We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
28
32
11
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
28
32
11
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit soap shampoo provide towels single shower national park after dark a great place to stay picnic sinks campground firewood camping linens miles charcoal drive lava
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Our group did road trip around the island and spent one night at the Volcano National Park campground. The cabins are small but nice and clean. Also the bathroom and showers are clean. Great location near the volcano.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lucie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The cabins are owned by Volcano House, and they are located within the National Park, just a short walk from the glowing crater. The cabins themselves are clean, with fresh sheets and towels. The shower block has recently been updated, and again the facilities were always clean. Overall, compared to the sky high prices around Volcano, this felt like a great value option that was perfectly located for exploring the park.

Date of stay: January 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
6  Thank NatalieBoxshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This was by far one of the highlights of our trip. You can drive around the many lookouts and then head back to the cabin at night. The Jaggar Museum, where one can view the caldera is just a hike through a natural area where orchids and the native “ohi’a” flowers were blooming. The temperatures get rather cold at night and we were pleasantly surprised to find the beds came with a really nice thick comforter which proved to be very snug. We easily gathered firewood from the surrounding woods and made a delicious dinner. The bathhouse is close by and the cabin easily sleeps four and was very clean. Staying at the cabin made for an early start the next day as there is much to see and do at the volcano.

Room tip: Choose a cabin near a bathhouse.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank elusivemuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My party spent a night at one of the rustic cabins offered by Volcano House. The cabins are located about a 5 minute drive from the main hotel. The cabin was small, but held a twin and a bunk bed, lights but no plug ins, the bathrooms and showers were a brief walk. Outside the cabin was a picnic table, bbq and a fire pit. We enjoyed a fire that night (elevation 4000 feet) after a busy day of touring. A bundle of wood was a $13.00 charge.

The cabin was fine for a night and at only $93.00 was a lot more reasonable than the $300.00 for a room at the hotel. Friends had a view room of the volcano, and while the view was special, the room was nothing fancy.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiLLYiZME
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We were in #4. Only #3 has an outlet so the main hotel at the park entrance charged up iPads for us while we ate dinner. Cabin beds were ok. Linens fine. Pillows worthless - hard and flat. Bathrooms not far away and plenty of hot water for showers.

Date of stay: February 2014
3  Thank Voyager799581
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews