We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel with pop-out porch”
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Laxnes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2017

This was my first visit to Iceland so I read dozens of reviews before settling on Laxnes. I was not interested in being right in downtown Reykjavik so this seemed a good choice. I was very happy with the friendly staff (Sean and Andre) and the upstairs room I was given .There was lots of room and a unique pop-out porch that I found quite intriguing. I have never seen one before but it does allow you a better view of the mountains that are a few kilometers away.
I found Laxnes was only about 30 minutes from the capital and an easy bus route. There is an app for you smartphone (Straeto) that will help with bus schedules and other information.
There is a small bar and breakfast was included which is a real plus for getting a meal before your tour starts. Grayline does pick you up and drop you off at Laxnes. This was very nice for the regular tours and airport transportation.
There are a few restaurants in walking distance as well as a large grocery store. Credit cards are accepted everywhere.
I found the hotel quirky and comfortable and the location is great for those who are not city minded.

Room Tip: A room facing the mountains (north) has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kellbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights.

We were upgraded upon arrival to the suite to which we were very grateful!

We saw the northern lights right outside our window!

It’s a really comfy bed with a bath!!! Of the bath was so good after snorkelling in Silfra.

The breakfast was included and was delicious! We would definitely stay here again - very clean, comfortable and lots of charm!

Thanks!!!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank skyeashleigh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

When we first arrived Sean was very welcoming asked how our flight was and what we did before check in. He was also full of information letting us know where the sites were on what to do and see during our stay. Our room was on the 2nd level with a mini balcony to see out it was lovely. Also, loved the complimentary breakfast every morning from 7:15-10:00. I hugh,y recommend this nice clean cozy hotel.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Cosy and small hotel on the outskirts of Reykjavik with walking distance to many beautiful nature locations and 10 min away from Reykjavik. The staff was very helpful with booking different tours both from Grey-line as well as other companies. They wanted the best for their customers

Staff was great and the bar was very nice place to stay, Perfect for any side of Iceland you want to see

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niklas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

We recently stayed at Hotel Laxnes for the second time, and I have to say I would definitely recommend it.The Hotel is ideally situated, in a beautiful location, Our room was very clean, spacious, and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel manager, Shaun,in particular was extremely helpful and went out of his way to help us when, on our very first morning, we missed the pick up for our Golden Circle tour. He managed to get us on the later one, and also rearranged the pick up time for our Northern Lights tour that evening, he simply couldn't have helped us more. We had an amazing few days in which we were lucky enough to see the Northern Lights amongst other fantastic sights. I will definitely be going back and I will be staying at Hotel Laxnes again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emmy17853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#14 of 55 in Reykjavik
3,935 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eyja Guldsmeden Hotel
#6 of 55 in Reykjavik
285 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#10 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,036 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 55 in Reykjavik
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range: RM 502 - RM 1,273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing