We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
134
22
10
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
22
10
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews troodos mountains beautiful accommodation degrees cooler small pool quaint village isolated location romantic getaway special mention must be made traditional dishes a wonderful stay steam room stayed one night base to explore perfect place to stay fruit bowl living area welcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017


We stayed one night in his quite charming hotel that was lovingly built out of the shell of an old school. The stone work and timber roofing were all most tastefully preserved while restructuring it into a beautiful rustic boutique hotel with very mod con. It is located on the outskirts of the small village so he sky is very clear at night and the silence breathtaking. We stayed in Olive room that was very spacious with a delightful bathroom looking out over the hills opposite - almost like a Fellini movie set. The bed was super comfortable and it was easy to sleep late. The dinner was quite unbelievably superb. I have rarely enjoyed such outstanding Mediterranean food - it was a set menu of several mezze dishes each of which was almost the size of a regular entree. And it was topped off with mastic ice cream - a special Cypriot treat. I think one persons serving of food would have been sufficient for two people. Breakfast was very good but after the previous nights dinner I needed just coffee in the morning. Had a nice small pool and very charming staff who did everything to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank louiscfl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and I started our 5 day vacation in Cyprus with our first 2 nights at Apokryfo, and it was one of the best choices we have made in our extensive travel experiences around the world.

Firstly, you need to know about the village itself before we get to the hotel. Lofou is the very definition of a small, quiet and quaint village situated in the middle of nowhere. A village with less than 500 permanent residents, we felt like we were in a place with only 5 permanent residents, all of whom worked at Apokryfo :-) I do not mean this in a negative way at all. We loved the silence and the feeling of owning the place when we walked around the village, and given the small size, it is easy to explore the whole place in hours.

As for the hotel itself, it is a wonderfully designed and impressively managed property. The owners, a couple in which the husband is an architect and the wife is an interior designer, have done a fantastic job of combining a rustic essence to the rooms with modern amenities and comfort. We got upgraded to what is called 'The Corner House', which had a lovely sit-out area, a living area on the ground floor and an incredibly narrow spiral staircase taking us down to the bedroom and bath one level below. It was very spacious and very comfortable.

The breakfast and dinner was really well prepared and we loved whatever we ordered, even though we only ordered vegetarian food.

Special mention must be made of the ladies that run the show - Isabell from Reservations who helped with all arrangements before we arrived, Angelica and especially Sophia, who take genuine interest in each guest and spend time talking to them, volunteering information (including printouts of the Byzantine churches with detailed information for us to refer to), and Alasseria (might be getting the spellings wrong) who works the kitchen. All of them are multi-taskers and make sure each guest gets personalized attention all the time.

Overall, definitely a recommendation for those wanting to stay away from the madness around the crowded beaches and big resorts of Cyprus in the summer. I can only imagine Apokryo must also be such a nice, cozy place to stay in during the winter as well. Give it a try - you will definitely leave with a smile on your face.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank natanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

If u r looking for a little luxury and a relaxing location - this is perfect. Gorgeous restored villa. Restaurant is first class. Great if u just want to hang around the pool or lots to explore in the area if u want to get out and about. Suits families and romantic couples. Really quiet and private. Need ur own transport to get around. Signage is good to help find the place in this little village. Feel like u r far away from the hoards of tourists and get some insight to local cyprus life.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Kat70Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apokryfo, Manager at Apokryfo Traditional Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Kat70Dubai,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.


Kind Regards
The Apokryfo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

A true gem. THE best hotel room we've ever stayed in. We stayed in the olive room. Spot on in every way. Peaceful, tranquil, spotless, great service, great food, lovely spa and pool. Honestly 10/10. Not a lot here, so perfect if you want to get away from it all and read a good book.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank SimonHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apokryfo, Manager at Apokryfo Traditional Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Simon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

We feel happy to know that you enjoyed our food and our service.

We look forward to welcome you back to Apokryfo Traditional Houses..

Kind Regards
The Apokryfo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

This Boutiq hotel was just perfect for a relaxing night in front of fireplace with a glass of wine.
We have book a bangalou with fireplace for 1 night and was the most relaxing night i have on a village small with nothing to do .
This place have absolutlly everything you need , comfort , clean , perfect bed , good staff , good food , ambiance and very cozy . This traditional house have olso a pool for summer time but for my taste i recomanded in winter times.
If you are searching for a 5 stars bangalou traditional with a fireplace in a small village , here you find absolutlly everthing you need . Is just perfect for relaxation !
Olso around you can find some small taverns to eat traditional olso with fireplace that i love it :)

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ana Maria Denis... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apokryfo, Reservations Department at Apokryfo Traditional Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Maria,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your views on Trip Advisor.

We were very pleased to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for your kind words of the hotel facilities!
Your comments are greatly appreciated as customer care is among our highest priorities.

Once again thank you very much for your positive feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you back
Kind Regards
The Apokryfo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews