We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Peacock Villa(Mirissa)
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$68
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suwa Arana(Mirissa)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$35
US$30
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peacock Wings Guest House(Mirissa)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$13
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angel Rest House(Mirissa)(Great Value!)
US$31
US$20
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$42
US$38
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$41
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ancient Tree Guesthouse(Mirissa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$13
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$171
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
24
45
24
16
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
45
24
16
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmirissa beachlocation is excellenttwo double bedsinfinity poolair conother placessunbedsluxurysurfingparadise
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2015

There is a pool. Not super clean but clean. Stuff very kind and helpfull. Manager is a perfect man, worked for 14 years at Dubai. Ocean is nearby, only 10 meters from the hotel. Breakfast is the best in Srilanka. We were in 5 different hotels in srilanka and breakfast is really the best. In a day of leaving we askeda manbsager to leave our suitcases at the hotel and he kindly allowed us to leave our suitcases at the lobby and also to use all the oppotunities of the hotel.

Room Tip: Take the first floor - there will be cold without a/c.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Misha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2015 via mobile

Yes all the other reviews are accurate. The place is on a beautiful piece of property, is a little run down, the staff are fantastic and friendly. The only thing I have to add is that the pool was in terrible shape when we were there.

The pool was cleaned every few days, we never saw anyone adding chemicals to it. After a week there was a full algae bloom which turned the water bright green; I have never seen anything like it in a pool. If you are staying for the pool, look at the current status before you book at Sunset.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2015

We booked this hotel through Agoda, paid for it 3 months in advance and showed up on the 1st of January after a long journey for a relaxing stay in our deluxe room. The staff immediately asked me if I was Sri Lankan and when I answered yes, the manager and the owner informed me that there was a problem with my room - they didn't have it but could offer me a separate emergency room they had for situations like this!

I asked to see the room. At this point the owner left and we never saw him again.. The manager took us to a run down, old room (paint was peeling, there were bugs and the mattress looked like it had seen much better days). As we were entering the room one of the staff was leaving.. strangely enough there were things in there and there only seemed to be one of this room.. it was clearly a staff room.

They refused to refund our money (I asked to be taken back to the room in hopes of taking a photo to post here but they refused) and after much arguing, we left tired, exhausted and immensely pissed off. On looking at this hotel on Agoda seems they have done this to other guests!

Agoda has since refunded our money and apologized, but I am appalled at the lack of professionalism at the hotel and inability to treat customers with respect.

Mirissa is a beautiful place - if you want to experience it, there are plenty of other guest houses on the stretch you can enjoy it from. Don't go to this one.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Niyo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2015

Very disappointed with this very rustic, run down and neglected hotel that is in a perfect location right on the beach. Clean room was reasonably well appointed with a great view over the beach, however, the "white" mosquito net over the bed was absolutely filthy grey with dust & grime. The pool area was very sad as it lacked consistent attention to keeping clean. Water was often murky and scrum lined the tiles. Breakable cups and glasses, empty bottles, wet towels, etc would stay there all day, even though there was wait staff nearby not overally busy or engaged. Mattresses for the day beds were never cleaned so very grubby. Pool shed's broken door stood against a tree so children could easily access pool equipment and chemicals. Breakfast was particularly poor as haphazard in both setting up and restocking. Up to x 3 untrained wait staff wandered around aimlessly - occasionally on fly patrol which was not always successful, not cleaning tables between guests, plus cooked food sat in the unheated containers for several hours over the breakfast period. The management of the hotel were friendly and helpful, however, this hotel needs a lot of TLC in ongoing maintenance, a structured cleaning regime, professionally trained staff and management to deliver a quality experience for it to reach its potential and deliver value to its guests.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arundel153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2014

i stay here for 3 days and I love it. It is rustic but cute and the service is awesome. The people working in the hotel we super helpful and always ready to offer suggestion or make your stay very pleasant. If you walk down the beach you find a lot of restaurants and some crowd but if you want to find privacy just hang out in the break in front of the hotel.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank rwurbina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews