Cambodia. And the river boat to the lodge was loud! Bring earplugs. But it was really cool. They have bouncy bamboo platforms to walk above the vegetation that lead to a large reception area that also serves as dining and lobby space. More walkways lead off to bungalows with comfy beds, couches and mosquito netting for nights. There are fans and showers in each and lots of windows. We had a couple of laughing thrushes stop by each afternoon on the branches near our bungalow and we saw great hornbills in the fruiting tree above the reception area.

We took a walk with Gee, the naturalist, who showed us all sorts of interesting flowers and bugs, butterflies and birds. Our favorite were the Chestnut headed bee-eaters. And we saw some water buffalo up really close--we were in their pasture.

We went to the waterfalls and kayaked the mangroves. The food was delicious and they accommodated my diet, even making me a special dessert my last night so I could enjoy dessert too. Thanks so much , Elliott!!

We all enjoyed our time here. You can be active or laid back and they are as eco-friendly as possible and Elliott tries his hardest to make everyone's stay amazing. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Each bungalow has a couch for sitting and an inside bathroom and a little balcony with a hammock.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank oregonanteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

Rainbow lodge was definitely the highlight of our two week trip.
The setting at rainbow lodge is beautiful - you're surrounded by trees and the buzzing of insects. You feel and are completely surrounded by nature.
The lodges are great - simple but comfortable, perfectly decorated, clean and stylish. We had the family suite which had a double and then twin beds segregated from each other, a lounge sofa and terrace with chairs and a hammock so plenty of space to relax.
There are lots of walking activities however with a young child we couldn't do these - which we did appreciate before booking. We spent lots of time just sitting on the terrace or wandering the grounds enjoying the environment around us instead; birds, butterflies, fire flies and geckos. Our daughter loves this kind of outdoors so it was great for us but probably not for all younger children.
Having said that Elliot and his team were very accommodating and we went on two lovely boat trips.
The food was amazing with a tasty selection of dishes provided at each meal and the staff were all extremely friendly and welcoming.
The work being done at the lodge to preserve and support the local environment is also brilliant.
Thanks to everyone at rainbow lodge who make this a beautiful place and made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went on a trip through Cambodia this January. Our stay at Rainbow Lodge was the highlight of a perfect holiday.

The location is breathtaking, the staff is friendly and serviceminded, the food is lovely, the activities are exciting, and the general atmosphere is relaxed and "cozy"

Also; the masseuse, Fern is absolutely amazing. It was the best massage I have ever had!

Go there - It's fantastic!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ditte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews