We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,498)
Filter reviews
1,498 results
Traveller rating
401
692
296
75
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
692
296
75
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle busshuttle servicetrain tracksnespresso machinerevolving restaurantexecutive floorlarge hotellaura ashleyindoor poolruns every minutesaeon mallbreakfast buffetthe hotel staffrooms are niceminute walkjr stationjapan standards
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 1,498 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Ample space, personal slippers, lovely scented bath salts, designer toiletries, and a capsule coffee machine. Basically the room is well kitted. The buffet breakfast is very good quality. Easy route to the train station, food places, shopping areas. Would have been better if there is a laundry area for guests.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank meann e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
お客様サービス担当支配人, sb at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel!

We are very happy to hear that you were able to take full advantage of the room amenities and the variety of dishes offered by our buffet. While we unfortunately do not have a laundry area for guests, we appreciate your feedback. We do offer a laundry service or our staff would be happy to direct you to the nearest coin operated laundromat during your next visit.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Stayed for a view days and was very impressed. The rooms are as in most Japanese hotels quite small, but very well appointed, especially after the refurbishment. Nothing is missing. Very luxurious bathroom amenities. Even while the hotel is situated by a very busy main road and near the railways, the isolation of the windows is so good you wouldn't hear a thing. Location is top too, a view minutes walk to the station, lots of dining facilities nearby and easy to walk to Toji, Honganji and even Nijo - it's on the same road. Wifi excellent too. Staff very nice and good English skills. Breakfast a little expensive, but good choices in Kaza - both western and Japanese. Overall excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank OBvZ-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
お客様サービス担当支配人, sb at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel!

We truly appreciate your kind words. Since our hotel is so close to Kyoto Staion, our guests can easily access many World Heritage Sites and places of interest. Also, we are so pleased to hear that you were able to take full advantage of the amenities offered in our guest rooms, as well as the variety of dishes provided by our buffet. Perhaps during your next visit, you could enjoy the panoramic view and fine French cuisine of Top of Kyoto, the city's only revolving restaurant.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

We (a family of four) stayed here for four nights. We had to rooms on the tenth floor (at different ends of the floor). The rooms were lovely, the beds were comfortable and the shower was the best we had in Japan. We utilised the shuttle bus a lot and found it very convenient. The hotel is only a 7-8 minute walk to the station if your prefer. There was often a smell of smoke permeating in our floor which sometimes came into our room. The recent renovations are lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueBMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
お客様サービス担当支配人, sb at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel!

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our newly refurbished guest rooms and that you were able to take full advantage of our free shuttle bus service. Our hotel is very close to Kyoto Station so guests can easily access many popular destinations and World Heritage Sites.
Although our housekeeping staff is doing to their utmost to make sure guests cannot smell smoke in non-smoking rooms and areas, we are terribly sorry for the smell of smoke. If you give us a chance, I am positive that during your next visit we will make sure that all of your needs are met and that you are provided with a room that is completely free of smoke.

We truly appreciate your feedback, and we hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

First, the good; the rooms are a good size and newly-renovated. The beds are very comfortable, the shower is powerful and responsive. The breakfast buffet is pretty decent. The hotel is less than ten minutes walk from Kyoto station.

So, overall, there's a lot to recommend this hotel, but there were a few things that I was disappointed about, especially at this price range.

My first check in took nearly half an hour, despite everything being in order and it not being especially busy. The reception staff were reasonably friendly, but didn't really speak English that well.

My room had a strange odor that hit me every time I walked in, and my towels smelled musty.

The hotel has a pool but there is a hefty charge for using it.

Finally, the hotel rooms don't have any kind of view or ambience, as the hotel is right next to a major highway and many of the rooms just face the back of buildings.

Overall, I was satisfied but for this kind of money I would hope for something just a little better. If you get a good deal then I suppose it would be all right.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
お客様サービス担当支配人, sb at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the amenities offered in our guest rooms and that you were able to take full advantage of the buffet breakfast. Perhaps during your next visit you could enjoy fine French dining at our revolving restaurant, Top of Kyoto. However, we are terribly sorry for the delayed check-in time. In additon, we deeply apologize for the state of the towels and that the staff could not properly communicate with you in English. We are continually working hard to improve the quality of spoken English and cleanliness of our hotel, but it appears we fell short. If you give us another chance, I am certain that our staff can show you everything our hotel has to offer, as well as provide the excellent service that so many of our guests enjoy.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again and that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

The lobby looked good, the room was clean, buffet breakfast sufficient. What more can one ask for? Oh yes, it is near the train station, so convenient.

It is really no different from the numerous hotels in the world.

Room Tip: Breakfast at the 14th floor revolving restaurant, for 800 yen extra. Well worth it.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
お客様サービス担当支配人, sb at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel!

We are happy to hear that you took full advantage of the buffet breakfast, and perhaps during your next visit you could try the succulent steaks at Teppanyaki Aoi. It is unfortunate that we could not inspire you to believe that our hotel is quite a bit different from any other. If you give another chance, our staff is positive that we can demonstrate everything our hotel has to offer, as well as provide the excellent service that so many of our guests enjoy.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews