We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bayard Rooms(Portici)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Pietrarsa(Portici)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
57
56
19
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
56
19
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationping pong tablepool tablesecure lockersbig common areaair conditioningmin walktables and chairsatmospherenaplespompeiivesuviusticketspianoregionercolano
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hostel was a great place to stay for us in Portici, it's good value and has a funky style to it. They even have table tennis in the lounge area. The owner was great, he and his wife were so kind after his shift they took us to a nice pizzeria, i'm not saying you'll get that but you never know. The place overall is very good and for the rate you pay it's well worth it.

Award Winning Author
Vishal Morjaria

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vishal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this hostel. We were gonna stay in Rome but it was too expensive. The hostel is very nice but I wouldn't say there is much to se around it however it is a only around 40 min from Pompeii and an hour from Sorrento and easy to get there. It is also only about 2,5 hours from Rome so a  day trip there is possible but I would recommend staying there for more than a day. 
    The rooms were nice and clean and the common area very good. There is also a club are the hostel that opened a few days a week. That staff was very nice and altogether our stay was good 

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllaB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Fabric hostel is located in Portici, which is just a few stops away from Naples central station. About 40 minutes to Sorrento. For the price, it is very worth staying a bit outside of Naples. In fact, it the town had a much nicer atmosphere than some of the bigger cities we stayed in. The walk from the train stop to the hostel is around ten minutes. The hostel is a bit hard to find if you don't already know where it is but locals will see your suitcase/bags and point you in the right direction. Great common room, clean bathrooms, not overly busy. We never had to wait for a toilet or shower to free up. Helpful staff. You get a great booklet when you check in explaining what to do in the area and how to get there. Map of recommended restaurants in the Portici area was really handy! We stayed in a 6 person dorm, which had individual lockers. Some were smaller than others so if you have a big bag it may not fit. Overall, wonderful place to stay. Really lovely place that had hotel level service with a fun hostel-people meeting vibe.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Portici was a very pretty and gave us an impression of what life in Italy can really be really like. The hostel is a short (5-10) minute walk from the railway station. The hostel has a very fun/casual feel and plenty of activities/facilities in the common area. The breakfast was pretty cheap but not very nutritious - just carbs and sugar (i.e. it meets hostel breakfast expectations).

The primary reason for our visit was to experience Pompei. We caught the train from Portici to the station nearest to the Pompei ruins and walked the rest of the way. Though we didn't use them, I'd recommend getting a bicycle if you plan on doing this, as it's not the most interesting walk.

Story Time:
On arrival, my fiancé and I were told we'd have to sleep in separate rooms because there weren't enough beds. Ok, fair enough, we booked last minute. If it's booked, it's booked. Right?

When it comes to sleep time - my dorm is essentially empty (3 or 4 empty beds, only 2 occupied including me). Ok, that's a bit weird.

A few hours after getting to sleep, my fiancé enters the room. She'd been woken up by what seemed like a volley of accusations from a distressed room mate speaking in some foreign language. According to the helpful translation of another room mate, my fiancé was sleeping in his bed. The hostel had double-booked the bed!

The manager's solution? Let my fiancé sleep in a spare bad in my room. Why didn't he just do that to begin with? Sheesh.

With all that behind us, I'd still come back. Doubt that would happen to us again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed at this hostel with a group of friends and found that the hostel was quite nice and overall quite clean. While the hostel is outside the centre of Naples and in the neighbourhood of Portici, the location is 15-20 minutes walk from Herculaneum and there is a nearby metro stop that can be used to get into the city of Naples, it is also on the line that goes from Naples to Pompeii (and into the countryside). Also, the area is less sketchy at night than it is at the centre of Naples and there are a good number of shops/food places in the area to grab stuff at. The six of us stayed in a 9 bedroom dorm and we found the room quite nice being very clean with lots of room and locker space provided (plus the locks). Also a decent number of outlets and personal fans for each bed provided. The bathrooms were separated by sex, nice and large with a couple stalls for showers and for toilets, as well as a very large sink area. There were computers available in the lobby that were free for reasonable usage.

There were a few cons though, we thought breakfast was included but it was actually an extra 2 euros (not bad though compared to the price at some other places and they make you an actual proper coffee). There were a couple of lights in the bathroom that did not work and water pressure + heat can be a little wonky when there are many people using them. Also, if you are around later in the morning when cleaning is happening in the communal areas, watch out for the cleaning personnel as they are little pushy and want you out of the way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sekhmet_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews