We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what it promises”
Review of Shirotori Garden

Shirotori Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
US$77.97*
and up
Discover the spirit behind Japanese culture in...
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Atsuta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Beautiful and Japanese styled, complete with tea house and waterfalls... Gorgeous!
It's a great place to come to your senses when the weather's good. The main theme is 'Water', and it's filled with numerous waterfalls, streams and ponds to prove it. The main pond is inhabited by lots of koi which you can feed for ¥50.
In the building next to the pond, in the center of the park, you can get a Japanese style lunch for a very reasonable price.

I couldn't go into the teahouse since there was a wedding going on, but I didn't mind because I got to see the bride, who, in her amazing kimono, just completed the scene.

The place is filled with many birds and insects, and the landscaping is very well done. It's also very well maintained.
Well worth the ¥300 entry fee!

Date of experience: April 2015
2  Thank CidaqNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"traditional japanese garden"
in 4 reviews
"tea house"
in 11 reviews
"green tea"
in 4 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful park"
in 2 reviews
"koi pond"
in 2 reviews
"japanese tea ceremony"
in 2 reviews
"stroll"
in 5 reviews
"autumn"
in 3 reviews
"photos"
in 4 reviews
"bride"
in 2 reviews
"station"
in 5 reviews
"zen"
in 2 reviews
"yen"
in 4 reviews
"birds"
in 2 reviews
"stops"
in 2 reviews
"nagoya"
in 9 reviews
Filter

35 - 39 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2014

They decorate it with Christmas decoration as Xmas is coming, i didn't go into the museum as I running out of time. But the garden outside of it was beautiful and clean, It makes me feel so relax to just sit down and enjoy the weather.

Date of experience: November 2014
3  Thank Shisuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2014

A traditional Japanese style garden. Entrance fee ¥300. A compact garden with tea ceremony rooms over looking the lake. The garden is designed with lakes and streams, waterfalls and a small mount representing Mt.Ontake.
At week end the tea ceremony house may not be opened to the public when tea ceremony is in progress, many local women in their beautiful kimonos can be seen at such occasions.

Date of experience: October 2014
2  Thank Treker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

These gardens are a welcome and relaxing break from the city with plenty of seating. Take a stroll around the many lakes and enjoy the peace and tranquility. There is a small entrance fee but it is worth paying. Take a snack and drink with you, so you can spend a few hours contemplating the rest of your visit to Nagoya. There is at least one tearoom but there is a fee to use it and I think it needs to be booked. On our visit we didn't see the tearoom being used.

Access is about a 20 minute walk from Jingumae JR station or Jingunishi subway station.

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank LastMinuteLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2012

As a public facility, this traditional Japanese garden offers something for everyone. During this Christmas season there are paper handicraft illumations and we attended a heart-warming jenbe concert by an African drummer talking about the significance of Christmas. I am looking forward to the nest visit, in a warmer season.

Date of experience: December 2012
Thank Aroundtheworldser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shirotori Garden also viewed

 
Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture
 

Been to Shirotori Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing