We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balsam Mountain Campground
Nearby Hotels
US$159
US$147
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$102
US$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg Downtown(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenstone Lodge(Gatlinburg)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$913
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belle Aire Motel(Gatlinburg)
US$99
US$96
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$486
US$269
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Gatlinburg Downtown(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
28
16
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
16
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh elevationcool tempscamp groundoff the beaten pathdegree weathersaw elkearly junemain parkremote locationrunning waterprivacycherokeeroadhostsdegreescoolercampground
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

My son and I stayed at Balsam Mountain Campground for a week in early June. The campground is beautiful and the facilities are well maintained. The camp hosts were very helpful. The grounds are at a high elevation so it was very cool throughout the day and night, approximately 64 degrees during day and colder at night so make sure to pack warm clothes. The cool temps keeps the bugs at minimum and as we never once used spray repellent for the entire week. I loved this site and we will definitely be back! Miss it already!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank amypizzutibrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

A nice calm place. Camp ground allocation is first come first serve. one common rest room was neat and clean. There is a sun set view point near the camp ground, you have to drive past the camp ground entrance to get there. its very near by. Please head to Lake Junaluska overlook for a beautiful sun rise; believe me its worth a try. We saw bears on the way to the overlook in the early morning.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank Noufal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

I love it here! So much beauty and solitude. My only complaint would be that the campsites are too close together. Otherwise everything is wonderful! The temperature there last week was 39-40 degrees at night with 25-35 mph winds. It was raining leaves and it was magical!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank Melissa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

After almost going there for 10 years I never get tied of the place. Grounds were clean, nice host but the only ranger was the one that rides through just before dark. NFS just doesn't want to keep one there and that is a shame. Place was a little over half full and very quiet. We loved it!
Bad news for next year if you plan to visit. It's almost a done deal, you can no longer just show up and grab a spot. They are planning to do an online registration. (Which I despise!). Cost will go up from 14 a night to around 24. More money and more trouble to get a spot just so they don't need to send someone to clean out the money box. So disappointing.
If you want tent camping spot out of the heavy flow of traffic and people go! At 5200 feet it was 72 in August!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank ArtFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

I camped solo late July. Spot #7 was perfect for tent only. First come first serve. $14 a night. Pay in envelope. Friendly on site host. Quiet campground at the end of Balsam Mountain Road. Flush toilets and sinks. No showers. Bring your bike! Only about a half mile ride to the lookout at the end of the road. Also plenty of hikes around. Very peaceful mountain camping experience.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
4  Thank heatherjewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews