We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apokryfo Traditional Houses
Nearby Hotels
Semiramis Hotel(Platres)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Helvetia(Platres)
US$80
US$78
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Troodos Hotel(Troodos)
US$73
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Aphrodite Erimi(Erimi)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Christy's Palace Hotel(Pedoulas)(Great Value!)
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
118
22
9
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
22
9
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstroodos mountainsbeautiful accommodationsmaller selectiondegrees coolersmall poolgreat base for exploringpicturesque villageromantic getawaysuperb breakfasta wonderful staytraditional cypriotguest housesteam roomstayed one nightfruit bowlgreat cookingliving area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Wow! I have never started any of my tripadviser reviews with that word! But Apokryfo deserves such a description on so many levels! The welcome as you walk through the doors of this beautifully restored building was that of royalty. Katerina & Nic make you feel like you are the most important of guests and their warmth and enthusiasm is so much so i naturally assumed they were the owners, such was their love for the property and all its hidden treasures!
Check in was one of the loveliest relaxing experiences I've ever had! Sitting in front of the open fireplace in the restaurant with a drink whilst we gave a few details.
Beautifully and gracefully is the decoration. The building has been restored to such a level that every detail has been carefully designed in keeping with tradition and character of bygone days. Spotlessly clean. This is a unique luxury that surpasses any of which any five star mainstream hotel could offer.
In Apokryfo the guests needs and requirements are paramount. Katerina, Nic and their team cannot do enough for you. Their every aim is to make your stay as enjoyable and relaxing as possible.
I myself am vegan and i contacted the hotel before i booked to make sure they could accommodate my dietary requirements. I was told 'of course' and they did not let themselves down on this promise.
After being shown to our gorgeous room (we had the gatehouse which is a quaint upstairs downstairs room with double bedroom on ground level and small kitchen, shower room, balconies, and lounge/bedroom upstairs) we came back to the hotel for dinner. The mezze was beautifully presented and my vegan requirements were more than met! It was amazing food!
My husband and i had our 4 year old daughter with us and being a fussy eater she also was catered for. Katerina & Nic made a real fuss of her, so much so she didnt want to leave!
The building is set in a courtyard design with various sizes properties around it, a spa, restaurant and pool. In summer it would be stunning but in winter it still gives so much.
Its so quiet and quaint and could be the base for a romantic stay just as much as a family stay as they are so so welcoming of children.
Breakfast is a traditional cypriot buffet with home made jams, marmalades, honey, fruit etc and option of cooked breakfast too. If there is something not on the menu you just need to ask and if they have it the wonderful chefs will prepare it!
Loved this hotel so much we are already planning a summer return!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank samparschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Friends had been here the year before and took us along for a repeat visit and it became so clear why they wanted to come back. This place is a gem. Yes, it is a little on the expensive side but we felt it was worth every cent. The rooms are fantastic. The food is exceptional. We felt that we had a private chef every night.
The staff are the real selling point. Nothing was too much trouble for them. I would hate to think what would happen if new management appeared. Nick and Katerina are real gems.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 610patc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apokryfo, Manager at Apokryfo Traditional Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Dear Pat,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We really appreciate it! We are happy that you have enjoyed your staying with us, as well the food and the service. We hope you will give us the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the near future!
Kind Regards
The Apokryfo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

It will not be a surprise to repeat what most people say about the beautiful surroundings. On a dark winter’s day the village of Lofou looked warm and very well kept.
The establishment itself was impeccably restored and full marks should be given. We were told about and expected an overall five star experience.
However, we went there mainly to have an eating experience. And that was less than satisfactory. The set menu was not the problem. In fact we were very pleased that the waiter himself suggested ordering less set menus than our number, noticing that 4 twelve year olds were in our group. We took that very well, taking into consideration that in most similar establishments in Cyprus you end up with huge amounts of wasted food lying on the tables.
Well, the food was in fact not enough. Starting from the dips, we got the choice of 5 dips, but in miniscule saucers that could not possibly be sampled by all adults in the group. Yes, we asked and got more. Then, the main courses came, tasty enough, although nothing special, and once again barely enough for our numbers.
Desserts were served at the end; we enjoyed them, but definitely not 5 star quality as was expected.
I have to say a little more on the wine: we chose a fine red by Vlassides. You would expect some sort of routine to be followed for this sort of wine at this sort of place. In fact the bottle was opened away from our table and just put on it next to us.
On the plus side, the second bottle of wine as well as the Zivania was on the owner of the place.
Last thing on the bill. Well, the waiter was aware of the price which was €35 per person plus drinks, and maybe he thought he did us a favour by suggesting to order less food. At the end of the lunch some food was left on the table yes, but the feeling we got was that the quantities should have been richer, especially taking into consideration the waiter’s suggestion.
The ever important parameter of value for money was sadly not met during this visit.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Yiannos I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016

A very nice hotel and restaurant in an excellent place in Cyprus - Lofou! The food was nice but the prices were extreme. Two soups, coke and two coffees were E23.00! They also had two meze options one was E25.00 the other E35.00. The mezedes in Cyprus are E20.00 at the very high end tavernas on the island with 3 times more food than these guys offered. So the place is fantastic but it is well overpriced even for a quick lunch. Do not want to even ask for the room prices.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Quantum741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

We have visited beautiful Apokryfo Traditional houses in the middle of November, enjoining incredibly warm and nice weather.

We had an exceptional welcome by the staff members , who made us feel completely at home from the very first moment and took care of us in a way you rarely see elsewhere.

Rooms, restaurant, gardens finely decorated and renewed, combining tradition and luxury at the same time.
Every small detail makes you understand how much love and attention has been invested to create something completely unique.

Food was excellent: everything freshly made in order to satisfy any exigence ( we had a vegetarian in our team and the chef prepared dished especially for him!).
We have tried many Cypriot buffet, all similar to each others, so it was a nice surprise to discover known dishes cooked in a very different and still more typical way, rather than the usual and mass-friendly stuff you can find around.
Full buffet was pricey indeed, but you can choose a smaller selection of dishes or simply take an individual plate, perfectly matching with quality restaurants as per price.

Compared to 4-5 star hotels, breakfast might seem poor, but as the concept is tradition, you will find typical delicious homemade jams and pies, together with local cheese. Forget beans or stuff like that.

Last but not least, we did appreciate the way children are welcomed. Our two little sons have soon become friends with the lovely staff, in a warm and serene atmosphere. Not like other places were children aren't even allowed, which in all honesty I find insulting . There are not specific facilities such as playground, but you don't necessarily need that to spend some quality time with your family.

I absolutely suggest to visit it!

What to improve? Few minor things really.
I would say Tv channels, especially for international visitors and no-Greek speakers and stuff like sugar/milk caps/ to be refilled more often, as in the end of our 3rd day we hadn't any left. Toiletries too. For sure if we had asked they would have been refilled on request, but they are one of those things you just expect to be there,you don't really check : you find out they are missing when you need!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lindaki87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews