We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bike the Canyon”

Bright Angel Bicycles and Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Grab n' Go sandwiches, salads, soups and gourmet local coffee. Tons of snacks, souvenirs and ice cream. Located next door to the Visitor Center at the Grand Canyon.
Reviewed 26 November 2017

A family of four with 2 pre-teenage boys, we decided to rent bikes during our recent visit to the Grand Canyon. We reserved bikes for 24 hours and found the check in and fitting process wonderful. All of the employees are friendly and knowledgeable and provided great recommendations for our bike tour. For the first day we decided to head past the Bright Angel lodge and bike to Hermits Rest. This is a strenuous 8 mile trek, up and down hills and valleys. The overlooks are some of the best in the canyon, and a few offer rest room services. Stopping at all but 3 of the overlooks, our one way trip to Hermits Rest took approximately 4 hours. It was a great way to see the canyon and explore some of it on our own. Would definitely recommend this company, what a great experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ellen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahbusselltravel, Owner at Bright Angel Bicycles and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you for the great review! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2017

Bicycles are 7 speed, fairly wide tires, ours seemed to be properly maintained. Frames seem somewhat small.

Thank sierrastew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahbusselltravel, Owner at Bright Angel Bicycles and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Thank you for your review sierra stew! :) We appreciate you taking time to do it. In theory each person should be fitted to the bike they leave our lot with, we do aim to provide frames that are ideal for the person riding. Glad you still had a good time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

This was a dear little place. We had walked the four miles from Maswik to the cafe before breakfast and were very grateful to find the sign "Bikes and Coffee!" We had a tasty burrito and good coffee, though we did have to sit outside (it was cold and rather windy... no indoor seating.)

Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahbusselltravel, Owner at Bright Angel Bicycles and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review Deirdre!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

On our first day at the South Rim we rented bicycles. Biking the rim is an experience we will never forget! You can see areas that are only accessible my shuttle bus - set your own pace and avoid crowds. You can get some exercise and feel more free than riding the shuttle buses and you can cover more ground in less time than hiking. Our bikes were in good condition. Not enough gears for going downhill but enough for the uphills. So glad we chose to rent bicycles while at the South Rim!

1  Thank cherieanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

We usual need up parking right by this spot. They have a good variety of food. It is better quality that one might expect for a park. They open really early start on a hike or drive. You pick your food then pay and get it as it is prepared. It is not a sit down restaurant. They also have many bicycles to rent. That can be a good way to see much of the park.

Thank JohnYa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bright Angel Bicycles and Cafe also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Bright Angel Bicycles and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing