We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, serene hide-away with stunning view”
Review of Uluwatu Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Uluwatu Cottages
Ranked #13 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Pecatu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2016

This is the second time I stayed at Uluwatu Cottages. Last time was a bit more than a year ago when I was traveling with a friend -we shared a twin bedroom, which are located at the back. I loved the pool and the views last time, and thought it would be a great place to stay again. So I decided to book again, this time for me and 13 friends, as we were traveling to Bali to attend a friend's wedding.

I was pleasantly surprised by how Uluwatu Cottages has expanded the pool and built some new villas. The official photos from Uluwatu Cottages are not up-to-date (the pool has expanded), and in real it looks so much nicer than the pictures can show you. Some of us stayed in the newer suites, some of us in double rooms and we had one twin room. The twin rooms are at the back and don't have a view, but it is just a few steps away from the restaurant and the pool - so it is not that bad. The other rooms are on either side of the pool, some with direct view over the ocean.

Uluwatu Cottages is also nicely located between Uluwatu beach (10 min walk) and Padang Padang Beach (4 min drive). Uluwatu beach has some nice bars where you can hang out, and is a great place to go surfing (for more experienced I think?). During low tide you can walk between the rocks, the caves.

What I love about this place:
- New suites - the bathroom is very nicely done. No bathtub but an eco-shower, with little peddles around, a rain shower, plants behind. Very pretty! the suites are big and have a high ceiling. I really liked it!
- Beautiful outdoor area, with a stunning view over the ocean, flowers and trees, very neat mosaic-paths, statues.
- A very nice infinity pool with sunbeds and some shaded beds to relax.
- Clean rooms
- Friendly staff

It was definitely value for money (keep in mind that this is not a 4 star hotel, so don't expect a full on 4 star service when you book a 2 star place), I would recommend it to friends, and I would love to go here again for a nice peaceful retreat.

Room Tip: Go for the suites (best) or for the double rooms. The twin rooms are all at the back I think, so hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MVDD88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 48 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2016

We stayed in Uluwatu Cottages for 3 nights and explored the surrounding area with a scooter (you can rent them from the reception for 50k rupia/day).

Would recommend it and book again!

+Nice Cottages
+Superb view
+Spotless outdoor area
+nice infinity pool
+good central location in the area
+quiet - away from main road
+very nice and helpful staff

-food is only okay / nothing spectacular
-bathrooms yre a little dated
-service a little slow/unattentive if you are sitting poolside

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nils R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Never in Bali have i meet such incompetent employees!!! We payed overprice and nothing worked, they did'nt cleaned, the water was dirty and the tv never worked!
When we contacted the reception they send a man, who did'nt do anything and they left!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Pretty hotel & grounds.. Pool area was very nice overlooking the sea.. Although at the busiest times there was'nt enough loungers for the amount of guests. Given this is a small complex I feel this could be an improvement they could make.
Rooms were nicely spacious a little dated and in need of sprucing up but liveable conditions. The bed was very big and pillows comfortable too, we slept very well in our time here! The bathroom is just a wet room, the type of place you just want to be in and out & cleanliness of bedlinen & towels left a lot to be desired. The bed linen smelt ok but marks and stains all over and to be honest I didn't have a clean smelling towel in the whole time I was there meaning We had to keep asking for towels each day for showers and pool. Pool towels for guests could be an easy improvement too you cannot be expected to use a towel for showering and around the pool especially for the price you are paying to stay here.
The only places to walk to are single fin & the surfers beach, padang padang beach and the odd shop. I wouldn't advise trying to walk anywhere at night visibility&street lighting is really bad so not particularly safe.
Food is good and big selection too. There really is only beer served around the pool in terms of alcohol though so will need to get your own other drinks from elsewhere.
Nice hotel but would probably only recommend to those who just want to stay within the hotel grounds, 4days was a good amount of time.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank xrachx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Had a warm welcome, and a welcome drink upon arrival. Staff is great, friendly and very service minded - they even arranged for cakes to be picked up from Pia Legong (apparently a must from Bali but not my taste) from Denpasar. Stayed in room 27, so had a bit of sea view. Nice and quiet, and you can hear the waves rolling in on the beach and cliffs, very relaxing. The infinity pool is great, nice place to relax with a beer ord five. Food was ok - only had breakfast and lunch at the premises. Not far from the beaches, some beaches are ok for swimming and some more for the surfers. Suluban is good for both - but depends on waves and tide for swimming. Padang Padang beach may be good for some - but far too crowded for my liking. Uluwatu Temple not far away - worth a visit but be aware of the monkeys, they like to grab whatever they can. As mentioned in another review - taxis are very expensive out here, renting a motorbike is reasonable and a good way to get around locally. I would be to scared going on a motorbike into Jimbaran and Kuta, but that is more likely due to me being an inexperienced rider. Some good local restaurants close by, and walking distance - but easier with a motorbike.

Room Tip: We reckon the poolside view is the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Arne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pecatu
1.4 km away
Suarga Padang Padang
Suarga Padang Padang
#4 of 10 in Uluwatu
339 reviews
3.4 km away
Klapa Resort
Klapa Resort
#6 of 11 in Pecatu
99 reviews
1.9 km away
Anantara Uluwatu Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
De Sapphire Cliff Villa
2.5 km away
Sal Secret Spot
Sal Secret Spot
#7 of 10 in Uluwatu
221 reviews
0.3 km away
Blue Point Bay Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uluwatu Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uluwatu Cottages

Address: Jalan Labuhan Sait, Uluwatu, Pecatu 80364, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Pecatu
Price Range: RM 246 - RM 378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uluwatu Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uluwatu Cottages overlooks the sea and landscaped gardens atop a cliff in Uluwatu, just 5 minutes’ drive from Padang Padang Beach. Guests can lounge at the outdoor infinity pool, or request for a relaxing Balinese massage. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the property. All rooms come with a private terrace with views of the gardens, pool or sea. Fitted with air conditioning, rooms also have a satellite TV and a private bathroom with a shower.Uluwatu Cottages is a 10-minute drive from Uluwatu Temple and a 20-minute drive from Garuda Wisnu Kencana Statue. It is a 30-minute drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Uluwatu Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uluwatu Cottages Bali/Pecatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing