We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Master McGrath's

Master McGrath's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A Warm Welcome And A Focus On The Best,freshest Produce,simply But Skillfully Prepared.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

A wide ranging menu of quality food. A little on the pricey side but worth the money. The staff are extremely friendly and the service is excellent

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roaminrev2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsines, Owner at Master McGrath's, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thank you very much, you have nicely summed up what we are all about. Regards Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018

My Hubby and I have eaten here on numerous occasions. The food is first class as is the service. Spotlessly clean and nothing too much trouble for the helpful team. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank angelaaH620FY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsines, Owner at Master McGrath's, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thank you, it is always a pleasure to see such positive feedback from our regular guests. Regards Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I have been visiting Master McGraths for many years, usually for a Sunday roast, which we believe to be the best in the area. Jim, Trudy and Colin are wonderful hosts and make our lunch experience even more enjoyable.

We are looking forward to our family lunch on Easter Sunday. We are confident it will be of the highest standard!

If you haven’t been to Master McGraths, do yourself a favour and give it a try!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Merseyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsines, Owner at Master McGrath's, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Cheers, it will be a pleasure to push the boat out for you on Sunday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

If... you have never been to Master McGraths, In Scarisbrick, Southport, but have always wanted to try this restaurant, JUST do it. Don't think about - Book a table (recommended) Now.
Here are my own personal tips:
If you want a salad, get the 'Superb ploughman's' (But don't get a starter) It includes a varied selection of them, as standard.
The pate is THE best we have tasted. (With the exception of the comparable 'La Barbacoa', in Waterloo - and the exceptional - 'The Stratosphere', in Las Vegas.

If you want a luxury starter: Go for The Med soup. Pricey - But worth it, OR the Crab Thermidor. The crab Thermidor Omelette is Fantastic; as a main - but preferably as a starter.

You cannot beat the Sunday roasts - The mixed roast selection covers everything.

The Moules Marineire sublime.

Specials' on Thursdays and Fridays: check out their menu, on these days. Good for Early bird tea-time specials.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BrianandMargie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsines, Owner at Master McGrath's, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thank you so much for your kind and well informed comments. It is a real pleasure to read your tips, and also very interesting. I hope to see you again soon, regards Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Been going here for years & always loved it but we haven’t been with the family before, the guys accommodated us by putting 2 tables together in the bar area. Menu is fab, so much to choose from there literally is something for everyone. We had 3 roasts, fish & chips & a couple of gammons- every meal was spot on, excellent food, big portions & good value for money. Can I say a huge thank you to the very patient lady with short blonde hair (sorry I didn’t get her name!) who served us, she was so lovely & friendly. We had a lovely meal with the family, it can sometimes be very stressful with 2 young kids but we felt very welcomed & relaxed. Great pub/restaurant- will continue to keep coming!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Jowilson00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsines, Owner at Master McGrath's, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thanks Jo, it was my niece Dawn who looked after you and she said it was a pleasure to look after such a lovely family. See you soon, regards Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Master McGrath's also viewed

Burscough, Ormskirk
Aughton, Ormskirk
 
Burscough, Ormskirk
Ormskirk, Lancashire
 
Ormskirk, Lancashire
 

Been to Master McGrath's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing