We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
i-Deal Hotel(North District)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$42
US$29
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Broadway Hotel(North District)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
C U Taichung(North District)
US$65
US$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Berlin Hostel(North District)
US$30
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Canvas Corner(North District)
US$23
US$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
Bagel Inn Taichung(North District)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
Lai Lai Hotel(North District)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$69
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alice Hotel(North District)
Booking.com
View Deal
Forbes Hotel(North District)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
2
30
27
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
30
27
9
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Waaaaaaay too outdated hotel. Grubby, grimy, antiquated. Smells in places. Carpets are disgusting. Food is bizarre. Can't handle large conferences for meal (had to eat on the "banquet hall" stage. Needs to be stripped down and totally refurbished. Won't be back.

Stayed: April 2014
5  Thank global_teach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Plaza International Hotel Taichung is just another hotel. The lobby of this hotel is quite impressive, though the rooms are not. The rooms are simple and clean, the bathroom very dated.

Free internet is available in the room though very slow. The buffet breakfast was held in one of the Ballrooms - acceptable though for some reason very disappointing.

As for location, there is shopping in walking distance, though that is all you will find in this locale.

Would we return: I don't think so.

Would we recommend: If we return to this area we would try another hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divevoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I had a night in this hotel, but was actually supposed to stay at other places due to peak period and the other hotels were fully booked. This hotel is located not near to any big shopping malls. The lobby looks a little old but when I check-in to my room, it was old and the toilets were dirty. The walls seemed yellowish and there is a water-cooler that was not in use. The electric socket seems loose and may fall off anytime as it was not stable. Shower curtains for the bathtub are old and it was dirty and made me change my decision of having a dip in the tub. The bed sheets feels dusty and did not have me a comfortable night as I felt uncomfortable moving around. The breakfast was okay, but it was really simple and old. I will not visit the place again!! Once is more than enough. It's not worth paying such amount for poor quality.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a night. Actually we were supposed to stay at Maison de Chine hotel but it was fulled. This hotel is close to central station and not far from shopping street. The building look quite old as well as the room but the room are really clean. The breakfast is so so. Not much variety of food to choose from.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itthinan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This hotel feels a bit like the older good hotels in Central and Eastern Europe used to feel after the Wall came down - somewhat dated, but with a certain plushness and not without comfort. I stayed here for one night after a local mini-conference with colleagues.

I had a room with nice views over Taichung (10th floor). 1970s style old-fashioned bathroom. Good bed. Chinese-style massive red wood furniture, a very nice touch. Good TV, plenty of space for luggage and clothes.

We had a gala dinner in the Pearl Room in the evening; it was not excellent but certainly very good, competently served and very plentiful. Two vegetarian Indian colleagues received dish after dish in a very nice way as well.

Functional breakfast in a big but sunny hall; nothing super fancy, but more than one should eat for breakfast anyway.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Aethelred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews