We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time in Iceland”
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Laxnes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2017

We wanted to be a bit away from the busy city, so this hotel was great. ~ 20 minutes from Reykjavik, so still easy to go to the city for a meal and to explore. We did not spend a ton of time in the hotel other than breakfast, the bar and sleeping but were very happy with this location. It is quiet and safe with a few available food options near by- in addition to 2 grocery stores. The staff was really friendly and very helpful. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Mountain View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2017

The hotel is located in the burbs about 15 - 20 min from downtown Reykjavik and less than 10 min from the rural farm country of the northern route of the Golden Circle. Hotel Laxnes would best be described as comfortable and very friendly motel (by North American standards). The hotel has a quaint bar/breakfast lounge (breakfast is included) where we watched an NFL game with Icelandic commentators! The staff are very friendly and helpful and the beer is fresh and cold. Breakfast could use a few more fresh fruit options but otherwise really good. The rooms are clean as are the bathrooms/washrooms/toilets/WC's. The only issue I had was with the beds. Every mattress is a twin, for a queen bed two twins are put together on a queen frame. I also found the the mattress to bed a bit tired and didn't give me the support my body likes. This by no means is a deal breaker. Our family loved staying there and would so again. Nearby (across the road) are a liquor store, bakery, grocery store, assorted fast food outlets and a nice restaurant/sports bar. If you are going to use a GPS w/voice get used to hearing "at the roundabout, take 2nd exit"! Again, this is a very cozy and convenient place to stay and we would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Try the Gull draft in the bar, it's fresh and cold!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeGrandBateauxNoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

This was my first visit to Iceland so I read dozens of reviews before settling on Laxnes. I was not interested in being right in downtown Reykjavik so this seemed a good choice. I was very happy with the friendly staff (Sean and Andre) and the upstairs room I was given .There was lots of room and a unique pop-out porch that I found quite intriguing. I have never seen one before but it does allow you a better view of the mountains that are a few kilometers away.
I found Laxnes was only about 30 minutes from the capital and an easy bus route. There is an app for you smartphone (Straeto) that will help with bus schedules and other information.
There is a small bar and breakfast was included which is a real plus for getting a meal before your tour starts. Grayline does pick you up and drop you off at Laxnes. This was very nice for the regular tours and airport transportation.
There are a few restaurants in walking distance as well as a large grocery store. Credit cards are accepted everywhere.
I found the hotel quirky and comfortable and the location is great for those who are not city minded.

Room Tip: A room facing the mountains (north) has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kellbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights.

We were upgraded upon arrival to the suite to which we were very grateful!

We saw the northern lights right outside our window!

It’s a really comfy bed with a bath!!! Of the bath was so good after snorkelling in Silfra.

The breakfast was included and was delicious! We would definitely stay here again - very clean, comfortable and lots of charm!

Thanks!!!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank skyeashleigh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

When we first arrived Sean was very welcoming asked how our flight was and what we did before check in. He was also full of information letting us know where the sites were on what to do and see during our stay. Our room was on the 2nd level with a mini balcony to see out it was lovely. Also, loved the complimentary breakfast every morning from 7:15-10:00. I hugh,y recommend this nice clean cozy hotel.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 55 in Reykjavik
3,929 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eyja Guldsmeden Hotel
#6 of 55 in Reykjavik
284 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 55 in Reykjavik
676 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#10 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range: RM 498 - RM 1,277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing