We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Korean BBQ with Japanese meat”

Kyo no Yakinikudokoro Hiro Sanjo-kiyamachi
Ranked #30 of 1,386 Restaurants in Nakagyo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Centre
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

A perfect place for enjoying the evening with a self cooking BBQ. Meat absolutely high level, good taste, tender... No defects.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Simosix87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

This is like a Korean bbq but with Japanese steak! Wasn’t the best wagyu we had in Japan but it was a fun night and the meal was still pretty delicious. This place gets busy so book in advance!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Julespoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We came here as a group of six friends, and had a fantastic evening. We got the recommended set, and the food was incredible. We were worried at the amount of meat they gave us on the first plate and were about to order more, when they arrived with the rest of the set - a huge amount of tender beef which meant the whole thing was actually really good value. They've got good drinks and desert menus too.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dannii W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

The waiter encouraged us to order the biggest set menu (5,000 Yen/'pax) which looked in the photo way too much for both my wife and I. (Restaurant rule is all customers must order the same set menu and not just one or different sets). So we went with the next set down (4,000 Yen) for which there was no photo. When the meats arrived they looked excellent in quality but too little, we asked the waiter "Is this everything?", he confirmed that it was. So we ordered 3 more meat dishes a la carte as well as 3 side vegetable dishes. After these came and we were already full, a huge platter of skirt steak arrived and we protested we did not order this. The waiter explained that this was part of our ORIGINAL set menu! I really felt this was a ploy to get us to order too much.

In addition, when we booked we were told we would have 1 hour 20 minutes for our sitting which seemed fine. However, the food took a long time to arrive and half way through the meal we were informed we had 20 minutes to vacate our spot! This pretty much ruined the whole experience already marred by the sight of wasted food.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pinglasvasti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

I'll get my one complaint out of the way first - the website makes it look like this place is very traditional inside, with dark wood, low tables, etc. I was expecting a very "Kyoto-like" traditional vibe but that ends once you come to the end of the little alleyway and open the door. It's actually very modern inside with very light colors used everywhere leaving it feeling a bit like an upmarket department store kind of atmosphere. At least you can see the river outside the window, though it was of course dark at night and you couldn't really see it.

With that said however, we had a great time. It's very clean and it's non-smoking. The place is also huge (another thing you wouldn't assume from the quaint little cobblestone and lantern-lit entranceway).

The service was friendly as incredibly fast. It was busy but when we rang the bell there was somebody there within 30 seconds every single time. The meat was also very good and the bill came to less than we had expected. There were 5 of us, all fairly big-eaters, and the bill came to 24,000 yen in total, and that's including at least 3 beers each (and we were stuffed!).

To be honest, this place probably deserves 5 stars if you know what to expect. I had booked it based on the website showing it to be an older, funkier, traditional place so I was a bit surprised to see it so...perfect-looking and sanitized inside. We did however have fun, the food and service was great, and the bill was reasonable. I might go back with the wife someday but not sure I'd recommend it as a place to hang out with the boys or somebody wanting a real Kyoto kind of vibe.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank drsOsaka_Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kyo no Yakinikudokoro Hiro Sanjo-kiyamachi also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Kyo no Yakinikudokoro Hiro Sanjo-kiyamachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing