We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
288
40
18
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
40
18
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barthe cottagesroom serviceprivate islandlobsteratlantic sidetobago caysearly morning coffeeunion islandmosquito coilsday sailrobinson crusoethe reefswater shoesquick tourmagical experiencedive shop
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 360 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2015

Our first room was on the "windy" side of the island. We could not sit on the loungers and read because the sand was stinging our legs and we could barely hear each other talk. Also, the pier on that side of the beach was poorly maintained with no warning signs. The wood was slick with slime and I fell. We asked to move and they were very accommodating. Now we had less wind, but there were bitting no-see-ums. i had been told that due to the trade winds, bugs were not a problem. not true. This side was also windy, but not as bad.
We like to snorkel, getting in to the water on the windy side was very difficult due to the boulders on the shoreline. But on the other side, the water was filled with seaweed. They had someone removing the seaweed from the shore, but when you swam it stuck to you. further, there wasn't anything to see anyway. Very few fish. We even took a day trip to the tobago cays and saw very few fish. We found kayaking difficult due to the wind. The relentless wind. Apparently in the southern Caribbean, it is very windy. Finally, this is a resort that promotes privacy. Unlike other resorts, group activities are not promoted. Mostly everyone stayed to themselves.
What was good? The room was very comfortable, very well decorated and very clean. Room service was readily available and friendly. the staff were very nice. It was relaxing. They even accommodated my husband's gluten allergy.
So far away from California. From the West Coast, it took about 15 hours to get there. Fly to Miami, then to Barbados, then transfer to a small plane to Union island, then a launch to Petit St Vincent. On the way back, about 26 because we had to stay overnight in Miami due to minimal connections. If the snorkeling, beach, swimming and kayaking had been great, it would have been worth it. but they weren't. :(

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

We'll never vacation anywhere else. The new owners and the management team have taken a wonderful resort and actually made it better. The staff is as friendly and gracious and helpful as ever, which suggests to us that the new employers are as supportive and encouraging as Haze and Lynn were, and that is very important to us. Cottages are being repaired and improved. Food is wonderful. And we discovered a new beach spot that has become our favorite.
I have to admit that it's nice to be able to reach the office by phone--but we still mostly used the flagpole to send requests. We're delighted that they didn't put in a TV--and thrilled that they put in a Nespresso machine (and remembered to put milk in the fridge). And we were happily surprised to find that the children who'd come with their parents were a delight when encountered and in no way interfered with anyone else's peace, quiet and privacy.
I don't need to say more; there are lots of details offered by other reviewers. I'll just add that I already yearn for our next vacation at PSV.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulaB5478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2015

We stayed along the beachside in cottage 8. This was our first visit and we likely will go back again. We took our children ages 10 and 13 and they had a fantastic time. Plenty of activities (Hobie Cat sailing, sea kayaking, snorkeling, hiking, eating, swimming) to keep everyone in the family happy and occupied, but not too busy or scheduled to make the vacation seem hectic. We had afternoon tea everyday and we're Americans, not used to such a luxury. The ginger tea was amazing. All of the food was wonderful and the all-inclusive alcohol list was sufficient that we did not need to pay any additional money for alcohol.

My only complaints about Petite Saint Vincents were 1) the way that the staff appeared. Their uniforms were quite tattered, to the point it looked like they (or the management) did not care much about their appearance. Many had their shirts untucked, stained and some also had small holes in the shirts and shorts. I also noticed that some wore nametags, whereas others did not. The staff were more than happy to accomodate your needs, but did not seem particularly friendly especially upon our arrival. 2) The initial tour of the island and introduction of the cottage was weak and should be done by the manager with a little more enthusiasm and 3) the air conditioning was inadequate to keep the room cooled. We had several issues, most which the staff addressed pretty quickly.

I still give it 5 stars because it seems to be a timeless jewel in the Caribbean. Lack of TVs and wifii in rooms a big plus!!!! Forced our family to spend quality time with one another which was huge blessing.

Room Tip: Stay beachside for easy access to beach.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rekooka99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

PSV is a unique resort being a private island with only 22 rooms in an out of the way spectacular location. Rooms are actually stone cottages with a large bedroom, large double vanity bathroom (no tub), sitting room with couches and dining table, and a good size veranda with hammock, chaise lounge chairs, mini fridge, outdoor table/chairs. The cottages are rustic looking but have modern features such as a/c. Beach set-ups are all far apart for privacy. There are many opportunities for visiting other islands close by such as the Tobago Cays, Mayreau, etc. The staff and service are top notch. Being a small resort they get to know you and your preferences very quickly which is helpful. For example my wife and I preferred outdoor dining in a secluded table and they provided that to us every night. Many of the staff also went out of there way for with special meals, deserts, etc. A few of the staff who really went out of there way for us included Anick, Mindy, Angella, and Akeisha. The staff transports you whenever and wherever on the island you want to go by mini moke. Food was excellent both at the main restaurant and at the beach. If you want a quiet, romantic adventure in the Grenadines this is it (this was out third time). Complaints: of course there have to be a few everywhere. All the resort motor boats were out of commission when we visited so we had to arrange a private boat from another island (which worked out ok). There is wifi and a PC in the office but not in the rooms which I would prefer. Lastly there is no fitness center (there is a fitness trail but not the same thing) which I would like to help work off the great food and drinks!

Room Tip: It is personal preference but we like #22, private, on a hill with nice views and within walking distance of the reception and main dining.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

If you can't find romance here, check your pulse. Completely private cottage on a bluff overlooking the sea. Dinner for two by courses on the lantern-lit beach. Picnic for two on a spit of an island with a single thatched umbrella. Meals for two on private deck. Loved the flag system. Friendly, attentive service. Excellent food. Extensive, but expensive, wine list. Day sail to Tobago Cays on the Beauty is highly recommended. Very quiet. Wi fi only in the main lodge. Bring something to read and someone you want to spend time with. Relax.

Room Tip: Cottage #1, top of a bluff, beautiful views, incredibly private, furthest from main lodge
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews