We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”

The Merchant Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Colyton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Traditional tea rooms serving a selection of homemade breakfasts, morning coffee, lunches and afternoon tea and homemade cakes. Served in pleasant surroundings using vintage crockery and table linen. Lovely garden. Dogs welcome.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a very friendly tea shop. The food is excellent, most of the veg are grown by the manageress on her allotment. Tea and coffee are served in lovely bone china cups and saucers. I particularly recommend the almond cake.

Thank DaisysGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseaT2015, Owner at The Merchant Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much DaisysGran.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

We were on a bicycle ride from Branscome when we found The Merchant Tea Rooms. There are around 18 covers. Each table has a lovely white embroidered vintage table cloth. The lady serving was amazing. She had a lovely smile and was very friendly as well as being super efficient, yes she could multi task with ease. The menu was superb, all freshly cooked. This was the best tea shop that I have been in.

Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseaT2015, Owner at The Merchant Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Very friendly welcome in this cosy tearoom. We recieved the tea, crumpets
and their delicious special Blackberry & Apple crumble with custard we'd orderd very quickly. Our small dog didn't have to stay in the car, but was welcome aswel!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joppe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Called in after a trip on the Seaton tram for a cup of tea and attracted by the dog friendly environment. Had a lovely pot of tea and tea cake and a bonus potted history of what is an interesting property formerly (as the name suggests) the receiving room for a local merchant. Relaxed and unhurried and we will try and revisit to sample the menu more fully.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank newoknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseaT2015, Owner at The Merchant Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank ou for your review, so glad you enjoyed your visit to us and the lovely town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

We went for afternoon tea whilst on holiday and it was amazing. Our children had seconds of everything. Very reasonably priced too.
My highlight was the cakes. Well worth a visit

Thank becci1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseaT2015, Owner at The Merchant Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you, so glad you all enjoyed your tea so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Merchant Tea Rooms also viewed

 

Been to The Merchant Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing