We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking natural beauty, an amazing place to visit”

Grand Canyon South Rim
Book In Advance
More Info
US$149.00*
and up
Grand Canyon Ultimate Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most developed area of Grand Canyon National Park, the South Rim offers amenities such as bus service, hotels and water stations, but is also more crowded than the North Rim. Scenic highlights include Pipe Creek Vista and Yavapai Point.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Breathtaking natural beauty, an amazing place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

There just aren’t words to describe the natural beauty and size of the Grand Canyon. It is truly something you have to see to believe, pictures just don’t do it justice. There are many places to go at the Grand Canyon South Rim including hiking trails, vistas, lookouts, scenic drives, etc. so I recommend you take your time and enjoy every minute that you’re there, for its one of nature’s most incredible creations. There is a $25 entrance fee per car and this pass is good for 7-days. The South Rim of the Grand Canyon is the busy, touristy side of the Canyon and includes several small places to stay, restaurants (including a nice food court), gift shops, and several park visitor centers. The area is very well kept and easy to navigate. We spent almost 2 days here and could’ve stayed longer if we had the time. Again, just take your time and enjoy the natural beauty before you, there isn’t another place on Earth like the Grand Canyon, so enjoy it while you’re there.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Nevermore52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16,066
    1,571
    308
    80
    46
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Absolutely breathtaking, amazing place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

There just aren’t words to describe the natural beauty and size of the Grand Canyon. It is truly something you have to see to believe, pictures just don’t do it justice. There are many places to go at the Grand Canyon including hiking trails, vistas, lookouts, scenic drives, etc. so I recommend you take your time and enjoy every minute that you’re there, for its one of nature’s most incredible creations. There is a $25 entrance fee per car and this pass is good for 7-days. The fee is a small price to pay for the natural wonder that awaits you in the park. I also recommend that you try and find a secluded lookout that is away from most park visitors and just listen for something you very rarely hear in the hustle and bustle of everyday life…deafening silence. It’s one of the greatest sounds I’ve ever heard.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nevermore52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookstown, ON
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

grand is the understatement! a must see...make sure you have time to do a hike.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Megan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of my personal Seven Wonders”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I was recently asked to name the top 7 best things I have seen with my own 2 eyes. The Grand Canyon was one of my personal Seven Wonders. I had seen a zillion photos of it and was amazed by its size and beauty, but no one can imagine its impact until you are standing on the rim viewing the rock strata, the depth of the canyon and how broad it is from the north to the south rims. Take your camera, extra batteries and memory cards, because at each location you stop and every direction you look, there will be many stunning images to capture.

Make sure to read weather reports because on cloudy days you might find the canyon filled to the rim with clouds. The temperature can vary greatly from Phoenix, Las Vegas or Sedona. I was there in late October when the afternoon was a pleasant 65 while Sedona had temperatures in the 70s and Phoenix 84. Four days later a friend visited from Vegas and nearly froze in a snow storm at the Canyon.

I had one afternoon and early evening in this stunning place. If I had the time, I would have spent 2 or 3 days there,

Helpful?
Thank CWoods240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Grand Canyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Had the luxury of stopping here for a work trip. Strolled along the rim and also did the plane rider over the canyon -it was incredible

Helpful?
Thank bluanjel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Canyon South Rim also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Grand Canyon South Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing