We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“surf perfect”

Review of Stella Beach Villa

View of the pool from the terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the pool from the terrace
Your own private beach Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
View of the pool from the terrace
Your own private beach
Master Bedroom
The twin room (with en-suite)
Master bedroom
Second master bedroom
En suite for second master bedroom
En suite for second master bedroom
En suite for first master bedroom
Double bedroom
En suite for twin bedroom (partially outdoors)
En suite for double bedroom (partially outdoors)
En suite for twin bedroom (partially outdoors)
Outdoor living area (outside second master bedroom)
View from the master bedroom
20-metre pool
Spacious garden views
Robby's bar on the beach
A place to relax..
View of pool with sun loungers
View of the swimming pool.
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mirissa, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Verity M
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“surf perfect”
Reviewed 10 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Staff were great - Rasika who I understand is quite new (he mentioned to us) was great, very unobtrusive and helpful but friendly. Dinner was excellent (big curry spread) and we were treated to huge plates of fruits in the morning. Great to have have lots of areas to lounge and relax, great bed and bedding (nice to have it be cool enough and not need AC)
Best thing has to be the surf out front though (my husband surfed in the morning and afternoon) and had not one but two surf spots to choose from a few hundred metres out front. That was one happy man!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2015
thanks for the kind words. Your another happy customer for Stella Beach Villas. Please pass the good word about Sri lanka, the great people, the food and culture and the amazing coast line and beaches
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ceri r
Sant Antoni de Portmany, Spain
1 review
“Fantastic week at Stella Beach House”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a great week at Stella Beach, we were travelling with a 2 year old and the set up was perfect, he was running around the huge lawn and in and out of the pool all day.
The staff were lovely and really attentive with us all, we didnt lift a finger. We would definitely return and would recommend it to any young families!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan B
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with our teenagers for a week. Everything about the vila is fantastic. We didn't eat out in the evenings as the food was exceptional. Gayan, the villa manager, is one of the nicest and most efficient people I have ever encountered on a holiday. Everything he suggested we do during the day was thoroughly enjoyable, and if we wanted to laze by the pool, the staff were always on hand with food and drinks. The snorkellling at Polhuna Beach and the tea plantation visit are a must. We did visit Galle but were perfectly happy around and about Mirissa.

The villa has a huge garden, well maintained, and a long length pool. The rooms are all spacious and immaculately kept. The beach outside the villa is fine for kids to play on and walk, but we enjoyed surfing and bodyboarding at Weligama and Mirissa.

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Definitely returning to Sri Lanka.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect holiday!!”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stella Beach Villa is the perfect holiday!! There's not one thing to fault about it. The property location is incredible, the Villa itself is luxurious but by far the best part is the beautiful staff. Gayan manages an amazing team of chefs, housekeepers & groundskeepers that cater for your every need. They are all so kind, friendly and made us feel very welcome at all times.
I also want to make a special mention about the food... It was to die for!! Always fresh, well presented & very tasty - from tropical fruit + eggs on toast in the morning to amazing seafood and curries with roti in the evenings. I cant recommend this Villa enough!! We'll see you again soon.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Stella Beach House - an unforgettable stay.”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

If you're a group of couples/friends holidaying together why would you choose a hotel over a villa/house? you wouldn't, and why would you choose another villa over Stella Beach you wouldn't because it offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay.

The basics: 3 doubles and 1 twin each with its own huge bathroom (all indoors - stella beach house is slightly different from the beach villa though they share the same grounds) and a huge pool are the basics. Its the rest that makes it special.

The best thing about the house are the staff, 6 people run the house and each person (cleaner, kitchen staff, night security and Guyan who organises everything you could possibly need) is wonderful. They are friendly (happy to play cricket with/against you on the lawn) professional and a pleasure to be around. Breakfast (fruit/eggs/tea) is included in the rate and additionally they will cook you amazing evening meals (you just pay for the ingredients). An 8 night stay dining on lobster, prawns, curry, salads and enough booze to sink a ship cost £100pp.

The location is also perfect. Based on the waters edge intermediate surfers can walk straight in to catch the most perfectly consistent waves. Beginners can take a tuk tuk (10 mins) to the best beginners break the world has to offer. Want to swim with wild turtles and tropical fish? that's a 10 min walk away. Want to see Blue Whales? That's a 10 min drive away. Gayan will organise all of this for you (he even organised fireworks for my husbands birthday).

7 of us came on this trip, we've travelled to most places and we all voted this our best holiday ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location / service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$709
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing