We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Kidafell(Mosfellsbaer)(Great Value!)
US$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Iceland Wellness(Mosfellsbaer)(Great Value!)
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$180
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$330
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Island(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$259
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Park Hotel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$480
US$411
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$312
US$292
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cabin(Reykjavik)
US$186
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,147)
Filter reviews
1,147 results
Traveller rating
666
338
117
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
666
338
117
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubnorthern lightsgolden circleporridgethe busthe hotel managermountain viewlaxnes horse farmblue lagoonpetrol stationwaffle machinelocal amenitieshired a cargreat bakeryminute driveupgraded to a suitecity centre
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 1,147 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Good base for touring south east Iceland and Reykjavik. Excellent bedroom - spacious, comfortable, great views. Only complaint was that the breakfast buffet was poor. But overall excellent value for a very good hotel near the capital

Room Tip: Upper floor has great views across the surrounding countryside
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joseph19624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Hotel Laxnes made our stay in Iceland wonderful. We had a family suite with a balcony, and the view of the mountains was stunning. The hotel was charming, clean and comfy. Sean and Nunu helped us plan our outings before arrival and once we were there. The hotel is about 10 minutes outside Reykayvik and a welcome calm from the bustle of that city. The hotel breakfast is quite bountiful and a very good value give the extremely expensive food in Iceland. You even get a 10% discount at a few nearby restaurants with your hotel key. Just up the street, you will find a grocery store where you can stock up on snacks for your adventures, a chic, gourmet bakery, restaurant and ice cream shop. Definitely highly recommend a stay here-- you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The family suite is clean, comfy and has great mountain views.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

First stop hotel on a week long escape to Iceland. The room was clean and sizeable and the beds were comfortable. Checked-in without hassle and the staff were friendly. Would consider this hotel again. Our purpose was not to look for lavish hotels, but one that is a clean bed and shower and we trek across the country

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gloryglory t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Recently completed a 6 night stay at the Hotel Laxnes and definitely recommend this hotel for long & short term visits.

The hotel is located in the pretty hamlet of Mosfellsbaer, 15 to 30 minutes out of Reykjavik depending on the form of transportation you use but don't let that deter you from choosing this venue. We chose the Laxnes for the tranquility and found it. We wanted to be rested for our tours and got it and needed a good morning meal and they spoiled us!

The morning breakfast will hold you for the day and consists of a healthy mix of eggs, vegetables, oatmeal, fruit, toast, various cereals and much more with your choice of juice, tea or coffee. Plenty of tables to eat too. The rooms are on the quiet side but can get a little warm but opening the window a pinch solves that. Moreover, they have a cosy little bar with a great bartender who loves to talk for those who want to wet their whistles a little. You'll get a drink on the house on your last night! For the N. American traveler there's KFC, Dominoes and Subway just a 5 minute walk from the door. A walk down the hill gets you to Alafoss Wool Store and a restraunt next door that serves up the best lamb stew.

Have no fear of staying outside the city. If you have tours and interests booked shuttles will get you. Also, the staff at Laxnes are extremely helpful. They will confirm your shuttles and bookings as well as book tours for you. They have a complete library of "to do lists", tours and general information on the wall in their lobby. You can also take public transit into Reykjavik as we did. The # 15 and 6 buses to the city pick-up and drop-off right in front of the hotel.

We can't thank Sean and the staff at the Hotel Laxnes enough for our great stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bunky60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

This has been our fourth stay at Hotel Laxnes and we have stayed in suite room 26,which has an amazing view overlooking Mount Esja.The room suited our needs and was clean and daily visit by Tomasz,to change bins,towels,stock up on tea/coffee/change beds.Breakfasts were typical Scandinavian and plentiful with cereals,cold meat,sliced cheese,cucumber,tomatoes,boiled eggs,skyr,porridge which we always look forward to,also waffle maker,with fresh home made jam,squirty cream.Hotel is particularly close to route 1 road to visit the amazing Geysirs,Blue Lagoon,Gulfoss Waterfall and right outside hotel is a bus stop,( bus number15) which takes you into Reykjavik for approx 420 IK each way,bus runs every half hour and punctual.This hotel is situated approx 25 mins from the city and has a beautiful walk down to the beach/sea.We have visited three times in February,where we have seen the aurora borealis from our hotel balcony and now in the summer,the beautiful greenery surrounding the landscape.Across the road is a small outlet which has a KFC,Subway,Dominos,Kronan supermarket,a sports bar,which offers a 10% discount for Hotel Laxnes customers.We have always found the staff so friendly,helpful and Shaun,the manager, and Nu Nu,are always ready to give us good tips,Ideas,sort our trips/transfers etc.If renting a car,plenty of car parking space as having spoken to tourists in the town,parking their rental car has been a problem.We are definitely going to be going back next summer to see more of this awesome island and will be staying in Hotel Laxnes.

Room Tip: Stayed in suite 26 with balcony overlooks Mount Esja Range which was spectacular in winter and summer.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GabbyD43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews