We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not overly private, but decent campground”
Review of Mather Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Canyon National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mather Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Elk roam freely, awesome! Location! Location! It was around $20-25 for camping at the canyon, can't beat that, not even with a stick.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
5  Thank frugal4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 427 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed at Mather Campground in August 2011 for 3 nights. The site was spacious and just a very short walk to the bathrooms. When we wanted to shower, we had to drive down to the camper services building which was just a few minutes down the road. The showers cost $2 for 8 minutes. Each campsite had a fire pit which had a grate on top for grilling.

The sites were fairly private and the staff was friendly! It was super close to the general store and a restaurant.

Great proximity to the grand canyon!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CHorochowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Considering the scale of the operation we were really impressed with Mather campground. The sites ensure a good deal of privacy and are never too far from the facilities blocks. Great views of bats and ravens from the site and mule deers strayed into the site further on. A very good option close to the heart of all the South Rim action.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Howellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I've stayed at a lot of campgrounds, but this was one of the easiest, most comfortable stays I've ever had. Although it had a lot of sites, the layout made it seem a little more private. They don't charge as much as they could for being in one of America's most popular parks. Showers, laundry, and a nearby store made this a great stay!

Room Tip: Reserve a site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Lynnerdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Mather Campground is pretty good, nothing special. We camped on the Pine Loop, which wasn't one of the shadier loops. Bathrooms are decent, though there is no hand soap, so bring your own. Showers were clean, but obviously get dirtier throughout the day, so go early if you can. Sites are rocky. Book early, as the campground fills up early. If you're not going to reserve a site ahead of time, get there by noon at least.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank addie_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
0.5 km away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,665 reviews
2.2 km away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,980 reviews
9.0 km away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,048 reviews
8.5 km away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,751 reviews
8.7 km away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mather Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mather Campground

Address: Grand Canyon Village, Near Mathers Amphitheater, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offers 320 campsites and is situated near Grand Canyon Village. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mather Campground Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Mather Campground Grand Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing