We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brekka bathing in the Northern Lights
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
Brekka bathing in the Northern Lights
Photo by Eugene Everson Oct - Nov 2017
The happy hot pot of Lodge Brekka
Shooting Star
Christmas 2014
Two linked lodges, Langholt and Brekka
Photo by Eugene Everson, Oct - Nov 2016
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik, Capital Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
myheartmu...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My friend I stayed at this rental about an hour outside of Reykjavik. It was the perfect spot to explore other regions further North and West. And a comfortable spot to come home to in the evening. The hot tub was an added bonus. And the view of the fjord is outstanding.

Even though it rained the entire time we were there (it is September after all) nothing could detour us from its beauty and charm.

We got to meet Jon and his partner and they were truly nice people. And the bottle of champagne left for us was an added bonus. While I think markers to find the road -especially at night-would be really helpful, and the rough gravel presented its on set of challenges for our small rental car, I would not hesitate to rent or recommend this place to anytime.

Book with confidence!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Condition and ease of finding the road.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2015
Really good points reg the markings. Indeed, the signs for Brekka (and more holiday cottages in our possession, that you would find in Trip Advisor/Holiday Lettings) are in the making and will be put up before the winter and the dark Northern Lights-nights are here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwina F
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant Brekka”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Brekka. A real hidden gem! Well equipped with everything you could need. Loved the hot tub which had lights installed. The scenery was fabulous, and the remoteness of Brekka added quiet and tranquillity to our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from accomodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotlshol...
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fab time in Iceland”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I am writing this review as we are packing up to go. This is our yearly "girls" holiday and what a good holiday it's been. We can thoroughly recommend this house, the beds are so comfy and the views outstanding. The only wee niggle in another wise lovely house is the lack of mirrors. 5 woman in to 1 mirror just doesn't go. We all love Iceland and will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The lack of mirrors
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert f
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and well presented”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We are a party of 2 persons, with no children or pets, and this was our first visit to Iceland.

Jon Baldur was very helpful at confirming the booking and providing details of how to arrive at the property. There were good instructions on operating the hot tub, Wi-Fi and other things in the Lodge. There were also some helpful suggestions for local days out. Also, there was a bottle of wine in the fridge on arrival.

The Lodge was clean and modern, well heated and had a washing machine, dishwasher, oven, microwave oven, hot tub, TV, hi fi and fast fibre broadband connection.

Overall, this was a well presented Lodge with clean bedding and all the facilities which you would need. there were a few CDs, books, jigsaw puzzles, and other things to pass the time in case the weather was poor.

The location is good. There are good views over the fjord, and the lodge is not too far away from Keflavík International airport, on arriving tired from an international flight. Also, for the return journey, travelling to Keflavík airport takes around one hour, and the roads are clear. The location is good for day trips/sightseeing. After around 4 days, we had been to most of the tourist attractions (Pingvellir, geysir etc ) which were local, and then had to spend more time driving to get round to the south coast. If you want to do the whole round-trip of route 1 of Iceland, then you will need to stop overnight elsewhere.

There is a shop and petrol station at Arkanes, which is not very far. There is also another petrol station on road 47 a few miles along from the Lodge (running out of fuel can be very inconvenient).

I am giving 4 out of 5, since nothing is ever perfect. However,the only improvements I can suggest are an extra cupboard in the kitchen for food storage, non-stick pans instead of stick pans, and a thin bladed sharp kitchen knife for peeling vegetables.

Brekka was a good base our Iceland visit. .

I can highly recommend staying at Brekka lodge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fibre broadband Wi-Fi, clean and modern, hot tub, geothermal heating, location
Liked least: smoke alarm battery was flat. it took 2 nights to find the cause of the noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2015
Many thanks for pointing out what can be improved in and about our cottage. This is what I call constructive critics! We've already got a new, non sticky frying pan -it was needed, and a peeler for vegetables. But an added cupboard for the kitchen will not be feasible, it would need a new construction of the kitchen. There is though a good fridge and two deep drawers, but I have to admit, one is half the way filled with coffee, tea and spices & herbs. These could be brought to the walls above the kitchen desk, in order to increase the space for food, etc. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reillyplu...
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We spent four nights here and were very pleased with the accommodation. The warmth, beauty and position of the house is superb, and the hot tub an added bonus! the house is very well equipped - the washing machine very welcome after a few sweaty days hiking, and the BBQ just the job, as we had excellent weather whilst there. The position of Brekka was great, as we drove off each day to various sites and coming back in the evening to the sunset and change of light was amazing. If back in Iceland I would definitely book Brekka again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warmth of decor - a friendly welcome
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing