We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,982)
Filter reviews
2,982 results
Traveller rating
1,848
838
189
76
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,848
838
189
76
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungejapanese restaurantbreakfast buffetbusiness tripconvention centeran excellent hotelfood courtcentral locationbusiness hotelsubway stationnight marketshopping mallrenovationtaipeigymtowercheers
Filter
Updating list...
2,012 - 2,017 of 2,982 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2009

As a Diamond card holder with Hyatt I thought i would give this one a try, but found it to be rather dated in the rooms and the service needing some attention. It is very centrally located right next to the 101 but with the flora of boutique hotels (Tango and Epoque) in Taipei, and at about 60% of the cost and with far superior rooms, I will continue my loyalty to those hotels instead. I'm sorry Hyatt but htis one was not quite the to the standard I would expect for a Grand Hyatt.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smaragdpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Travel to Taipei on business about 3 to 4 times a year.

This hotel has an excellent location - better than the Sheraton, Far Eastern Plaza (Shangri-La) and Regent - walking distance to Taipei 101 mall, Shin Kong Mitsukoshi (a groundscaper of a department store with 4 separate buildings), Eslite Bookshop ( a 7 storey - 24 hour ? bookshop with its own foodhall in the basement - gearded for the X-generation, and decked out like a library so that you have time to browse) - all of these are a block to a block and a half from the Grand Hyatt.

Rooms - brown and green and reasonably sized but showing their age - in bathrooms and woodwork starting to look scratched and worn - needs to be renovated ( see photo). The no smoking policy has helped and these rooms at least smell better; and you dont have to fight for a room on a non smoking floor

Restaurants - breakfast is excellent at cafe - extensive buffet bars (about 6 different focusses - get breakfast package with your room - reputedly the best breakfast in town

- Irodori - Japanese - good Japanese lunch buffet in house, but you would probably be more impressed by the buffet at the Japanese restaurant in the top of the Taipei 101 Mall (next to Page One Bookshop) which has a much better selection/ cheaper, but you will have to book in advance and fight with the locals for a table

- Shanghai Court - OK Shanghai fair, they used to be in a different location and with a different chef - portions seemed smaller than before

- Cheers - comfortable bar on the ground floor for business drinks with clients (get a lounge chair booth near the bar, not a table). A bit expensive, but we were on business and it was the boss's tab

- Gym - OK size - free weights and aerobic machines - open all hours via pass card

- Trivia - the hotel and the civic buildings in the area were built on land reclaimed for commercial use when the former Taipei public cemetery ( which one local rumor has it also was the locale for the 'execution centre' during world war 2) was moved. For the locals it's a bit of a "Poltergeist" (the movie) scenario - see the "calligraphy" in the lobby (see photos) which protect guests from supernatural harm - these arent freehand drawings of Taipei 101! You'll be asked by local clients whether you "slept well' and they dont mean if you "got lucky" or accessed the adult channels on the x-box

- Concierege and Limos - good with details; ready supply of taxis accessible and inexpensive - mercedes limo to the airport is quick and relatively inexpensive extra; order the Hyatt's freshly made chocolates as corporate gifts (see display in front of the cafe)

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShanghaiDeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2009

If you are interested in shopping, the hotel seems to be located in a very good spot. The rooms are comparable to the other Hyatt hotels around the world with a fairly large bathroom. I have stayed at this hotel on two separate occasions, and found each time that carpet had lots of stains on it. The linens, towels and bathrobes provided were always very clean. The hotel has a very nice pool (large enough to do laps), and a fitness center. The staff at the front desk is generally helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fortwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

The following comments are based on my business stay of five days. I found the lower-level staff to be helpful and efficient, but the management unhelpful in resolving issues (see below). The physical characteristics of the hotel were appealing, though a bit dated. In general, the public areas are well maintained and attractive. My room (9th floor near the elevators) was nicely outfitted, but in need of renovation. The worst manifestation of the aging infrastructure was backup of sewer gas into the bathroom, at times creating a stench to rival any outhouse or port-a-john I've ever experienced. The hotel was allegedly full during my stay, so the management was not able to move me to another room based on this problem (and in fact seemed essentially unconcerned about the problem). On the plus side, the gym is modern, clean, and pretty well equipped with both aerobic and weight equipment. There is a lot, from elegant Taipei 101 to streets lined with mom-and-pop shops, within easy walking distance of this hotel. The per-night room rate I was charged at check-out substantially exceeded the rate I reserved through the Hyatt website. Again, the management was unsympathetic, even when shown the reservation confirmation printout from the Hyatt site. Their position was that this rate agreement was not binding on them.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gnullama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

the location of this Hotel is absolutely ideal & it is right in front of Taipei 101, the 5th hightest building in the world. Its a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgianup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews