We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the view”
Review of The Mural Room

The Mural Room
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Grand Teton National Park
Description: Prepare yourself for a culinary experience! Our Rocky Mountain cuisine and award winning wine list are the perfect complements to the view. Many say the panoramic views of the Teton Range from the Mural Dining Room at Jackson Lake Lodge are the finest in any National Park. Others point to the magnificent murals painted by the late 20th century master Carl Roters as the heart of the Lodge. Either way, you are certain to have a dining experience not to be forgotten. Dinner reservations highly recommended. Private dining is available for groups. Contact our Sales Department for more information at ext. 3005.
Reviewed 12 March 2020

The Mural Room is an experience so we booked it for our anniversary on September 8th. We were greeted a bit on the unfriendly side which we think set the tone. They put us way in the back even though we had stopped by to ask to be near the window earlier in the day. But we can deal with that if the food was great. Lets just say that you go to the Mural Room for the murals and the view of the Grand Tetons. We enjoyed ourselves but it was only OK. Go for the view because that was worth it have low expectations for service and food and you will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank katbob101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2020

We dined here each of our 3 nights at the park and except for one evening where the special of pork tenderloin was overdone, all of our food was very good. The wait staff was attentive and very friendly. On our first night though, we asked our waiter if we could just split the salad before the main course. He bent down and in a low voice told us that they normally charge an additional $8 to split plates but he would get around that. Turns out you don't pay to split salads and appetizers here. Otherwise, we can highly recommend this restaurant. If you can get reservations, it is a good idea.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank StevoinMinnesoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2019

We winted to dine here because of the view. But it was raining heavily. The food was nothing special. The mural is special though in a somewhat dated restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Nathalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2019

It's worth it for the vista alone. Service was a bit slow. Food was good but not commensurate with the prices.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2019

Quick summary: very good, well-prepared food. Friendly, attentive, professional service. Not cheap, but prices in line with the quality.

We stayed 5 nights at the lodge and were generally not in the mood to go too far for dinner. The menu here is broad enough to please most, highlighting the bounty of the area (steaks, bison, chicken, pork, pastas, trout, salmon, etc.) All was very tasty and well-prepared. (I usually remember to keep my receipts on top, but I generally remember that mains were in the high $20's - $30's, and came with appropriate starch and veg.) We usually started by splitting one of the generously-sized salads (the "mural salads" is an nice assortment of greens and veges; the salad with smoked trout was very tasty, around $12, I think.)

The dessert lineup leans to the fancy, more complicated side, and looks good, but has room for improvement. First, there is a nice line-up of after-dinner ports and drinks, and begs for a cheese plate, but no cheese plate or other savory was noted on the dessert menu. The waiter mentioned that we could order the charcuterie plate on the apps menu, but we just wanted cheese after a dinner, and would have been perfect with port. (We had the charcuterie plate in the Blue Heron bar before, and knew it would be too much unless we took some back to the room.) Other nights I would have just liked a dish of huckleberry ice cream, served without the cake or pastry that was listed on the menu. Again, the waiter mentioned that that might be possible, but why not put this simpler option on the menu?

Full bar with wines by the glass or bottle, reasonably priced for a nicer dining environment.

Friendly, professional, attentive service every night. Very well trained and customer oriented.

Gorgeous view of Jackson Lake and the Tetons. Lovely historic murals decorate the room.

If I'm being picky, it would have been nice to have had some more interesting specials. After 4 nights in the Mural room (we had some meals in the Blue Heron and Pioneer Grill for a dinner and lunch,) we were starting to exhaust the menu items we were most interested in. After touring the national parks for a few weeks, I was less interested in a steak or bison burger, and starting to crave something with a spicing from other parts of the world. But again, that's getting picky. The food and preparations were excellent, and they are willing to work with you, e.g. substituing a different starch for polenta, which I'm not fond of. And again, there are a few other places in the area for dinner, but we just wanted to mosey over rather than get in the car again.

So -- if we are ever in this area agani, we'd be delighted to stay and dine at the Jackson Lodge.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mme_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mural Room also viewed

Grand Teton National Park, WY
Grand Teton National Park, WY
 
Grand Teton National Park, WY
Grand Teton National Park, WY
 

Been to The Mural Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Malaysia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.