We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Taiwan Adventures
from US$102.57
More Info
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
140
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
140
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jade mountain physical fitness high mountain great photos neil hike taiwan knowledge peak altitude expert
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2019

We booked some days hiking with Taiwan Adventures. Their pre-departure info was excellent. Sadly, a typhoon developed on our planned day 1. However TA did a brilliant job - the moment the weather forecast changed, they got in touch and had suggestions for alternatives. Instead of a 3 day trek we did 2 beautiful and challenging day hikes, and had a night in Jiufen. Huangdidian hike was spectacular, with brilliant ridges, ropes and ladders. Teapot was beautiful by the coast. Both days we had little extra side trips. Neil was the perfect guide. I totally recommend TA based on their local knowledge, experience, approach to safety, flexibility and agility in case of bad weather, and great guides.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank nickhop1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, Owner at Taiwan Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2019

Thanks Nick! I really enjoyed meeting and hiking with you guys!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2019

Can not recommend these guys enough. We had some bad luck with the weather and Neil our guide was super quick to come up with a bunch of alternative plans that were all excellent. Neil was super knowledgeable , took us out for great dinners and always had safety at the forefront. Also he takes excellent photos !!!!!

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank TineSEA9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilW2453, Owner at Taiwan Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2019

Thanks, Tine! It was great showing you guys around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2019 via mobile

There were super reactiv, helpful and friendly, for sure it worth to hike with them. Thank you again for your help

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank valentine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossT1132, Owner at Taiwan Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2019

Thanks, Valentine,

Happy to answer any questions! (about Taiwan and hiking, anyway!)

Glad you enjoyed your time here.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2019

We met up with Stuart at 8am and hiked the full loop of Sandiaoling Waterfall trail. Myself, my wife and my 10 year old son. You go past four waterfalls, go across rope bridges, wood ladders, rock steps, stairs, and get some great views. Then you walk along a road to the Shifen waterfall. We then walked over to Pingxi (where they launch the lanterns from) and hopped the train back to our starting point and car. Grabbed a late picnic lunch and then we drove out to the coast and saw the Nanya Rock and the Elephant Trunk Rock. Awesome day outside the city. You get to see the true nature and coast of the area. Stuart was awesome and great to spend time talking with him about Taiwan. Truly memorable day!

Date of experience: May 2019
3  Thank DonaldS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 April 2019

I climbed Mt. Xueshan last April 24 to 26. A satisfying climb. More scenic than Jade Mountain. A must-visit for trekkers if you ever find yourself in Taiwan.

I also want to comment on Taiwan Adventures (TA), our climb organizer, which was pointed out to me by a fellow climber when I expressed interest in Mt. Xueshan. TA did not disappoint. TA, c/o Neil Wade, was patient with our questions, knowledgeable about the trip, and was an attentive trail guide before, throughout, and right after the climb. He's also an excellent photographer.

Highly recommended!

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Gino M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilW2453, Owner at Taiwan Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2019

Thanks, Gino! It was great meeting and hiking with you guys!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews