We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Clingmans Dome
from US$172.62
More Info
Reviews (2,574)
Filter reviews
2,574 results
Traveller rating
1,894
558
103
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,894
558
103
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews observation tower parking lot half mile highest point appalachian trail steep walk bring a jacket catch your breath parking area degrees cooler worth the climb degree view paved walkway mile hike take your time awesome views gift shop
Filter
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 2,574 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

How do you rate magnificence? Well, you can't but you can rate the parking. Not sure that is easy either but the day after Thanksgiving and there was not a spot to be found. If you go, just pack your patience. It's closed from Dec 1, 2017 to March 31, 2018. But try again - so worth it all!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank musicgirl911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

We thought Clingmans Dome was closed for repairs but after our hike we found that it was open. Good fortune for us. If it's open you need to go for sure!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Brian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

The Dome Tower is closed until spring of next year. Please do not go around the closed sign & walk up to the Tower. The tower is in really bad shape so it's closed for renovations. As a retired Federal worker, I was very upset to see lots of folks ignoring the sign and walking on the tower. Remember if it falls down when you are on it, you cannot sue the federal government as you were not supposed to be there.

The bathrooms are latrines & smell awful- better not to go there at all. Go at the overpass or 3 other visitor centers.

The trail up is very steep & since you are at elevation it's harder to breathe. But take your time & you can do it.

The views near the parking lot are great so no real need to climb the hill until the dome tower opens up again.

If it's foggy ask at the visitor center if the view is obscured from the fog & pick another day to go up there. The road up is twisty & turny- not a road I would like to be on with fog!

If you like my review, please give me a helpful vote as it encourages me to keep doing reviews.

Date of experience: November 2017
14  Thank DianeER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

The hike to the top of the mountain where Clingmans Dome is located is not a long one, only about a half mile each way. But it’s strenuous given the amount of incline the hike has. The entire hike is paved so it’s not the most adventurous feeling but it’s well worth it to get to the top. Unfortunately for us the actual dome itself was closed for repairs so we couldn’t go up to the very top. We still enjoyed the hike up and getting to see where the Appalachian trail intersects at the top. There is a lot of parking at the trailhead but it fills up fast given how popular this hike is, so come early and be prepared for lots of slow moving traffic.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank bradyd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Top of the World.... We have been here twice and it never ceases to take our breath away. The view is just amazing and breathtaking. We took the Andrews Bald trail this year when we came down in November. The view from there is awesome.. but be forewarned, the return trail is mostly uphill and at 6300 feet, the air is much thinner.. We made it back but our lungs and our legs were spent!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Rick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews