We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Beach front”
Review of Sunset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Hotel
Ranked #135 of 194 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Quite a good place to spend an afternoon on the beach front but do not expect any form of sophistication. Staff are helpful and friendly but lack basic knowledge on most items. Place could do with a proper clean up but overall the same standard as the rest of the places in Mirissa in general. We had a great table by the water`s edge in the evening many a time eating grilled fresh fish right there on the beach and drinking fresh fruit juices. this place could be a gem with a little bit more attention to detail.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank alexjub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2015

There is a pool. Not super clean but clean. Stuff very kind and helpfull. Manager is a perfect man, worked for 14 years at Dubai. Ocean is nearby, only 10 meters from the hotel. Breakfast is the best in Srilanka. We were in 5 different hotels in srilanka and breakfast is really the best. In a day of leaving we askeda manbsager to leave our suitcases at the hotel and he kindly allowed us to leave our suitcases at the lobby and also to use all the oppotunities of the hotel.

Room Tip: Take the first floor - there will be cold without a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Misha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2015 via mobile

Yes all the other reviews are accurate. The place is on a beautiful piece of property, is a little run down, the staff are fantastic and friendly. The only thing I have to add is that the pool was in terrible shape when we were there.

The pool was cleaned every few days, we never saw anyone adding chemicals to it. After a week there was a full algae bloom which turned the water bright green; I have never seen anything like it in a pool. If you are staying for the pool, look at the current status before you book at Sunset.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2015

We booked this hotel through Agoda, paid for it 3 months in advance and showed up on the 1st of January after a long journey for a relaxing stay in our deluxe room. The staff immediately asked me if I was Sri Lankan and when I answered yes, the manager and the owner informed me that there was a problem with my room - they didn't have it but could offer me a separate emergency room they had for situations like this!

I asked to see the room. At this point the owner left and we never saw him again.. The manager took us to a run down, old room (paint was peeling, there were bugs and the mattress looked like it had seen much better days). As we were entering the room one of the staff was leaving.. strangely enough there were things in there and there only seemed to be one of this room.. it was clearly a staff room.

They refused to refund our money (I asked to be taken back to the room in hopes of taking a photo to post here but they refused) and after much arguing, we left tired, exhausted and immensely pissed off. On looking at this hotel on Agoda seems they have done this to other guests!

Agoda has since refunded our money and apologized, but I am appalled at the lack of professionalism at the hotel and inability to treat customers with respect.

Mirissa is a beautiful place - if you want to experience it, there are plenty of other guest houses on the stretch you can enjoy it from. Don't go to this one.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Niyo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2015

Very disappointed with this very rustic, run down and neglected hotel that is in a perfect location right on the beach. Clean room was reasonably well appointed with a great view over the beach, however, the "white" mosquito net over the bed was absolutely filthy grey with dust & grime. The pool area was very sad as it lacked consistent attention to keeping clean. Water was often murky and scrum lined the tiles. Breakable cups and glasses, empty bottles, wet towels, etc would stay there all day, even though there was wait staff nearby not overally busy or engaged. Mattresses for the day beds were never cleaned so very grubby. Pool shed's broken door stood against a tree so children could easily access pool equipment and chemicals. Breakfast was particularly poor as haphazard in both setting up and restocking. Up to x 3 untrained wait staff wandered around aimlessly - occasionally on fly patrol which was not always successful, not cleaning tables between guests, plus cooked food sat in the unheated containers for several hours over the breakfast period. The management of the hotel were friendly and helpful, however, this hotel needs a lot of TLC in ongoing maintenance, a structured cleaning regime, professionally trained staff and management to deliver a quality experience for it to reach its potential and deliver value to its guests.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arundel153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.8 km away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mirissa
261 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Silan Mo
Hotel Silan Mo
#51 of 194 in Mirissa
168 reviews
0.4 km away
Triple O Six
Triple O Six
#2 of 11 in Mirissa
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sea Breeze Hotel
Sea Breeze Hotel
#88 of 178 in Mirissa
10 reviews
2.5 km away
Mandara Resort
Mandara Resort
#5 of 11 in Mirissa
400 reviews
0.8 km away
Holaa Mirissa
Holaa Mirissa
#40 of 194 in Mirissa
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel

Address: Galle/Matara Road, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range: RM221 - RM404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing