We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the desert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Our room faced East and had a bench outside for watching the sun-rise. not to be missed. The staff were very helpful and the room good. Shame there's no wifi in the rooms but the business centre has it - very slow but it works. The food in the restaurant was good but it's very busy so we had to wait for over an hour for a table. booking advised. the pool was nice but full of teenagers.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank raylden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hello and thank you for your recent stay and feedback! You mention one of the most breathtaking aspects of Death Valley, the spectacular sunrises. With both sunrise and sunset viewing just outside guests’ doors, Stovepipe Wells Village is the perfect home base for experiencing best Death Valley National Park, especially with Mosaic Canyon and the Mesquite Dunes just minutes away. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy dinner with us and appreciate your patience. During our busiest months, high demand in such a remote location can result in long wait times and we recommend that our guests grab a freshly made Mosaic Margarita or cold draught beer in the saloon while they wait. We are happy to learn that you were able to enjoy our beautiful outdoor pool – as you discovered, it’s a popular destination for vacationing families as well. We hope that your visit has inspired you to return for more dazzling Death Valley sunrises. Until then, safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,793)
There are newer reviews for Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 1,793 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017

I ate at the bar and it was the worst service i ever encountered. The bald bartender should not be serving guests at this tourist attraction. It was bad enough the weather was extremely uncomfortable and I had to wait 30 minutes for anyone to great me. I will not be returning .

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimhallow22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hello and thank you for your feedback. At Stovepipe Wells Village, we strive to create the best guest experience possible and it sounds like we did not achieve this during your visit. Although our wait times can often be long due to high demand given our remote location, we expect that each guest is assisted by helpful and friendly staff. We are disappointed to learn that your interaction with a staff member was unsatisfactory and we apologize. We appreciate your feedback and it will be used to improve our service for future guests. Because your experience is not typical, we hope that you will return so that we may have an opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to excellent customer service. Until then, safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We stayed here for one night during a road trip from Yosemite to Vegas - we WISH we could have stayed longer! This village is a glorious and welcome sight in the middle of the searing desert and was a haven of great staff, air conditioning, a comfy room, fantastic food, cute shop and a lovely pool!
Of all the places we stayed along our road trip - this is the one that will stay in our memory the longest, we loved it. Thank you so much x

Room Tip: Just go there!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anturiaethauDaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hello and thank you for such a great description! It sounds like you discovered many of the elements that make Stovepipe Wells Village so special. From fast and friendly check-ins to cooled bottles of water in guest rooms to great service at meal time, our friendly and helpful staff are dedicated to creating the best guest experience possible. As you mention, we offer a number of other ways to meet our guests needs, including our refreshing outdoor pool and a well-stocked General Store stocked with great souvenirs and travel essentials. We really hope that you are able to return that longer visit and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again. Until then, safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Just returned from a road trip in California. Our night at Stovepipe Wells was one of the many highlights. Comfortable room, good pool (essential when it is 120 degrees) and excellent food. Our waitress Trinket was an absolute delight and looked after us at meal times and made us very welcome. I recommend this hotel for a stopover - Death Valley is awesome. Just wear a hat at all times.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank machicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hello and thank you for your recent stay and feedback! We are pleased to have hosted a refreshing stop on your California excursion. When temps soar into the 120s as they often do in Death Valley during the summer, Stovepipe Wells Village knows how to keep its guest cool. With efficiently cooled guest rooms and a beautiful outdoor pool, we strive to keep our guests comfortable throughout their stay. It sounds like our staff took great care of you - great customer service is our top priority. We look forward to your next visit and wish you safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We stopped here for one night during a fleeting visit to Death Valley. The rooms are more basic than we are used to but putting things into context here they offered cool, clean retreats from the desert heat. The saloon and restaurant were busy and friendly, we used both facilities, though the ladies restroom wasn't the nicest, my husband informs me the men's was fine!
This is a great place for touring and for seeing the night sky which we did with the kids and they were amazed by it, so many shooting starts and an extraordinary view of the Milky Way. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We had the dune view, it was lovely but no wifi or TVs service
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Screennamedot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
15.0 km away
The Oasis at Death Valley
The Oasis at Death Valley
#2 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
5,526 reviews
0.0 km away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
17 reviews
41.4 km away
Panamint Springs Resort
Panamint Springs Resort
#3 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.0 km away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
253 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range: RM801 - RM1,246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stovepipe Wells Village hotels, located in the heart of Death Valley National Park, is the ultimate destination for adventure traveler and families searching to explore all that Death Valley has to offer. Authentically western, rustic yet comfortable, Stovepipe Wells Village is a unique, full-service hotel featuring the Badwater Saloon and Tollhouse Restaurant. Our hotel is a full-service destination offering a variety of amenities including a gas station and a full-stocked General Store. After hiking around the badlands, sand dunes and canyons, Stovepipe Wells Village is more than a welcome sight with our friendly, knowledgeable staff, great food and cold drinks. It's a place where history is made and legends born. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing